We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”
Review of Rickerby Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rickerby Grange
Ranked #7 of 9 Portinscale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed one night in a family room. Was abit squashed for 4 but was ok for one night and the bedroom was very clean, with lovely comfortable beds and the family room was excellent value for money for us. Breakfast excellent. There is a bar area although we havent used it. Excellent location for a short walk to Keswick etc. Was our second stay here and would definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiner476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Ok stay but was very average. I felt that it was a little over priced for what we recieved. We had to move rooms at the start of our stay due to a leeking roof (i dont think this has happened before) although we were not offered a reduced rate for the inconvience ! Which i felt was not acceptable (money meant more than customer satisfaction)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and i needed a one night stay in Keswick and found this jem a nice comfortable place to relax.Our room was clean with good views of the fells and all the facilities we needed.The full breakfast was perfect just what we needed to start the day,our host was more than happy to take care of all we required.

Room Tip: our room no6 had good views of the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarwenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

A nice, modern guest house with a lovely atmosphere.We stayed in one of the family rooms which was good value for the 4 of us for 1 night. Breakfast was tasty and filling.Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REBECCAYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and i spent one night here and found the whole experience very average.The bedroom was clean and spacious , but the bathroom although again roomy was very shabby and dated. At breakfast we found it to be a limited choice and chaotic but decent quality although only served between 8.30 - 9.00am. In my honest opinion i have paid a good bit less and had a better experience and not sure why this has a four star rating. Reading earlier reviews maybe i chose the wrong day and wrong room.

Room Tip: Avoid room no6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheerzeazyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed for two nights 23rd & 24th september for my boyfriend, Ben's, 26th birthday.
The owners were so friendly and welcoming, especially their adorable boxer dog Oscar who much enjoyed the chew treats we bought him.
Breakfast the first morning was fantastic, they caught on about Ben's birthday and when they bought out his cooked breakfast singing happy birthday to him there was a lit sparkler in his sausage, highly amusing as Ben hates birthdays :D
Fuelled us up nicely before spending the morning in the treetops of Whinlatter forest doing the go ape course. Raining but still fantastic.
Rented a small motor boat from Keswick launch for just £25 for 1 hour - well worth the extra £7 to not be sat cramped on the launch boat trip.
Views on the boat were spectacular.
The view from our room was also amazing and the rooms were decorated with great taste and style. The female owner showed us how to fold our towels to look like dogs which was cool.

CAN NOT WAIT TO GO BACK! Talks of visiting again next month or December time for a week possibly with our 6month old rottweiller puppy as dogs are welcome :D

Room Tip: Choose the double room with shower en-suite for mountainous views :) (Room 9)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Lovely, clean accomodation and great attention to detail - towels in the shape of rabbits on the bed etc. Although, the pictures of the garden are very deceptive - they look more like grounds and we had visions of being sat in the beautiful gardens, with a bottle of wine, well into the evenings. While pretty, they're not as 'spacious' as they look.
Not normally complainers we did encounter a couple of gripes, that had we been aware of, we may have chosen to stay elsewhere.
When we arrived we weren't expected - despite having paid 50% deposit - luckily it was early April, before the 'season' started, so there was a room available for us and I had printed my online booking invoice.
On (finally) getting booked in we were advised there were no restaurant / bar facilities available (no mention of these only being available height of season online) and all communal areas were locked, so once back at the guest house we were sat drinking wine in our bedroom like a pair of naughty teenagers! Breakfast (and dinner when the restaurant is open) is only served for half an hour.
The average rating is due to the fact that Rickerby Grange is not the cheapest accomodation in the area, so, for the price, we had expected all facilities to be available. We were a little disappointed.
The Farmers Arms (5 minutes walk from the guest house) however, was friendly, accomodating and served exceptional and very reasonably priced food, providing live entertainment on Saturdays.

Room Tip: Call before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeybird1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
779 reviews
0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
484 reviews
0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#44 of 189 in Keswick
192 reviews
0 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#79 of 189 in Keswick
113 reviews
0 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rickerby Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rickerby Grange

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portinscale
Price Range: £62 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rickerby Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you at Rickerby Grange, where we offer a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere with good food and a well stocked bar. Well located for walks, lakes and exploring by car. Open All Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rickerby Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rickerby Grange Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing