We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and dated”
Review of Rickerby Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rickerby Grange
Ranked #7 of 9 Portinscale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired and dated”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here last night. On the positive side the breakfast was excellent. The owner was friendly on arrival -male. However we were very disappointed with the rest of our stay. The room was very tired and in need of a major overhaul. Peeling wallpaper and very shabby décor.(Room 2) We hardly had any sleep due to the fact that we could hear everything that went on in the next doors bathroom - Yuk. Our on suite had a cold water tap that was constantly dripping and I won't mention the state of the toilet brush. The owners wife was very brusque with my wife the next morning and just glared at my wife when she said 'Good morning'. Not very nice and let's face it they didn't need to be did they? After all they had taken full payment for the room two months earlier when my wife booked it (unbeknown and not agreed at the time). Rickety Grange it should be. How on earth did they get 4 stars?

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    50
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
74
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent 4 nights here in July. Reasonable small Hotel/Guest House, decent breakfast.
Our room was on the small side but adequate. Would have been better with net curtains on the window as we faced houses opposite and so had to keep the curtains drawn whilst dressing.
On the surface the bathroom was clean but black mould was visable around the base of the shower.We originally booked for 3 nights but decided to arrive one day early which we booked later and were surprised when checking out that this extra night was charged at £20.00 more than the other 3 nights. This caused a little unpleasantness but eventually setlled on the lesser ammount.

Room Tip: Sorry no suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

A strange mix. Yes good in places- clean, good quality furnishings... But we were in tiny room with no signal for wi if or even tv. Main puzzle is what's this about lovely staff? There two nights and only met owner who was a puzzle- one minute friendly, most of time though,brusque and erratic. Sounds harsh but spoiled visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Decided to have a quick 2 night break away and this was the perfect spot. The guest house was great with comfortable rooms that were lovely and clean. Large ensuite was excellent. Staff were really friendly and the breakfasts were fab! Des and Carol were great hosts and gave wonderful information about Keswick and the shortcut that takes you into Keswick, which was great as it enabled you to leave the car and walk in and have a few drinks. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June & I left my phone & iPad chargers behind. I rang & left a message asking that they be posted to me. They were with me the next day & when I rang to ask how much I owed - Des said he'd rather I made a charity donation.

Very quiet location with a comfortable room and nice breakfasts

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_o_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first night on the C2C Trail, and it was a welcomed sight. The guest house was great, comfortable rooms, clean, friendly, amazing food, and location was perfect. Des and Carol were great hosts and gave wonderful information about Keswick and places to eat for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 589carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We love the position of this B&B in the little village of Portinscale; within easy walking distance of Keswick but in a much more peaceful and attractive location. Perfect place to leave your car behind and walk from the door.

Our room was large, spotlessly clean and had a very large en suite. It was lovely and warm. Flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was very good. Some garden benches outside to sit on if weather is fine. Nice pub in the village which does OK bar meals. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B&PTynemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
0.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
705 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#38 of 173 in Keswick
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rickerby Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rickerby Grange

Property: Rickerby Grange
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rickerby Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you at Rickerby Grange, where we offer a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere with good food and a well stocked bar. Well located for walks, lakes and exploring by car. Open All Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Rickerby Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rickerby Grange Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing