We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Portinscale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

What a lovely B & B. Janette was so kind and helpful. The room was very clean & comfortable. The breakfast is probably the best we have had anywhere. What a lovely place Portinscale is. Just a short walk from Keswick and a good centre for many fell walks. Try Cats Bells, not too difficult and waht a view from the top. We're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
40
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stockton-on-tees uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

we booked this b and b at quite short notice for our anniversary on the 14 th of july when we decided to go back to keswick to check on the progress of the ospreys.as usual at this time of year hoteliers were reluctant to give us just the one night we wanted but janette replied promptly to my e-mail but said she could only offer us a double en-suite attic room for the one night,which we took.we were a bit apprehensive when we arrived not sure if it was going to be a pokey little room but it was actually quite spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of the hills.the cooked breakfast was very good with a great variety of cerials and fruit and yoghurts on offer and delicious fresh coffee.we like the village of portinscale and stayed in a holiday home for a week earlier this year and we would certainly stay at skiddaw croft again if going back for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delders11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We booked this B&B last minute when we discovered that the weather was due to be good this weekend and what a fantastic find it turned out to be. As there is little information on the Internet I was a somewhat concerned but the place is great.
It's not modern or trendy, however Skiddaw Croft is exactly what you hope for in a B&B. Its immaculately clean, has a friendly owner, its in a beautiful location and the breakfast was great. We are a young(ish) couple with a three year old. We had the cosy sitting room to ourselves each evening and felt safe leaving our boy asleep upstairs. Overall, we couldn't have asked for more and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have stayed at this B&B twice, and our friends go there regularly. Janette, the owner, is such a lovely woman. She makes you feel very welcome and can answer your questions about which walks are the best. She also makes the best breakfast. Its not only a delicious hot breakfast (traditional English) with local food, she also provides lots of fresh fruit, cereals, toasts, breads, and yogurts. I've already been back once, and will plan on going back again soon. Absolutely fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktbugrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here as first stop on C2C. We were able to store bikes in garage which was locked. Stayed in dormer room overlooking Derwent Water, There is plenty of milk for T&C (usually given 4 little cartons) Also speciality teas available to pick up if you want. Bed pillow and duvet were so comfortable. Had a lovely welcome off the dog in the morning. Breakfast was well cooked, choice of fresh strawberries and three different yoghurt as well as the usual and there was fruit bread on the table. Three varieties of toast (muesli bread lovely) and very tasty coffee. The lounge has lots of information and books on walks etc. I would recommend this for easy access, comfort, value for money and friendliness.

Room Tip: had superb view in front top room of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
0.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dalegarth House
Dalegarth House
#2 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House
Lake View Guest House
#4 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast

Property: Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portinscale
Hotel Class:4 star — Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast is in the lovely village of Portinscale, just outside Keswick. We have lovely views from the bedrooms of Derwentwater/Castlerigg Fell and Grisedale Pike. We have a guest lounge for residents to relax in after a day walking, cycling or site-seeing. Skiddaw Croft is an Edwardian house with 6 letting rooms. Please see our website for more details. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing