We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go there for the view!”
Review of Dandelion Cafe

Dandelion Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go there for the view!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've just stopped at the Dandelion for the second time - on the first occasion last year it was a chilly miserable day and the Dandelion offered a warm and cosy welcome in their spacious cafe overlooking the lake, but today it was a beautiful warm sunny day so we were able to sit outside and take full advantage of the fabulous view across the lake from the terrace outside. I would recommend the Dandelion for either scenario. The coffee is good and I remember the homemade soup last time was just gorgeous, but this time we had sandwiches which were okay - they hit the spot after a long walk round the lake, but they were nothing special for the price. But, go to this fabulous cafe for the view, the relaxed ambience and little peek at the unique house it is in. The setting of this house is just gorgeous and it makes a so-so lunch memorable. Worth every penny and I would recommend it to anyone very happily. I'd go there even if they were only serving coke and crisps.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A MUST STOP 4 WALKERS”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

while walking the route around the lake we came upon the sign announcing the Dandelion cafe and we ventured in. A good decision, great hot chocolate and scones, good seating outside, the food looked excellent although we didn't eat but made a note for another time. I can truly recommend this stopping off point for excellent service and refreshments.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serviceetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspatria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent coffee in a gorgeous location :o)”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Set in huge grounds on the shores of Derwentwater, the Dandelion Cafe could scarcely be in a more scenic location, and the interior of the building doesn't disappoint either, except - and this is going to be my only whinge - there's only one toilet. For, like, everyone. In a place that size. It means queueing in the corridor, or having other people's brats wailing and kicking at the door while you're trying to have a wee. Not ideal.

That aside, this is a great recent addition to the collection of restaurants in the Keswick area. Dandelion is part of a small restaurant chain with other establishments elsewhere in the UK, owned by the same organisation as HF Holidays, whose brochures are on the tables for browsing. The interior styling is modern but not homogenous, with tables of different sizes and sofas. There is lots of outside seating.

I haven't had a disappointing meal there yet. The sandwiches are very good, the burgers are the size of footstools and served with lots of trimmings, and the main course dishes are also of generous size. It's not expensive - on an early visit, the lady who took our order pointed out that their fish and chips costs no more than you'd pay for a takeaway fish supper in Keswick. The cakes are mouth-watering, the cookies are blah, and the coffee, served in interesting handleless cups, is delicious.

Oh, yes. Another niggle. Sorry. The spread on the bread. Whatever it is, it's not butter. I appreciate my off-menu requests for the grease to be left off my sandwiches being accommodated so willingly, but I'd rather not have to ask.

I expect the Dandelion Cafe in Portinscale to remain one of my regular coffee and cake stops, and look forward to visiting other Dandelions elsewhere in the country in future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Technosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My first visit here was at the recommendation of a neighbour and I was not disappointed.

A pleasant room with beautiful views - and tables outside for the 1 or 2 days of summer each year.

Sunday lunch of roast beef with yorkshire pudding and vegetables was better than a lot of offerings in the area and the serevice was prompt and friendly

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lunch here was lovely. Staff were great. It was great to be able to eat outside in the sun overlooking Derwent Water. Cafes with this view are rare and the food & service was super.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fio888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dandelion Cafe also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Dandelion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing