We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad We Called In”

The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tearooms by day and a restaurant by night, serving high quality food and wine in a stunning location near the shores of derwent water..
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
204 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Glad We Called In”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stopped for lunch after a morning of walking. We had just been caught in the rain and decided to stop for some lunch to warm us up. I had the hot and hearty soup with crusty bread and my husband had a sandwich. My soup was hot, tasty and homemade, just what I needed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolamy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    113
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our first visit to The Chalet and it certainly won't be our last. Everything about our visit was superb. There has clearly been a lot of money spent with high quality furniture and fittings in place which leads to a lovely calm and relaxing feel. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food is fantastic. We had mussels to start, main courses of lamb and duck and a ginger cake pudding, washed down with a very nice bottle of red. Every course was great with everything cooked to perfection. We also called in a couple of times through the day while on walks for coffee and cake - again everything was really good. This really is a must visit destination for anyone who appreciates good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An oasis in Portinscale”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A pleasantly bright and airy eating establishment.

Full english breakfast here is freshly prepared and excellent quality.

In the evening the Chalet is transformed into a licensed restaurant with very good locally sourced food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great food in a warm, modern setting. My friend and I (both vegetarians) had the flatbread pizza with a cous cous and walnut side salad. There was another vegetarian option on the menu as well which also sounded great. For desert I had the giner sponge with fig custard and my friend had the chocolate orange cheesecake - both very good, the ginger sponge especially nice on a chilly autumn evening. The service was fast and friendly - would definitely go back if inPortinscale again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyannejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Contemporary space”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our first visit. We loved the contemporary, open feel of the restaurant. Simple, well produced food and friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing