We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalegarth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalegarth House
Ranked #2 of 9 Portinscale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed for three nights earlier this week. Craig and Clare made great hosts, the accommodation was immaculate, the breakfasts were excellent, and I stayed for one evening meal which was very good. Super value, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowpersoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
117
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

A warm welcome and offer of help with luggage; a pot of tea with homemade cake, in a comfortable sitting room overlooking Portinscale and Derwentwater - an excellent start to our three night break.
Our bedroom was overlooking the lake, well furnished and a room large enough to walk around easily yet cosy too. Tea and coffee were available in the room and fresh milk could be collected from a fridge in the entrance hall. The weather had turned cold but the room was at a comfortable temperature even for sitting. The ensuite was well appointed.
A bar was available for drinks. Dinner was well presented, delicious and in the summer, the view over the lake would be an additional asset. Breakfast was just as good and the ingredients of excellent quality. Tea/coffee were plentiful.
We were able to leave the car in the drive on our check our day and, had the hail and rain not started, we would have walked the mile into Keswick for the market.
We thoroughly recommend Dalegarth House and will be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Suggest request a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potterers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

A lovely greatting was met on arrivell and smiles all round ,after a cuppa and home made bakeing shown to our room very clean and warm . nice close walk into town with lovely sceanery on return freshen up for evening meals served bye Craig and cooked buy lovely Clare ,returning nxt year which will soon come round and looking forward too our return. tks again hope your both keeping well Les and Caroline f.x

Room Tip: alls good for me easyly pleased .x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrymalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just spent a lovely two nights here and can highly recommend this place. The owners (Clare and Craig) are really friendly and helpful. Fabulous breakfasts, comfortable beds and nice big towels...what more can you want?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just spent 3 super nights with friends on a DBB at Dalegarth House; our hosts Craig & Clare made feel at home immediately. The meals were all excellent with plenty of choice and cooked to order by Clare. We had a superior annex room which was perfect in every way, and nice and warm and comfortable. It was nice to have a drink in the lounge both before and after the evening meal.The garden and views from the hotel are excellent,and we found it a perfect place to leave our cars in the hotel car park,and walk in the area. Thanks Craig & Clare, we look forward to joining you again in the new year.Les & Margaret.

Room Tip: An annex room may not be suitable now it is getting colder, as you have to walk round to the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I decided many years ago that the Keswick area is the best to use as a base from which to explore the Lake District, however we have never stayed in Portinscale before. Dalegarth House proved to be every bit as good as its excellent website promised. Its location is spot on, easy to get to with plenty of parking. The welcome on arrival from Craig and Claire was warm and friendly and immediately put as at ease and set the tone for the whole stay. They have just the right touch with regard to attentiveness which does not spill over to intrusion. Our room was comfortable with wonderful fell views. Cleanliness was very good and the service wonderful. Craig has an extensive knowledge of the area and is happy to share it, offer suggestions - print off maps for walks etc. Finally, the best saved for last, the food was historic. Claire produced outstanding meals day after day, the wine list is extremely well chosen and the bar which offered a very good range of drinks is an excellent guest meeting area both before and after dinner.

Room Tip: Ring and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dickieboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

once again craig and clare have done it again brilliant stay ,food out of this world, weather ,fantasic and our hosts ,abliging as ever on hand if need and a hive of information making our stay that bit more enjoyable ,we will be back in the new year with the rest of the oldies roll on april .Thanks guys x

Room Tip: Does not matter what room you have you will enjoy your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEATHHOLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.9 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalegarth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalegarth House

Property: Dalegarth House
Address: Portinscale, Portinscale, Keswick CA125RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalegarth House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalegarth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalegarth House Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing