We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderfully welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalegarth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dalegarth House
Ranked #2 of 9 Portinscale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderfully welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. The owners do everything possible to make the stay pleasurable. The food is superb and the accommodation is comfortable with beautiful views across Derwent Water.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
117
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I booked in here via the web at the last minute as I fancied a weekend away in the Lake District. I wasn't expecting too much at this price and such short notice but Dalegarth House is a superb place to stay.

I'd booked a single room, but as there was a double room free so the hosts put me in there at no extra cost.

The welcome was great but it was the details that count. Homemade cake made freely available. And especially a fridge on the ground floor with a supply of fresh milk and small jugs to take it up to your room. The hosts are from Yorkshire so they know the importance of decent milk to make a decent cup of tea...

The view from my room was lovely - across the village and over the lake.

I like decent beer so was a bit nervous about Portinscale being some distance from the pubs In Keswick. But, it is literally a 20 minute walk via an off-road and level dry path into Keswick to get to the facilities and pubs. But there's a really decent pub less than 5 minutes away in Portinscale called the Farmers Arms which is a great alternative to those in Keswick.

In summary, this is more than a B&B it is a Guest House in all the best ways. And a very comfortable and welcoming one in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at this lovely guest house over the Easter Weekend and could not fault it in any way.A warm welcome awaited us with homemade cake and coffee.Craig and Clare are exceptional hosts who really go out of their way to make guests stay special.The attention to detail is what makes this special,from a great selection of drinks,beautiful homecooked food ,with a menu that would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel.We stayed in a room in the annex which was well equiped and beautifully appointed.The area is lovely with some many activities to suit everyone.
I cannot recomend it highly enough,Craig and Clare deserve the accolades they have so far received ,they certainly know what they are doing in this competitive buisness.We will be back !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ribblevalleyt0urers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Once again a brilliant stay the hosts Clare and Craig pulled out all the stops the weather not as good as the same weekend last year but the walkers got out and the rest off the gang went into town food again a good mix and very taste and plenty to have . Lots of laughs with the hosts nothing to much trouble thanks again Clare and Craig .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEATHHOLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed for three nights earlier this week. Craig and Clare made great hosts, the accommodation was immaculate, the breakfasts were excellent, and I stayed for one evening meal which was very good. Super value, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowpersoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

A warm welcome and offer of help with luggage; a pot of tea with homemade cake, in a comfortable sitting room overlooking Portinscale and Derwentwater - an excellent start to our three night break.
Our bedroom was overlooking the lake, well furnished and a room large enough to walk around easily yet cosy too. Tea and coffee were available in the room and fresh milk could be collected from a fridge in the entrance hall. The weather had turned cold but the room was at a comfortable temperature even for sitting. The ensuite was well appointed.
A bar was available for drinks. Dinner was well presented, delicious and in the summer, the view over the lake would be an additional asset. Breakfast was just as good and the ingredients of excellent quality. Tea/coffee were plentiful.
We were able to leave the car in the drive on our check our day and, had the hail and rain not started, we would have walked the mile into Keswick for the market.
We thoroughly recommend Dalegarth House and will be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Suggest request a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potterers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

A lovely greatting was met on arrivell and smiles all round ,after a cuppa and home made bakeing shown to our room very clean and warm . nice close walk into town with lovely sceanery on return freshen up for evening meals served bye Craig and cooked buy lovely Clare ,returning nxt year which will soon come round and looking forward too our return. tks again hope your both keeping well Les and Caroline f.x

Room Tip: alls good for me easyly pleased .x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrymalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.9 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalegarth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalegarth House

Property: Dalegarth House
Address: Portinscale, Portinscale, Keswick CA125RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalegarth House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalegarth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalegarth House Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing