We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
277
16
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
277
16
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flap jacks homemade flapjacks well stocked bar view over the lake fresh milk minute walk into keswick local area evening meal local knowledge small fridge spacious rooms lovely walk brilliant stay amazing hosts full english leave the car friendly hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

A truly lovely 3 night stay in a gorgeous house with stunning views. However what makes this B&B truly special is Claire and Craig.

From booking the room they will do everything to make sure your stay is everything you want it to be. My fiancée booked this as a surprise 30th and on request I was treated to bunting and balloons in the room.

Craig is full of knowledge on local walks, places to eat and what is going on at certain times in Keswick. A lovely man.

Claire's cooking is truly amazing... breakfast is not greasy but full of local produce that is quality and cooked beautifully. Breakfast each morning was delicious as we overlooked the gardens as a variety of birds ate alongside us.

Location wise this B&B is perfect. A flat 20 minute walk into Keswick (we didn't get one taxi even when a little tipsy) but also a 30 minute walk away from the Cat Bell's hike and close to the lake.

It's Claire and Craig's little touches throughout the house that makes this 5*... fresh cake/flap jacks near the door for you to help yourself to each day, weather report printed off each morning, fresh milk for brews in your room (no little 5ml cartons) cleanliness throughout is impeccable, brand new smart tv in the rooms, great Wifi etc (I could go on).

We LOVED staying here and will be returning !

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DanielJH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2017

What a good find this place was. Myself my wife and another couple booked a 2 night stay here Friday and Saturday nights. We arrived to be greeted by Craig the owner who offered us cake tea or coffee and gave us a short welcome brief regarding his hotel. We got our key and made our way to our room to get ready for a little Friday afternoon walk. We met up with friends and did a tour of the lake to warm up for a bigger walk the next day. We were disappointed to find out that evening meals were not served at the hotel and if we wanted should of booked ahead. Our own fault for not booking. Friday night had a comfortable sleep and a good shower the next day. If I could pick a fault it would be the room was a little bright for me, I have black out curtains at home. Breakfast was very good, cereal to start with juice tea or coffee and a full English. We had a drink in the bar on the Saturday before heading over to Keswick for food. Saturday breakfast again was plentiful. Craig let us leave one of our cars at the hotel after checking out as our friends wanted to visit Ambleside.
Great stay both Craig and Claire are great hosts and a place I would love to stay at again.

Room tip: Ask for a lake view room.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. Craig and Claire give everyone a very warm welcome and are keen to help with ideas for walks, eating out and so on. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The only negative was the very poor wi-fi signal. Breakfast each morning was excellent. We enjoyed the fresh fruit and Full English, especially the fried bread!, and the views from the dining room are beautiful. We'd definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Cannot recommend Dalegarth House enough.
We spent 2 nights this weekend and really enjoyed meeting up with owners Craig and Clare, they were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Tea and freshly baked cakes provided on arrival was just one of many nice touches during our stay.
Rooms were immaculate (just as the whole house and gardens were). Free ample car parking on the property was also very welcome.
We will definitely return in future 😀👍

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank L2870SZmarkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner wanted a weekend away to the lakes but didn't know where to stay! Sooooo pleased we picked Dalegarth House, couldn't of been any better!! Weather was very rainy when we arrived so we were soaking, from the minute we walked through the door we couldn't of felt any more welcome than we did. Craig was a massive help and offered to carry a few bags to our room. He showed us around and explained abit about the area. Rooms were nice and cosy, we stayed in room 6, lovely view with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was amazing, we are quite fussy people so only wanted a plate of certain foods, I was anxious about it as we have been turned away in other places but to Craig and Claire it was not a problem. Such a lovely place filled with lovely people! Would highly recommend to ANYONE who just wants to get away! Well done Craig and Claire!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank meegant2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
<