We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic place to stay”
Review of Powe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Powe House
Ranked #6 of 9 Portinscale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic place to stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at Powe House,and we were made very welcome by our hosts.
The House is Beautiful,the beds are really comfy and the breakfasts are hearty,all in all a really great place to stay.Would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
83
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We spent a few nights at this terrific B+B as part of a walking holiday in the area. Everything was wonderful and the friendly, welcoming hosts have a good eye for detail. We liked it so much we added a third night. Portinscale is a very pretty village and Powe House proved to be an excellent base to stay near Keswick. We found several excellent walks and scenic drives nearby.

The house is charming with high-ceilings, spacious and cozy rooms, all nicely decorated. It is immaculate, the breakfast is excellent with fresh fruits+yogurts, we had a large bathroom with strong shower pressure, it is in a quiet location with a pretty garden, WIFI was reliable, and there is a lovely local pub serving good food just down the lane.

Powe House was definitely our favorite accommodation out of all the places we stayed during our three week holiday in the Lake District.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Powe House and I would certainly stay there again. The room was extremely clean and had a comfortable bed, a powerful hot shower and good quality tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was delicious with plenty choice of fruit, cereal and yogurt as well as a freshly cooked excellent quality full English breakfast. There is a good car park available. The location is ideal as a starting point for walks and it is only a fifteen minute walk into Keswick.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Couldn't fault it. Greeted by a very friendly and helpful owner on arrival, very keen to suggest things to do and places to eat. Lovely comfortable room. Excellent breakfast - all very fresh and icily presented. Not expensive for the lake district and certainly worth the money. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Comfortable rooms,friendly service, fabulous breakfasts, easy parking and a pub up the road which serves decent food. As a solo traveller it is not always easy to find good single rooms, but the Powe House rooms are lovely. Great place to get away to and explore the Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowpersoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Best B&B we've ever used.EVERYTHING was just perfect. Powe House is a beautiful building with very high standard of fittings and fixtures. It is well located with plentiful safe parking. Breakfast was excellent and there is a very friendly pub within a few hundred yards that serves excellent meals.We didn't need to move the car as Keswick is only a short stroll away.
Thankyou

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamperCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Recently enjoyed a two night stay at Powe House and thoroughly enjoyed it. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalegarth House
Dalegarth House
#2 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powe House

Property: Powe House
Address: | Portinscale, Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Powe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Powe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powe House Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing