We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wedding venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Middleton in Teesdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a wedding venue!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

On the 16th July, we held our daughter's wedding reception at the Morritt and it was everything we could have wished for and more. The planning and attention to detail by Barbara was second to none. From the start nothing was going to be easy, as my daughter wanted a vintage feel to the day, this involved bringing 96 different china cups, saucers and plates, and 11 cake stands, photo frames and other paraphernalia - but nothing was a problem - Barbara and her team took it all in their stride.
The food was excellent, service was friendly and yet very polished and everything just ran so smoothly. Lots of people stayed the night and 20 stayed on for Sunday lunch and I didn't hear one complaint about the accommodation, tasty breakfast or Sunday lunch.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Morritt as an ideal wedding venue.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    118
    62
    40
    19
See reviews for
87
196
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Anyone wanting a venue for a wedding can do no better than the Morritt Arms. If there is ever a time you want a day to go without a hitch it is at a family wedding and I can honestly say it happened.
The venue is superb with fantastic gardens and beautiful interior. Nothing was too much trouble. Our host, Barbara ensured everything was right down to the finest detail, the food was perfect and the service outstanding.
You excelled.
Try it, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: There are different grades of room but they are all of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I was allocated a cottage at the rear of the hotel which although had twin beds rather than a double was spacious, immaculately clean and well furnished. No bath as it appeared to be equipped for disabled guests. However, the shower was powerful and the toiletries were in Molton Brown bottles ( I use these products often but didnt recognise these particular fragrances) The room was quiet and I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast on the first morning was very good as I was the only person in the dining room. Evening meal of Burger was excellent as it was handmade with a great bunch of handmade chips. Service at breakfast on day two was not so good, one of my colleagues had to leave before it arrived. However, once it came mine was brilliant. Overall, I would stay again but the service could be a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidexplorersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieBriggs, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear NorthumberlandUK,
Thank you for your comments. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during breakfast on the second morning. We pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service, which unfortunately were below our usual standard on this occasion, we are in the process of training new breakfast staff so this problem should not occur in the future. We do appreciate your constructive feedback in order to continually improve the experience we offer our guests.
I am delighted to hear that you still enjoyed your stay here at the Morritt and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We spent three nights here and were thoroughly satisfied with every aspect of our stay. We had a Gold Level room and were able to enjoy the comfort of a separate small seating area. The room was pleasantly decorated and the bathroom was newly refurbished. There is no lift, so the less able should beware, but if this is not a problem for you then don't hesitate to try the hotel. Clean and well kept, the hotel has a good lounge, dining room and bar area. Food, whether restaurant or bar meals, was excellent: interesting menus, especially in the restaurant, well-cooked and presented food (on hot plates!) and a good wine list. Easy of access from the A66, there is some traffic noise but this almost disappears later in the evening. We felt we had made an excellent choice, especially as the hotel was ideally placed for exploring the area.
Bryan Gardner, Alnwick, UK

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieBriggs, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Mr Gardner,
Thank you for your kind comments. We have passed on your feedback to our team and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Morritt in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Expensive hotel. Our main problem was the food. All our glasses were dirty with a sticky resedue around the the top rim of the glass as if they had been left up ended in coke and peeled off. The food was expensive when we thought we were getting portions of vegetables with them but when the meal arrived and the vegtables were a mere colour added to the dish the price did seem extravagent considering in the previous week we have dined at some of the country house restraunts in the area. My dinner consisted of a sea food roullade with tasted of mould so was not eaten.
However, the staff were efficient and friendly booking was easy and the place virtualy empty.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieBriggs, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear sunderlanduk,
Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to hear of the issues you mention in regards to your visit. The cleanliness of our bars and the standards of serving our beers has been awarded the Cask Marque for excellence – this is constantly reviewed by that organisation and we have never had any complaints so we were shocked to hear that you felt that your glasses were sticky.
We are also perturbed to hear that you felt that the Rainbow Trout, Prawn & Smoked Salmon Roulade seemed to taste of mould, this was served for the first time on June 9th and is part of our new menu - small amounts of which are prepared on a frequent basis to ensure freshness.
We would also like to mention that we have been awarded the highest accolade of 5 stars for our health & hygiene and food handling procedures. This is awarded by Durham County Council.
We would encourage you to contact the hotel directly as this problem was not raised with our duty manager, restaurant or bar manager during your visit and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in person as we do take such occurrences very seriously.
We do look forward to hearing from you,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Good choice on the menu with something for everyone. The service was excellent and waiting times between courses minimal. The food was freshly cooked to order and took into account individual preferences. It was well-presented and with ample portions. The dessert was out of this world. The staff were friendly but at the same time very professional and smart. There will definitely be a next time!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie29-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We recently attended this hotel for a wedding. We experienced similar difficulty with check in as the previous reviewer, as despite having to travel down for several hours that morning we we were told the rooms would only be ready 30 minutes before the start of the ceremony. Not an ideal way to prepare for the ceremony. We weren't quoted the additional £25 fee on this occasion however. Firstly, the positives:- the staff were all pleasant and professional, the rural location makes a nice setting for a break, the food was of a reasonable standard and the garden in the hotel grounds was lovely.
Unfortunately the general interior of the hotel was in need of an update, new carpets and a lick of fresh paint on the walls would make for a better first impression of the venue. Our room, which cost in excess of £100, was a major disappointment. The view was minimal, the general interior of the room looked dated and in need of updating, the TV didn't even have freeview and it wasn't particularly spacious given the tariff. The bathroom looked as though it had been refurbished relatively recently and was pretty decent although the door didn't have a lock. The bed was comfortable and offered a decent nights sleep. Unfortunately the thin walls put paid to that hope! We could hear conversations from the next room, every time the toilet was flushed the banging pipes could've awoken the dead. Our room also had a stiff lock and from the amount of slamming doors we heard it seemed that we weren't alone in suffering from that problem. All in all it's fair to say it's unilkely we would return and wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking to visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munchkin099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieBriggs, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear Munchkin099

Thank you for your comments:

Due to the fact that our check out is at 11:00am, it is impossible for us to guarantee all 27 bedrooms will be ready until 3:00pm, whilst we can get a limited number of rooms ready by 12:00 noon, these are subject to availability.Our check in and out times are made clear on all of our confirmation letters, as is the option of the guaranteed 12:00 noon check in. We do understand that some wedding guests will be travelling a distance to attend the function and we always do our utmost to ensure these are the first rooms ready on the day, unfortunately it is not always possible to accommodate all requests.

I am sorry to hear that you felt our interior decorations were not up to standard, we do try to constantly keep on top of this with minor refurbishments throughout the building to keep it looking fresh. The bedrooms are refurbished regularly, I am sorry that your particular room was not up to our usual high standards. All of bedroom televisions have "Freeview" built in, however, the television in your room appears to be faulty, please do let us know which room this was so we can rectify this issue immediately.

Please accept our apologies for the disturbance during the night by noisy pipes, I would ask if you could contact us directly to let us know which room you stayed so that we can ask our maintenance manager look into this issue.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team here at the Morritt, we will ensure they are passed on to the staff. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food at the wedding and that you made use of our beautiful gardens.

We do appreciate your constructive feedback and would ask you to contact us directly to discuss the issues you had during your stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
6.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
220 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morritt Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morritt Country House Hotel

Property: The Morritt Country House Hotel
Address: The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Greta Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morritt Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban hubbub, relax and unwind at The Morritt Country House Hotel & The Garage Spa. Situated in picturesque Teesdale countryside, and easily accessible from the A66, we offer northern welcomes and an unstuffy, romantic atmosphere. With award-winning food, a luxurious modern spa, and individually designed guest rooms, we're perfect for short breaks, special occasions, weddings or an escape from the every-day. As a family-run hotel and spa we place a great deal of value on service. Our customers constantly tell us that it is our employees who make The Morritt a special place to visit. Our philosophy is "yes, we can" - if we can do something for you, we will do our best to accommodate your request. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Morritt Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morritt Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Morritt Arms Hotel
Morritt Arms Barnard Castle
The Morritt Country House Hotel Greta Bridge, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing