We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The bedrooms were comfortable and modern however the public areas downstairs were very tired and are in need of some urgent renovation - notably the bar and toilets.

Cooked breakfast portions are somewhat neater compared against that served to my friend staying in a nearby B&B at a good less than I was here. When the wrong breakfast order came to our table, the waitress was really quite stroppy and implied it was our mistake. It turned out the chef had misread the order.

The "caramelised" pavlova dessert was powdery and looked suspiciously like a production line supermarket product.

I would recommend this hotel if they have an offer on. £179 for a room and breakfast is simply not worth it.
is

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieBriggs, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that the room was overpriced, the rate of £179.00 was for one of our Platinum rooms, all of which contain Molten Brown toiletries and complimentary use of bathrobes, rooms also have either a four poster bed or half tester bed or Jacuzzi baths. Thank you for your comments regarding the decor and amenities in your bedroom, we do try to keep all areas of the hotel well decorated and up to date. I am sorry that you felt that the public areas did not meet our usual high standards, as with the bedrooms we are constantly re-painting and updating these areas.

I have spoken to our Head Chef regarding your comments on the pavlova you had at the function you were a guest at. The menu was chosen by the bridal party & sampled in the months leading up to the wedding with no comment of any dissatisfaction at the product we served. We do not have a record of any issues with breakfast during your stay, however if an error did occur I believe it would have been rectified as quickly as possible. I am sorry if you felt that the waitress was ‘stroppy’

Again, thank you for your comments; we do appreciate constructive feedback in order to improve the service we offer our guests.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    112
    59
    40
    19
See reviews for
85
188
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleton in Teesdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

On the 16th July, we held our daughter's wedding reception at the Morritt and it was everything we could have wished for and more. The planning and attention to detail by Barbara was second to none. From the start nothing was going to be easy, as my daughter wanted a vintage feel to the day, this involved bringing 96 different china cups, saucers and plates, and 11 cake stands, photo frames and other paraphernalia - but nothing was a problem - Barbara and her team took it all in their stride.
The food was excellent, service was friendly and yet very polished and everything just ran so smoothly. Lots of people stayed the night and 20 stayed on for Sunday lunch and I didn't hear one complaint about the accommodation, tasty breakfast or Sunday lunch.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Morritt as an ideal wedding venue.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Anyone wanting a venue for a wedding can do no better than the Morritt Arms. If there is ever a time you want a day to go without a hitch it is at a family wedding and I can honestly say it happened.
The venue is superb with fantastic gardens and beautiful interior. Nothing was too much trouble. Our host, Barbara ensured everything was right down to the finest detail, the food was perfect and the service outstanding.
You excelled.
Try it, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: There are different grades of room but they are all of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I was allocated a cottage at the rear of the hotel which although had twin beds rather than a double was spacious, immaculately clean and well furnished. No bath as it appeared to be equipped for disabled guests. However, the shower was powerful and the toiletries were in Molton Brown bottles ( I use these products often but didnt recognise these particular fragrances) The room was quiet and I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast on the first morning was very good as I was the only person in the dining room. Evening meal of Burger was excellent as it was handmade with a great bunch of handmade chips. Service at breakfast on day two was not so good, one of my colleagues had to leave before it arrived. However, once it came mine was brilliant. Overall, I would stay again but the service could be a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidexplorersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieBriggs, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear NorthumberlandUK,
Thank you for your comments. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during breakfast on the second morning. We pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service, which unfortunately were below our usual standard on this occasion, we are in the process of training new breakfast staff so this problem should not occur in the future. We do appreciate your constructive feedback in order to continually improve the experience we offer our guests.
I am delighted to hear that you still enjoyed your stay here at the Morritt and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We spent three nights here and were thoroughly satisfied with every aspect of our stay. We had a Gold Level room and were able to enjoy the comfort of a separate small seating area. The room was pleasantly decorated and the bathroom was newly refurbished. There is no lift, so the less able should beware, but if this is not a problem for you then don't hesitate to try the hotel. Clean and well kept, the hotel has a good lounge, dining room and bar area. Food, whether restaurant or bar meals, was excellent: interesting menus, especially in the restaurant, well-cooked and presented food (on hot plates!) and a good wine list. Easy of access from the A66, there is some traffic noise but this almost disappears later in the evening. We felt we had made an excellent choice, especially as the hotel was ideally placed for exploring the area.
Bryan Gardner, Alnwick, UK

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieBriggs, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Mr Gardner,
Thank you for your kind comments. We have passed on your feedback to our team and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Morritt in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Expensive hotel. Our main problem was the food. All our glasses were dirty with a sticky resedue around the the top rim of the glass as if they had been left up ended in coke and peeled off. The food was expensive when we thought we were getting portions of vegetables with them but when the meal arrived and the vegtables were a mere colour added to the dish the price did seem extravagent considering in the previous week we have dined at some of the country house restraunts in the area. My dinner consisted of a sea food roullade with tasted of mould so was not eaten.
However, the staff were efficient and friendly booking was easy and the place virtualy empty.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieBriggs, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear sunderlanduk,
Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to hear of the issues you mention in regards to your visit. The cleanliness of our bars and the standards of serving our beers has been awarded the Cask Marque for excellence – this is constantly reviewed by that organisation and we have never had any complaints so we were shocked to hear that you felt that your glasses were sticky.
We are also perturbed to hear that you felt that the Rainbow Trout, Prawn & Smoked Salmon Roulade seemed to taste of mould, this was served for the first time on June 9th and is part of our new menu - small amounts of which are prepared on a frequent basis to ensure freshness.
We would also like to mention that we have been awarded the highest accolade of 5 stars for our health & hygiene and food handling procedures. This is awarded by Durham County Council.
We would encourage you to contact the hotel directly as this problem was not raised with our duty manager, restaurant or bar manager during your visit and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in person as we do take such occurrences very seriously.
We do look forward to hearing from you,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Good choice on the menu with something for everyone. The service was excellent and waiting times between courses minimal. The food was freshly cooked to order and took into account individual preferences. It was well-presented and with ample portions. The dessert was out of this world. The staff were friendly but at the same time very professional and smart. There will definitely be a next time!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie29-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
6.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morritt Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morritt Country House Hotel

Property: The Morritt Country House Hotel
Address: The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Greta Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morritt Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban hubbub, relax and unwind at The Morritt Country House Hotel & The Garage Spa. Situated in picturesque Teesdale countryside, and easily accessible from the A66, we offer northern welcomes and an unstuffy, romantic atmosphere. With award-winning food, a luxurious modern spa, and individually designed guest rooms, we're perfect for short breaks, special occasions, weddings or an escape from the every-day. As a family-run hotel and spa we place a great deal of value on service. Our customers constantly tell us that it is our employees who make The Morritt a special place to visit. Our philosophy is "yes, we can" - if we can do something for you, we will do our best to accommodate your request. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morritt Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morritt Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Morritt Arms Hotel
Morritt Arms Barnard Castle
The Morritt Country House Hotel Greta Bridge, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing