We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights, unfortunately didn't get everyones name but had the best break ever, the spa is the best, Katherine the receptionist and the others could not be more accommodating and the staff in the garage were amazing, for me Simon was excellent and the girls were so helpful. Will definitely be returning. A big thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leewooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We have passed your comments to the staff at The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Morritt and The Garage Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for The Morritt Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our treatment at this hotel could not have been bettered! In particular the reception staff went out of their way to make our stay lovely.
The breakfast on both mornings was outstanding, with sensible portions using locally sourced produce. We ate both nights in The Dickens Bar which was very pleasant and inexpensive, the risotto deserves a special mention here. The communal areas were very comfortable, warm and relaxing. The Morritt is definitely under selling itself! We hope we will have the opportunity to return at some point.

Room Tip: Use the website not a booking company to see what you can get.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alycat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Morritt and The Garage Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was lucky enough to be visiting the hotel on business and decided to stay the night before travelling the following day. Upon arrival I was greeted with a smile and a friendly warm welcome. The bar and bistro area were warm, with a lovely open fire. I had the beer battered cod, mushy peas and chips for dinner, it was delicious and very reasonably priced. My room, a double was lovely, with a little sitting area, a very spacious bathroom and a lovely comfortable bed, in fact a very comfortable bed. Being only 500 yards from the A66 I was worried about the noise, but I needn't have been. I had a great nights sleep. In the morning I was due to leave half an hour before breakfast started so opted for a continental .breakfast. When I went down, Dawn, the lovely waitress insisted she cooked me a fresh hot breakfast, even though the kitchen wasn't yet open. I'm so glad I accepted, it was delicious. I'm definitely going to return to the Morritt, but this time I'm going to take my wife, and spend some time exploring the local area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We hope to be able to welcome you, and hopefully your wife back to The Morritt and The Garage Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The receptionist was friendly and the duty manager was very offhand to the point of being rude. Our bedroom was small and required decorating with windows that would not open and the bathroom very tired.

The breakfast was OK the usual fry up but nothing exceptional. This is all very sad as we had come, seven of us to check out the hotel and book 8 double rooms for shooting parties 10 times a year. Fortunately I have managed to fine an alternative. I would say that it is definitely more 3 star. It is also very noisy being on the main road. Locals told us that The Hotel is only interested in wedding parties and if you are staying otherwise there are not enough staff to look after the non wedding guests. All very sad really

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from you guests to help us improve going forward. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as you expected. We do get a lot of business from weddings but all business, even a cup of coffee is just as important to us. The hotel is continuously updated and we will take your comments on board. We hope you enjoy your shooting parties in your new found location, but hope we may be able to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Amazing!
We had an overnight two seater couples package with some additional treatments. The whole experience was amazing, a brilliant birthday treat. Excellent spa & facilities. The staff were superb, Amie, Simon, Charlie and the team - thank you. We tried the salt room, hot tubs, steam room, sauna, outdoor pool, salt scrubs, massage, facials and the splendid finale - the couples room and roof top hot tub and presecco.....this was a real experience in freezing cold January!
The Hotel....lunch was delicious, the evening meal was a taste sensation, fully complimented by the BRILLIANT staff who new every detail of the food, the ingredients, the tastes & complimentary flavours throughout. We both agreed this was possibly the best meal & experience we have had anywhere, ever. Cant wait to return. Fantastic country hotel.

Room Tip: We had a silver room, it was ample size, the bed was very comfortable, shower was fine.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. Your comments have been passed on to our team. We feel the freezing cold January gives a positive added dimension to the hot tub experience. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Morritt and The Garage Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here for a couple of nights recently and can recommend the hotel and spa to anyone wanting a relaxing stay and some pampering.
On the first night we ate in the hotel restaurant and were very well looked after by the restaurant Manager and his team and the food we enjoyed was some of the best we have eaten this year.
We had gorgeous Scallops to start and a wonderful wood pigeon with some very good home-made breads.
For main we enjoyed the North Sea Turbot and the local Teesdale Lamb which were perfectly cooked and accompanied by some excellent vegetables.
For dessert we had the Chocolate Havoc which was divine and the Baked Cheesecake.
We enjoyed an excellent bottle of Argentinian red at just £20 which was excellent value.
The service throughout was exemplary.
The next day we had the Salt scrub and the deep body massage whihc we would recoomed as a perfect pairing and then enjoyed the excellent Spa facilities in a tranquil atmosphere.
We had a very good lunch of a Fish Sandwich and a perfect Risotto,
Breakfast on both days was excellent and all the staff throughout our stay were pleasant and smiling.
This is a glorious country house hotel with great Spa facilites and excellent food,
We cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 3 or one of the other rooms facing the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had the overnight spa package which cost us £348 per couple,spa was fab and staff were very helpful and professional,food was second to none couldn't fault it 5 star and more,we had a lovely young waiter called Harold serving us well done to him.
The only thing that let the hotel down was our room,it was classed has gold but I have stay in a lot of hotels and in my opinion that was not a gold,room was very small and bathroom could have been better but I have to say it was clean and I don't want to nick pick.I would go back again for spa and food and may be try a platinum room but maybe would like to see room first.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonwarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
9.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
2.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
6.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,267 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
802 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morritt Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morritt Country House Hotel

Address: The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Greta Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Price Range: £71 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morritt Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban hubbub, relax and unwind at The Morritt Country House Hotel & The Garage Spa. Situated in picturesque Teesdale countryside, and easily accessible from the A66, we offer northern welcomes and an unstuffy, romantic atmosphere. With award-winning food, a luxurious modern spa, and individually designed guest rooms, we're perfect for short breaks, special occasions, weddings or an escape from the every-day. As a family-run hotel and spa we place a great deal of value on service. Our customers constantly tell us that it is our employees who make The Morritt a special place to visit. Our philosophy is "yes, we can" - if we can do something for you, we will do our best to accommodate your request. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Morritt Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morritt Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Morritt Arms Hotel
Morritt Arms Barnard Castle
The Morritt Country House Hotel Greta Bridge, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing