We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding/spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Lovely spa with afternoon tea, weather was not great but it was February and the spa was quite busy but enjoyable afternoon and the tea was yummy. Stayed in a twin room with a friend in one of the cottages , everything you could need , really comfie, very clean. Staff were all really helpful and pleasant .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate feedback from our guests. We are very proud of The Garage Spa and it does get busy due to its growing popularity. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Morritt and The Garage Spa in the future, ideally with better weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for The Morritt Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I attended a function recently the food was extremely poor with hard vegetables and Yorkshire pudding that had been frozen and reheated - it was still frozen in the middle and was tough. The starter was poor pate had been bought in the desert was lovely best part of meal. We had a table of to including two veggies and all of us sent Yorkshire puddings back on our plates. Won't be cat tending this event again if it is at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howdenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us improve as a company. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the food you had at the event. We make our Yorkshire puddings on site the morning of our events, which are made to the same recipe and method used for our very popular Sunday lunches. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our puddings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed with a friend in March - we were looking for a short spa break to relax and it wasn't made very clear on the website that entry to the spa facilities was not included in the room rate. Still, beautiful room, very comfortable bed. Unfortunately our lights blew in the room when we arrived so we had no light in the bathroom which meant it was difficult to shower. I am surprised that we were not offered another room since the hotel was empty bar one other set of guests. Food was fantastic from the bistro and at breakfast the following morning. We did pay for use of the spa facilities and treatments - it was lovely and would certainly a suit a small group of ladies looking for an intimate spa break but there are cheaper alternatives around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate feedback from our guests. We are sorry that you were left confused about the spa facilities not being included in the accommodation rates but we are constantly improving our information and will take your comments on board. We are glad that you enjoyed The Garage Spa and agree that it is a lovely location for small groups of people to enjoy the facilities on offer together. As we offer a unique and high quality spa environment, we feel that our prices reflect the experience you receive. If price is a considerable factor into your choice of Spa’s it is always worth looking on The Garage Spa website as we continuously have offers for different packages. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked one of the spa and hotel packages - the country lane. The communication between spa and hotel when booking wasn't great but we were upgraded to a gold room as there had been some miscommunication it was a special occasion so they did make up for it.

The spa was very good, with a range of different facilities. We did enjoy our stay, but improvements could be made in the hotel. The staff, although polite, lack anything resembling a sense of humour and most of the time a smile.The hotel is ok and the rooms are comfortable, however, the hotel and the spa offer completely different experiences, the spa is quite modern, well decorated and equipped and the hotel obviously hasn't been updated in years.

We were very comfortable in our room and the beds were great, but the décor throughout the hotel feels dated and is a little disappointing given what you see in the spa, the title 'gold' room should perhaps be reconsidered, in it's time perhaps our room would have been considered gold, but for what you would expect from a countryside spa hotel nowadays, it looks a tad run down and is a fairly bog standard hotel room.

Having said this we did have a good stay overall, spa can't be faulted and the food was absolutely lovely, we had lunch in the restaurant and dinner in the bar and both were really good.

I really would advise they update the hotel to match the standard of the spa, if anything coming from the spa into the hotel seems a bit of a downgrade I'm afraid. A shame considering the standard of the spa facilities and the food. Spa 4*, Hotel 3*

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. The spa is just over one year old compared to the hotel that dates back to the 17th Century. We are continuously updating the hotel and we will take your comments on board going forward, however we do not want to lose the charm and character that we feel The Morritt has. With regards to our staff, we do try and pride ourselves with excellent customer service, especially when smiles brighten everyone’s day, so apologies if you felt let down by the service you received. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

From the great telephone booking, when a four poster upgrade was offered for our dinner bed and breakfast deal, to the room itself and wonderful food - we simply couldn't fault our stay.
Ok, so the mattress was awful, but you can forgive them for this because the room was gorgeous and bathroom luxurious - with a range of seriously over priced but lovely smelling toiletries!
Staff were all incredibly helpful and polite - assisting where they could and offering warm smiles when passing.
The evening meal was very special. Beautifully presented food that was nothing less than a work of art - Michel Roux Jnr would have been very impressed! The weird and wonderful sorbets and foams between courses were unusual and very Masterchef...we loved it. The two young men serving knew the food they were serving and made sure our glasses were never empty.
Although the hotel is close to a main road, it's set back just enough to hide behind trees and the traffic noise is not noticed.
The spa facilities looked fabulous but we didn't use - but we would be tempted next time!
As this was our first night away from our little girl, it was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace, quiet and occasion. Not the place for a 3 year old - but simply perfect for a couple!
Would recommend without reservation!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cortabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests, especially when the feedback is as positive as yours. The spa products are a regular feature in our reviews for smelling lovely and the prices reflect the quality of the products. We are glad you enjoyed the first trip away from your daughter, it would be lovely to welcome you back over the years as a couple, and then you and your daughter for girly spa treats when she is old enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Had a very pleasant dinner in the bar after a lovely 2 mile walk, which had been recommended by reception. All of the staff were delightful, very friendly and helpful. We had a very good night in a comfortable bed, nice clean room with a fairly new bathroom. The breakfast was excellent and we would happily stay again. Very pleased for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. There are lots of lovely walks in and around The Morritt Hotel, made even more beautiful with the right weather. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights, unfortunately didn't get everyones name but had the best break ever, the spa is the best, Katherine the receptionist and the others could not be more accommodating and the staff in the garage were amazing, for me Simon was excellent and the girls were so helpful. Will definitely be returning. A big thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leewooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We have passed your comments to the staff at The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Morritt and The Garage Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
9.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
2.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
6.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,267 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
802 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morritt Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morritt Country House Hotel

Address: The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Greta Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Price Range: £71 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morritt Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban hubbub, relax and unwind at The Morritt Country House Hotel & The Garage Spa. Situated in picturesque Teesdale countryside, and easily accessible from the A66, we offer northern welcomes and an unstuffy, romantic atmosphere. With award-winning food, a luxurious modern spa, and individually designed guest rooms, we're perfect for short breaks, special occasions, weddings or an escape from the every-day. As a family-run hotel and spa we place a great deal of value on service. Our customers constantly tell us that it is our employees who make The Morritt a special place to visit. Our philosophy is "yes, we can" - if we can do something for you, we will do our best to accommodate your request. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Morritt Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morritt Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Morritt Arms Hotel
Morritt Arms Barnard Castle
The Morritt Country House Hotel Greta Bridge, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing