We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful romantic time in a wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Morritt Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful romantic time in a wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a most wonderful beautiful time at the Morritt Country House Hotel celebrating wedding with friends. The bedroom was great with lovely views over County Durham/ North Yorkshire countryside. Loved the pricing idea using 1/2 and 3/4 - unique and something a wee bit different.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the South Side with large bay window overlooking countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkinnyJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are glad that you

enjoyed your stay at The Morritt and hope that the happy couple have a very long and

happy life together. We hope to be able to welcoming you back to The Morritt Hotel and The

Garage Spa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    109
    58
    39
    19
See reviews for
82
186
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I have been to the Morritt Arms many times and have always had a wonderful time. Normally we go into the bistro or bar . This time we ate in the restaurant and were disappointed. The menu was quite pretentious. sadly the cooking didn't live up to the chef's ambitions and portions were mediocre. It's a real pity as we have some very special memories of the Morritt. This review only relates to the restaurant, perhaps the food in the bistro is still as good as ever?

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lxwtkn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are very sorry to

hear that you were disappointed with your restaurant meal. We have recently changed the

restaurant, which is designed to offer a modern dining experience, which is very different to

our Bar & Bistro menu that you have enjoyed in the past. We hope to welcome you back to

The Morritt Hotel and possibly The Garage Spa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were passing The Morritt, it looked so lovely, so decided to pop in for lunch. The menu is a bit strange with different percentages added to some dishes. We could not work out the prices quickly. So decided not to have anything to eat and settled for just a drink. We overheard 3 ladies on the next table discussing the same pricing system, they also left after a quick drink.
We later mentioned it to local people in Barnard Castle, who said they did not go there as pricing policy was annoying to understand. So we were not alone.
Who wants to do mental arithmetic on your day off work when trying to enjoy yourself.
I emailed The Morritt to ask why the pricing is so complicated but no one replied to my email.
Any way it is a pretty building in lovely surroundings. Take a pair of glasses and a calculator.
ENJOY

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sillysal123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are

sorry you found our pricing difficult to understand. We display our prices

using fractions to follow on from our country pub feel, it is meant to be

a little bit different and quirky. We hope to be able to welcome you back

in the future but if you have any questions about the menu or the pricing

our staff would be more than happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fab, cosy hotel with a comfy lounge and bar, we ate in both the bar and in the restaurant, if you can afford to splash out the restaurant is a real luxury! Loved the garage spa for a cheeky little add on! Can't wait to revisit!

Room Tip: We went for the basic room, which was absolutely fine, clean and tidy with lovely toiletries in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed

your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa

in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
223 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Having stopped for a bar lunch on a couple of occasions we promised ourselves we would return for a stay and meal in the restaurant. We were not disappointed in any respect. From our arrival and seeing our delightful bedroom, large and classically furnished to the large bathroom with a choice of spacious shower cubicle or spa bath, we knew this was going to be special. The restaurant was superb - the style, decour and service was just perfect. The food was amazing, beautifully presented and delicious. Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed

your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa

in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have recently stayed at the Morritt for the night. I booked with a family member and booked a over night spa package which was great!!
We had full use of spa and booked a treatment each at extra cost which I booked in advance.
I originaly booked in for a salt scrub and massage but unfortunatley could not have one due to medical reasons. I tried the dry float treatment which was ok,,, but probably would not choose it again to be honest at £30 I did not think it was worth the money.
The spa is lovely and well thought out with some excellent designs and features, the outdoor hot tub was lovely and the salt room was so relaxing.
As part of the package we had a cream tea included which was lovely with lovely old english style tea set.
The girls in the Spa were all lovely and polite, we were told to sit and wait after our treatment and someone would come to show us around but no one did so we just looked around ourselves we did need to mention the cream tea also. I was slightly disapointed as I think the bookings could have been a bit more organized. I was not aware of any manager at the spa, maybe if one was there it may have been more organized. The girls in the salon were run off there feet between treatments and also serving drinks etc, i personally think there should have been a few people employed to serve teas and drinks etc to let the girls get on with their jobs as they are beauticians and not waitresses!! I would not let this put me off going back as these were just a few things I had noticed which I think would improve the spa. Overall it is a lovely spa and so relaxing!!
We checked into the hotel at 7pm after our spa day and was greeted by a welcoming receptionist and given our keys for room etc, we stayed in twin room the jenny (silver room) which was really nice, clean and comfy!! The beds were comfy and bedding etc spotless the room was only a standard room but was still really nice. The only thing i could comment on was the creaky floor board in bathroom but thats the only thing and as the building is really old cant really expect anything different!! The room was well stocked with quality tea, coffee etc and hair dryer in drawer.
We had a al a carte meal which was included in package and it was really lovely we enjoyed all of the meal!! The breakfast was lovley also with all local produce!!
I will definitely be returning sometime soon, thankyou morritt for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Look out for deals and packages on the Morritt website to make sure you get best deal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and spa visit. Your comments have been passed on to the staff at the hotel and The Garage Spa. We do have a manager in the spa, but we also encourage staff to work independently to develop themselves, you feedback is very useful in this process. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here last weekend as a pre wedding treat for my Sister in Law. From the moment we arrived the staff were brilliant, attentive but not pushy. Our rooms were in the courtyard and were beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Our visit also included use of the Garage spa which was sheer heaven! The staff again were superb (best massage ever!) and we were able to book extra treatments for the following day. Dinner in the restaurant was impressive as was breakfast the following morning. All in all a fantastic stay, in beautiful surroundings. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. Your comments have been passed on to the staff at the hotel and The Garage Spa. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
6.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
13.5 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
22.5 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morritt Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morritt Country House Hotel

Property: The Morritt Country House Hotel
Address: The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Greta Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morritt Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban hubbub, relax and unwind at The Morritt Country House Hotel & The Garage Spa. Situated in picturesque Teesdale countryside, and easily accessible from the A66, we offer northern welcomes and an unstuffy, romantic atmosphere. With award-winning food, a luxurious modern spa, and individually designed guest rooms, we're perfect for short breaks, special occasions, weddings or an escape from the every-day. As a family-run hotel and spa we place a great deal of value on service. Our customers constantly tell us that it is our employees who make The Morritt a special place to visit. Our philosophy is "yes, we can" - if we can do something for you, we will do our best to accommodate your request. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Morritt Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morritt Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Morritt Arms Hotel
Morritt Arms Barnard Castle
The Morritt Country House Hotel Greta Bridge, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing