We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Morritt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fabulous little hotel, at Gretna Bridge. Our room was beautiful, big bay window overlooking the fabulous gardens. Food was brilliant and staff so friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed

your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa

in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for The Morritt Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

My daughter has just had her wedding here and the venue was just perfect. Food was wonderful and the staff were exceptionally well trained and courteous. Bedrooms are a little small but this actually adds to the charm of the venue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaraokeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are very pleased

you enjoyed your stay with us at The Morritt Hotel and we wish the happy couple every

happiness in the future. We are glad you think the room sizes add to the charm of the hotel,

we have different sized rooms and the differences are reflected in the rooms’ grading from

Bronze to Platinum. As a country hotel throughout our decoration we try and keep as much

charm as possible. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Morritt Hotel and The

Garage Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My friend and I decided to have a girly spa break here. It included a cream tea on arrival, spa time, evening meal, overnight stay and breakfast the next morning. We weren't disappointed. We received a friendly welcome at hotel reception and, as our room was ready early, we were able to check-in straight away. The room was clean and well-appointed and we both had a good night's sleep. The friendly staff continued into "The Garage" spa. Although there isn't a pool here like you sometimes get with other spas, the other facilities more than made up for it. Clean and pleasant to use. The restaurant was comfortable and well laid out without tables being on top of each other. Plenty of room. Again, the restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly and the food, although having the appearance of being not enough, was more than enough to satisfy. Once you started you realised how filling it was. Very tasty indeed. Breakfast the next morning was just as good. Full English, cooked to order. My friend and I are now looking for another reason to go back. We loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are

very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Morritt Hotel and The

Garage Spa and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a most wonderful beautiful time at the Morritt Country House Hotel celebrating wedding with friends. The bedroom was great with lovely views over County Durham/ North Yorkshire countryside. Loved the pricing idea using 1/2 and 3/4 - unique and something a wee bit different.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the South Side with large bay window overlooking countryside
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkinnyJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are glad that you

enjoyed your stay at The Morritt and hope that the happy couple have a very long and

happy life together. We hope to be able to welcoming you back to The Morritt Hotel and The

Garage Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I have been to the Morritt Arms many times and have always had a wonderful time. Normally we go into the bistro or bar . This time we ate in the restaurant and were disappointed. The menu was quite pretentious. sadly the cooking didn't live up to the chef's ambitions and portions were mediocre. It's a real pity as we have some very special memories of the Morritt. This review only relates to the restaurant, perhaps the food in the bistro is still as good as ever?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lxwtkn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are very sorry to

hear that you were disappointed with your restaurant meal. We have recently changed the

restaurant, which is designed to offer a modern dining experience, which is very different to

our Bar & Bistro menu that you have enjoyed in the past. We hope to welcome you back to

The Morritt Hotel and possibly The Garage Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were passing The Morritt, it looked so lovely, so decided to pop in for lunch. The menu is a bit strange with different percentages added to some dishes. We could not work out the prices quickly. So decided not to have anything to eat and settled for just a drink. We overheard 3 ladies on the next table discussing the same pricing system, they also left after a quick drink.
We later mentioned it to local people in Barnard Castle, who said they did not go there as pricing policy was annoying to understand. So we were not alone.
Who wants to do mental arithmetic on your day off work when trying to enjoy yourself.
I emailed The Morritt to ask why the pricing is so complicated but no one replied to my email.
Any way it is a pretty building in lovely surroundings. Take a pair of glasses and a calculator.
ENJOY

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sillysal123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are

sorry you found our pricing difficult to understand. We display our prices

using fractions to follow on from our country pub feel, it is meant to be

a little bit different and quirky. We hope to be able to welcome you back

in the future but if you have any questions about the menu or the pricing

our staff would be more than happy to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fab, cosy hotel with a comfy lounge and bar, we ate in both the bar and in the restaurant, if you can afford to splash out the restaurant is a real luxury! Loved the garage spa for a cheeky little add on! Can't wait to revisit!

Room Tip: We went for the basic room, which was absolutely fine, clean and tidy with lovely toiletries in the...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate guest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed

your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa

in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
9.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
2.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
6.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,260 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
801 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morritt Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morritt Country House Hotel

Address: The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Greta Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greta Bridge
Price Range: £71 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morritt Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban hubbub, relax and unwind at The Morritt Country House Hotel & The Garage Spa. Situated in picturesque Teesdale countryside, and easily accessible from the A66, we offer northern welcomes and an unstuffy, romantic atmosphere. With award-winning food, a luxurious modern spa, and individually designed guest rooms, we're perfect for short breaks, special occasions, weddings or an escape from the every-day. As a family-run hotel and spa we place a great deal of value on service. Our customers constantly tell us that it is our employees who make The Morritt a special place to visit. Our philosophy is "yes, we can" - if we can do something for you, we will do our best to accommodate your request. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Morritt Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morritt Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Morritt Arms Hotel
Morritt Arms Barnard Castle
The Morritt Country House Hotel Greta Bridge, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing