We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic relaxed family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maison Metcalf

To the orchard and beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
To the orchard and beyond
Having fun in the sun Young visitors enjoy digging up fresh veg
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
To the orchard and beyond
Having fun in the sun
Young visitors enjoy digging up fresh veg
A young guest sees to it that Rosalie gets her greens
Big, country kitchen with handy island and brand new Smeg cooker
Good size fridge/freezer and large dishwasher
Dining room with a table fit for a feast.  Seats up to 14 people
For those who feel lucky!
Bedroom 1 with ensuite
Bedroom 2 with ensuite
Bedroom 2 with ensuite
Bedroom 2's ensuite
Bedroom 2's ensuite
Entrance to Rooms 3 and 4 and shared bathroom
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bathroom for rooms 3 and 4
Bathroom for rooms 3 and 4
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 6
Bathroom for rooms 5 and 6
Girl Power!  Karting on our doorstep
Mini-golf on our doorstep
One of the slides at the nearby leisure park within walking distance
Vineyards everywhere
9 hole golf course and tennis nearby - we have the clubs and the rackets
lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Parcoul, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HN322
1 review
“Fantastic relaxed family holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic 2 weeks in Maison Metcalf celebrating my mum’s 70th birthday. There were 10 of us aged 4-70 and the house caters perfectly for all ages. The kids loved feeding Rosie the goat and the chickens as well as playing badminton and all the space to run around. The adults enjoyed the flexible outdoor space and everyone loved the pool. The house is spacious and comfortable. We had two great days at La Paradou where the huge inflatable slide / climbing wall / trampoline in the lake was unlike anything I’ve seen before! David and Lee were warm and welcoming hosts, even organising an Olympics games party for the kids on the first day of Rio 2016. I’d definitely recommend Maison Metcalf to anyone looking for a relaxed family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments. We thoroughly enjoyed having you all with us and we were a bit sad to see you go after 2 weeks. Do come back! Dave & Lee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A family retreat”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent week at Maison Metcalf. Child friendly garden, swimming area, house and hosts. Wonderful space indoors to lose each other for some quiet time or gather together and make happy summer memories. Loved the chickens with fresh eggs and felt quite eco friendly feeding food scraps to Rosie the goat. A wonderful time- thank you Lee and David.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
You were wonderful guests and it was a pleasure to have you with us for the week. Hope to see you again !
Safe travels,
David and Lee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BepEnglan...
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for holiday for extended family.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely property. We were 10 from 4-70. There is space for everyone. We had wet days but there was still plenty to do and see.
The bathrooms were excellent and appreciated.
The pool was well used.
We had an excellent welcome and really enjoyed our stay.
Our son in law has booked for next year already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda D
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Dordogne”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful week celebrating as a family my 60th birthday the house was a superb fit for our family. The teenagers loved the apartment and our 5 year old loved the goat and fed her numerous times a day. We had a few cloudy days when we visited local markets which the kids loved and David's recommendations for eating houses were spot on thanks!
Overall we had a wonderful week at Maison Metcalf thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancastri...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We took the whole house in July 2015”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved it. The best gite ever in many visits to France. Big pool, exceptionally comfortable beds, powerful modern showers, peace, tranquillity and really nice, helpful owners who live next door.
NB Avoid horrid Texmex restaurant.=

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday, loads of activities for kids, relaxing for adults. And very friendly hosts!”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful holiday at Maison Metcalf! The kids absolutely loved the pool, running around the big orchard, and feeding the goats. Dave and Lee were great hosts, and did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We stayed in the house as a group with another family, and it was very spacious with private spaces for relaxing as well as sociable spaces for sharing cooking and having fun together. We also had lots of very yummy fresh fruit and veg from Dave and Lee’s veggie patch (mmm, delicious tomatoes!).
It’s in a beautiful area with plenty to do. There’s a big play park and lake for swimming and playing on the beach called Le Paradou, just two minute drive or pleasant walk/cycle away – our 8 year old particularly enjoyed all the pool tables and air hockey, and our 6 year old loved the go karts, trampolines, and the massive (slightly scary) water slide! There are lovely historic towns and villages nearby, and loads of different activities. We could easily have stayed for a month and not been bored. Thanks Dave and Lee and we hope to come back again before long.
By Sarah, Mark, Alex & Abbie Wightman

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, pool and nearby play park
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing