We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Space, outdoor dining, relaxing, privacy, beautiful scents, colour, birds.. magic!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Space, outdoor dining, relaxing, privacy, beautiful scents, colour, birds.. magic!
Come and enjoy an amazing place which is Elaia! Read our reviews.. Secluded courtyard, the bedrooms and kitchen on the left.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Space, outdoor dining, relaxing, privacy, beautiful scents, colour, birds.. magic!
Come and enjoy an amazing place which is Elaia! Read our reviews..
Secluded courtyard, the bedrooms and kitchen on the left.
The entrance.. welcome to Elaia! Come in and be delighted ..
Again, the beautiful upper patio, outdoor dining furniture, benches and aromatic flowers and plants
The front of the house; a short walk from the village square and amenities.
View of Elaia from the side with its citrus orchard freshly pruned here.
One of our trees.. we also have pomegranate trees, a mandarin tree and olive trees.
The well equippedspacious kitchen and dining area with, door windows to the inner yard.
The restored lounge where you can see also my grandmother's restored wardrobe!
The spacious, restored, comfortable, 'dichori' lounge with stone arch and other traditional features
The Palm bedroom , spacious ensuite, balconies and views.
The family bedroom, with ensuite, windows to the citrus orchard and door to lower patio.
One of our  four ensuite showers/bathroom
The Village spacious bedroom, ensuite, balconies and mountain views
Mountain views from the Village bedroom. An absolute pleasure opening the windows in the mornings.
The charming village square with its kafeneion is a lovely spot to relax and have a drink.
The weekly fruit and vegetable market; fresh, fun, delightfully informal. Excellent value produce.
At the bakery..lovely fresh bread and more bakeries and patisseries on the road to the village.
On 'Lefkothea' trail - part of the European path E4
The backdrop of the local mountains with many paths for walks!
It takes under an hour to drive to visit Kourion amphitheatre and nearby ruins..beach nearby too.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lythrodontas, Nicosia District

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MGH47
Swansea
1 review
“Wonderful house and location”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The house has been renovated in Cypriot style and is located in a village 30 minutes from the coast and 30 minutes from the capital Nicosia. It is quiet and rural with a wonderful village square where the villagers gather in the evening for local refreshments. There are two to three local tavernas which provide delicious food - Greek salads and grilled fish or meat. There are lovely walks and an excellent opportunity for cycling the quiet roads. My husband cycled to the top of the Troodos mountains but there are plenty of easier picturesque routes.
The owners Simon and Theklia were very helpful and friendly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
We are so happy you enjoyed the house Elaia and the village! Yes we agree the food at the tavernas is delicious. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. Best wishes. Thecla and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna_Dia...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Restored house restores your spirit”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The olive is presumably the hook on which the economy hangs in this rural village in the foothills of the foothills of Troodos. The house is a triumph: a lovingly restored family home with huge rooms, high ceilings and pared-down décor sourced from traditional craftspeople. The experience starts when you turn the key in the big arched front doors into the wide courtyard: the sense of nurture that you feel with your whole being in this building is a far cry from the frenetic construction of tourist villas on the coast.
If you want mountain hikes on your doorstep and good road links to Nicosia, Larnaca and Limassol, with scenic, second-gear routes straight into the mountains (hire a four-wheel-drive if you want the freedom to divert along non-metalled roads), then this place is perfect.

There’s no shiny nightlife or manicured backstreets in Lythrodontas. Things happen in slow time in the village and the more closely you explore the more insight you gain. One keynote is eccentricity, exemplified by the 92-year-old white-bearded village priest who rides around on his vintage tractors (has eight children, I’m told). Like others, the village has two churches, one vast new one dominating the landscape and one historic basilica, and the week is demarcated by the bells (hand-rung in the old church and electronic in the new). Peer inside the old church for the spiritual beating heart of the village.

A short drive along the road to Lefkara is the nearest of the way-marked walking/mountain-biking trails. Large-scale maps are elusive but you can work out your own route (the summit of a hill and back, say). I’d recommend as much drinking water as you can carry, and good hiking boots as there’s loose shingle on the inclines. I found the heat (early October) punishing on the upward journeys, but, hey, we did it, and the views and sights and scents are well worth it.

We returned several evenings to I-Food Café, just off the village square (opening a new taverna soon opposite, I’m told), for souvlakia, where the proprietor spoiled us with extra dishes of village cheese, yogurt and preserved fruit/walnuts. You can sit outside and watch the various minor goings-on, including mums arriving in cars to pick up takeaways. The men customarily sit outside in the square with coffee, Keo, a small football screen and (manly) gossip.

My last tip is, in the morning when you are making yourself beautiful, spend a moment making yourself repellent: to mosquitoes. It saves a lot of windows/shutters open/closed lights on/off decisions in the evening, though to be fair we encountered remarkably few little beasts at the house. I usually collect at least a dozen whopping bites, but with a quick all-over-body spray of Boots own stuff every morning I arrived back bite-free.
Final note: the house is clean and organised and the kitchen well equipped (decent-sized sharp vegetable knife and even grease-proof paper). The veg at the supermarket is good, fresh and ripe. There’s cheaper produce (though fruit in my experience not necessarily ripe) at the Tuesday market.

Very many thanks to Thekla and Simon, to Paniko for his help and generosity and to Chris and Stavroula.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyGeez
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cyrpus's best kept secret”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I wanted to rest. Its an old fashioned concept but one I believe is more relevant in 2015 than it has ever been. I had read the reviews, looked at the photos and the price was good. I received excellent directions/instructions about the house from the owner before I left. I arrived late at night to be met by the owner. My first impressions that night was that the whole place was so much bigger than I had expected. The living room in the house has a very high ceiling and is so spacious too. My next impression was of how clean and well kept everything was. The next morning revealed the true extent of this remarkable house. Opening the shutters from my bedroom on the first floor (there is another bedroom on the ground floor and another bedroom also on the first floor) was the view across the hills. I love the Troodos hills and the view was almost like a 3D picture. Then I looked at the garden/patio area. Full of terracotta pots holding colourful blooms, herbs and small trees. The oversized parasol above the rustic garden table was already providing shade so that I could enjoy with my first breakfast. As I walked around the house and garden I was delighted to find that my first impressions were correct - big, big rooms, beautifully filled with family antique furniture, and local artwork. There are photographs around the house of family members back across the generations, which I found truly interesting and I did manage to find out the stories behind some of them. Another fascination for me was the construction of the original house, which although some of the "brickwork" has now been strengthened and rendered, is still very visible. The house was built in or around 1914 using a sort of dry wall method. I've attached a couple of photos to illustrate the painstaking and back breaking work it must have been. The owners have extended the house sympathetically by re-creating the same brick patchwork on the new building. I spent two glorious weeks enjoying the house, the garden, the village, the locals, the hills, the food and the wine. I was invited to a typical Cypriot Sunday lunch by the family who own the house and it was something to behold and which I will always remember. The house is about 30-40 minutes drive from the seaside so its very well located for a day at the beach. Nicosia is also an easy drive away. I intend to return - this place is too much of a hidden gem not to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a home away from home”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Looking for a place to stay for a prolonged vacation in Cyprus, I wanted to find a quiet, green, and off-the-beaten-track location for my family to spend the summer, while also having easy access to Nicosia and other major sites on the island. Elaia in Lythrodontas has been a perfect location for all this. My young children loved the house which provided so much more space than they are used to, and my wife and my mother enjoyed the quiet, the surrounding nature and easy access to visits all over the island. Elaia is a beautiful house and the village both welcoming and friendly. I would recommend Elaia without hesitation to families like ours - it has been a wonderful home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A beautiful, tranquil, fully restored, traditional Cyprus house ... HEAVEN”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

If you are interested to visit central (less touristed) Cyprus or are looking for a central location from which to explore the island as a whole, you could not rent a better house. This gracious home has been in the same family for several generations and has been beautifully restored. You will find all creature comforts here (great kitchen, plenty of linens, DVD, reliable WIFI, etc). It is a stunning property with a majestic living room having huge vaulted ceilings and a lovely garden where one could happily sun for hours. The owner's family resides next door and are very helpful - however they are not intrusive and will leave you alone should you just want privacy. Although traveling alone, I was never lonely ... I loved my stay at this property, which could easily accommodate a family of 8. The village was a little busier than I expected but has good infrastructure (restaurants, a good supermarket, etc). This is not a heavily touristed community, so your experience here will be quite authentic. I can't wait to come back. I simply loved my stay at this house, not one negative thing to say.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and vaulted great room/living room
Liked least: All was great
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiexpat
oman
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fabulous, Fantastic Villa”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our family of five stayed at this amazing villa for ten days. We have stayed at many Holiday Lets and this is the best we have rented by a long shot. The photos do not do justice to this incredible villa. It is well equiped, spacious and pristine inside and out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The courtyard is a wonderful spot for dinner and drinks
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House architecture and decoration
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing