We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Musee Lalique

Musee Lalique
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A jeweller of exceptional gifts and an immense master glassmaker, René Lalique is one of the great artists of Art Nouveau and Art Deco. For90 years, Lalique creations have been produced at Wingen-sur-Moder inAlsace. It is in this region, with its great glassmaking tradition, that the Musée Lalique has opened, a place to celebrate the memory of the artist and his heirs, worthy of their genius and influence.Unique in Europe and deeply rooted in its history.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I included this museum in a tour to Strasbourg which I organised for 23 members of our local U3A group. It is a delightful museum set in a garden with a very pleasant cafe/restaurant attached. It is very well laid out with helpful staff. I was surprised that all of our group enjoyed the visit - it seems to have something for everyone!
A bonus is that it is set in a small village within a regional park so it is a very enjoyable drive also.
The jewellery exhibits are quite beautiful and there are some, of course, some superb pieces of glass on display as well as a good overview of the life and work of Lalique.
The items on sale are expensive but the postcards are a delight and very reasonable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank longtimetraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    92
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epinay-sur-Orge, France
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worthy of the man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The museum has an adequate parking place and is accessible for the handicapped. Tickets are on the cheap side, especially for the quality offered, but we found most items in the museum shop way beyond budget - maximum observed was €1200, median around €100. Moreover, the items are reproducible. Real antiques may at times be cheaper.

The collection is of very high quality and a supreme treat for Lalique and art nouveau lovers. It is well laid out, following Lalique's career from jeweller to manufacturer of tasteful mass-produced goods by concentrating on character and techniques. This makes the museum of interest to broader groups, e.g. those interested in glass manufacturing, marketing of luxury products and industrial design. The lighting of the items is superb, yet simple. Some big items, like door panels, are represented with good fun lighted photos. The items should be observed from close by. The detail is fantastic and that includes sides not meant to be seen, like the back of clothes jewellery. The story is told in French, German and English.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijgeblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Art nouveau and art déco jewellery and crystal ware”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I discovered a brochure for this museum by chance in the tourist office in Strasbourg. As I had seen pictures of the beautiful jewellery by Lalique before, I immediately decided to go.
What to expect from this museum:
René Lalique designed beautiful jewellery, perfume bottles and glass ware in art nouveau and art déco style. The museum gives an overview about his work and techniques for working with glass.
The main focus is on his work with glass/crystal. If you are mainly interested in his jewellery, be aware that this is only covered by a small part of the museum.

The entrance fee was 6€ for adults. The ticket offers the possiblity to visit other museums in the region for reduced entrance fees. These vouchers are unlimited, so you are not in a rush to use them.

The museum was built in 2011. It is very nicely integrated in the landscape and state of art.

They offer a visio-guide for 2€ which is basically an iPod with a lot of information which is very well explained. I recommend investing these 2€ - I am not sure if you will get so much out of it without the guide. They have a lot of extra material which is not available in the exhibition. You can choose between different languages too - I don't remember which ones other than French (obviously), English and German. If you take the guide and listen to everything and look closely at the exhibits, it will take you definitely more than 1 hr.

When should you visit this museum?

If you are interested in art nouveau/art deco
If you are interested in crystal ware

I personally really liked the museum. I didn't know that Lalique made so many other things than jewellery. Even if I generally don't have such a big interest in crystal ware or art déco, I found this museum really interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elskada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseeLalique, Responsable relations publiques at Musee Lalique, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Bear 2857,
Many thanks for your nice comment about your visit at the Lalique museum!
Just to be more precise for those who will read your comment, our visioguide is 2.50€ and s available in French, English, German, Alsatian and French sign language.
Best regards,
Anne-Céline Desaleux
PR for the Lalique Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hidden treasure, worth making a special journey to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This magnificent collection of works by Rene Lalique and his glass artists, in situated in a village where he had a factory. Much of his raw material was from the area, and many glass workers were from this region. The exhibits are beautifully displayed in a modern setting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Musée Lalique is a hidden treasure well worth a visit. It is about a 1 ½ hour drive from Nancy, located in a little village in the Alsace region. The museum has a wonderful collection of Rene Lalique jewelry and glass, all very well-presented in spacious dark rooms with wonderful lighting emphasizing the collection. Video screens showing the glass casting process are interesting.

The museum shop offers a wonderful selection of perfumes, decorative art, jewelry, cards and books—I could’ve spent a fortune there! Next to the museum is a little tea house, nice place to have a drink and a little snack after visiting the museum.

This museum isn’t well-known at all, but it should be. It’s a bit out of the way, but certainly worth a visit, especially if you admire the exquisite craftsmanship and design of the Art Deco and Art Nouveau era by one of the best glass and jewelry artists of that period. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank artloklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee Lalique also viewed

 

Been to Musee Lalique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing