We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place if you go out to visit the Santuario de Atotonilco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Santuario
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An excellent place if you go out to visit the Santuario de Atotonilco”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I had a very enjoyable luncheon at Nirvana with several friends. The food was excellent and the prices are reasonable, the portions generous. We had gone over there to visit the Galería Atotonilco (fabulous) and decided to stop by for a meal. There are -as is customary in Mexico-- certain "detalles" (details) that need to be fixed. For example, when we came in, the music (GOTAN PROJECT) was turned up very loud, so much so that it made it hard to talk. Secondly, the coffee was weak and cold, as if they had simply run water through old grounds. However, the details were corrected immediately and I can recommend this place highly, perhaps not so much as to warrant a trip out just for lunch, but certainly to combine with a visit to the Santuario or to the Galería Atotonilco.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    30
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
39
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We just had a wonderful birthday (mine) lunch at Nirvana. We go there when we want to get a little diffident atmosphere in SMA. It is very, beautiful, green.with wonderful innovative food.
We recommend it to any one traveling to SMA to stay or simply have comida.

Room Tip: We have not stayed there since we live in SMA. But we have seen the rooms and the facilities and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OaxacaRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We celebrated our engagement here after spending a few days in San Miguel de Allende. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is friendly. We lived liked royalty enjoying wonderful food and massages. We look forward to returning for future anniversaries.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanger812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

What a wonderful experience Nirvana was! The rooms were beautiful, great amenities, wonderful beds and very relaxing location. The restaurant food was wonderful! Great wines, gourmet foods all very fresh and tasty. The pool was refreshing and although we didn't use the spa facilities, they did offer them and we would love to go back and experience them. The staff were all so friendly, I would return to Nirvana any time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We decided to stay at Nirvana for a night as we were in the area, and we had a great experience. The area around Nirvana is desert and when you enter Nirvana, it's an oasis. The staff were very good to us. The manager came over at least once and shook our hands and ensured everything was ok. I liked the fact he was present and accessable. Our room was a standard but very beautiful. I noticed the attention to detail in way of cleanliness. The bathtub was a unique design and was big enough for two. The room also had a big jug of water and a coffee machine. The view was beautiful and it was so peaceful there. The pool was thermal and enjoyable to swim. However yes, there were some dead bugs in it that you had to watch for. The dinner was pretty good, but I have to say the breakfast was fabulous. We spent the week in downtown San Miguel and had breakfast in a variety of places, but this place by far had the best one. It's great for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My family likes to hang out at 4-5 star hotels/resorts both during the week as well as on weekends.

We initially visited Nirvana Restaurant Retreat a few months ago and were not impressed with our first experience. Food was decent, service staff and management lacked spirit of service, pool water did not appear clean, overly formal environment, not a kid/family friendly environment in base of our experience.

Last weekend we thought we would give Nirvana Restaurant Retreat another try. Menu looked great, but there were no tables available. Tables were clustered together and lacked privacy. Service staff did not greet us or help us to find a table. Management/owner did not seem to care if we stayed or not. No swimming unless you are a guest of the hotel. (No rooms were available to rent.) No service or eating at table near the pool. Pet waste on grounds near the pool area and eating area. (Yuck!). Perfect recipe for a swift departure...

If you are planning a day trip or family visit here and expect service... Wear your nicest clothes and consider driving your most expensive vehicle. (We arrived with casual clothing and were ignored.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FoodLover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Five of us included Nirvana in a day long adventure to Le Gruta and Atontonilco. What a treat.
We had a beautiful lunch on the lawn overlooking the swimming pool and gardens. The lunch included ginger margaritas and beautifully prepared and presented food. We each had something different from their menu and no one was disappointed. Juan Carlos, the owner-chef stopped by after lunch for a "foodie" visit. After lunch we enjoyed massages in their serene spa. It is on our "must not miss" list for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Santuario
6.4 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Taboada
Hotel Hacienda Taboada
#27 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
93 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#6 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
952 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atotonilco el Viejo Hotel Resort & SPA
6.7 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Restaurant Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Restaurant Retreat

Property: Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Address: Camino Antigua Estacion FFCC 21-2 | El Cortijo, El Santuario, San Miguel de Allende 37750, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende > El Santuario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Santuario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nirvana Restaurant Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMAGINE... A countryside refuge, embraced by whispering palms and the pacific murmurs of the Laja River. Here, everything gives you the warmest welcoming: adobe palm and exotic woods.The touching beauty of every detail and the fusion of nature & architecture is striking. Inside the fragarant rooms, sobriety merges with the silent landscape. Light overwhelms you to the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nirvana Restaurant Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat Hotel El Santuario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing