We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Santuario
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A restaurant oasis”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel and restaurant is an oasis on the outskirts of San Miguel. It is a wonderful place of quiet and relaxation with superb cuisine and attentive service. The inventive menu offers a nice variety including grilled meats and fish dishes and artistically prepared appetizers and wonderful desserts. The grounds are beautiful and a pleasure to walk through after a meal. Even the tableware is artistic and carefully designed. Service is prompt but never hurried. If you visit San Miguel, take the short drive to this restaurant and be transported.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    30
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
39
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Complete paradise - The grounds are beautiful, the swimming pool is naturally heated by underwater springs, the food is amazing, the rooms are a joy to stay in, the staff are all extremely friendly, and the owner is always around making sure your stay there is as it should be. Took my mum and dad there for 2 nights so that they could relax and then see San Miguel, but my mum wanted to stay another night, so we did. Couldn't recommend this place enough, pure relaxation and pampering in an amazing location

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JordanQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This place you know is going to be good the moment you walk in. Lovely grounds and the terrace has a nice view back towards St Miguel. Cuisine is Mexican mainly with a great variety of meat and fish including sashimi Mexican style. Presentation is superb as is the taste. Service was excellent.
There is a hotel on the site with 2 pools and a spa.

Nearby is the famous church at Atotonilco and also the Galleria Atotonilco - a wonderful collection of Mexican folk art.

AR

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Went there for a business dinner and I have to say that the site, ambience and service are just first class. Food was tasty and very well cooked. Seafood and steak selections are always s good choice. We sat at the terrace and just had a memorable time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank velazquinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

WOW!!! We came here after visiting Atotonilco church (like the Sistine Chapel inside!) and soaking at La Gruta, all an easy and very beautiful walk after taking the bus from SMA (ask at the tourist info office how to take the bus and walk or you could take a taxi). We got to Nirvana at 11:15 and they dont serve lunch till 12:00 and figured we can get eggs anywhere so we waited with the most delicious coffee outside looking at the beautiful countryside. Their lunch menu had so many options. I got the grilled veggies with wild rice and salad and my friend got chicken mole that was to die for. They refilled our huge coffee mugs a few times and entrees were absolutley divine as was the setting. With 20% tip we paid 250 pesos total. So an unbelievable bargain as well!(although you could spend much more.. their drink menu was quite extensive, as well). Cant wait to return!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julievida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went there to have lunch because it is highly recomended. The place is beautiful, it is an excellent place to go and rest, the cabins look great, fairytale beautiful, all green, the constructions made of rock, it really is a piece of paradise in the middle of the mountains. The food is good and the service great. It is far from town. I saw it like a place to stay for a couple of days after visiting San Miguel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANATGARCIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Fellow restaurant lovers, I am certain that the majority of you will agree with me on this one.
Nirvana knows no rival in San Miguel, not even the majestic Rosewood.
I have knownn the young owners of this establishment, Juan Carlos & Laura, since their 1st bistro, a 5 table, 1 room (including kitchen) 'Hole in the Wall' secret gastronomic find.
You could say 'Hernando's Hideway' a la San Miguel.
Located across from Sauto Hotel, they soon built a reputation that dwarfed their premises so quickly that they were forced to move around the corner on Mesones to a more adequate dwelling, reflecting their 1st class fare and talent appropriately.
San Miguel could be called the 'Monopoly Game' of Mexico, no sooner are you successful in your business that you become Target One for your landlord.
Juan Carlos & Laura did not escape that fate either but Lady Luck was looking their way so the estate that we know now as 'Nirvana Restaurant & Retreat', was born.
A visual, tangible credit to their persistance and hard work, their unrelenting dedication to perfection is evident everywhere you look, starting in your dish.!
You will not find a better or more sophisticated selection of drinks anywhere in SM and more frugally priced.
A very good selection of wines, well matched to their tentalizing fare, seperating them from many other establishments in town that think none of their patrons are sophisticated enough to know when the basic cost of a bottle of wine has been quadrupled.!
Nirvana smartly avoids that bear trap, to our benefit, the consumers.
APPETIZERS...my favorite, the Baked Camembert, as good as you will find in Europe, no less.
Main fare...the signature dish, as old as Inauguration Day of their 1st restaurant but still an all-time favorite, the Shrimps on a Skewer over Pineapple, large shrimps perfectly grilled, still moist of freshness, artistically presented, a dream come true for shrimp lovers and, 2 sides, to match your dish to perfection, ie, the fries, the real ones (not the frozen calamity), home cut, golden to a crisp, a delight to French fry afficionados like myself.
Scallop lovers, come on in, the pan seared Scallops over Pistachio base...HEAVENLY.!
Moist, tender, proper size, you need a good appetite to see it through but you can't resist to your last bite.
You feel like Queen Latifah in 'My Last Vacation', sitting in this sumptuous Austrian Hotel Pupp dining room, ordering everything on the menu for fear it would not reappear the next day.
But you have to make a choice, have no fear, you can hardly make a bad one here.
As a 13 year resident of San Miguel and follower of Juan Carlos and Laura's climb to success, I can wholeheartedly recommend their establishment, honestly.
The occasional little glitch, here and there over the years, has been properly adressed AND corrected.
CONGRATS, Juan Carlos & Laura, you deserve those laurels...but don't sit on them. ;-)
Best wishes for continued success,
A fan and a friend, as always,
Gilles Renaud
Ps, I will never forget the initial year when, Laura, a shy young bride, was litterally hiding behind the cash register and look at her today, a beautiful, charming hostess, greeting all with her disarming smile, conversing with patrons at their table, being the pillar besides her husband chef and partner.
Congrats, laura.
Pps, this being said more as wishful thinking than a reproach, I miss the BBQ pork ribs, they were so perfect to share around the table as an appetizer, best in SM, different than most which are boiled prior to broiling to make them fall off the bone, literally; yours are tender but still firm and attached to the bone, as they should, and so beautifully spiced.! I miss them, sincerely.
SO...PLEASE, JUAN CARLOS...?.?.?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillesr718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Santuario
6.4 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Taboada
Hotel Hacienda Taboada
#27 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
93 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#6 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
952 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atotonilco el Viejo Hotel Resort & SPA
6.7 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Restaurant Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Restaurant Retreat

Property: Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Address: Camino Antigua Estacion FFCC 21-2 | El Cortijo, El Santuario, San Miguel de Allende 37750, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende > El Santuario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Santuario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nirvana Restaurant Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMAGINE... A countryside refuge, embraced by whispering palms and the pacific murmurs of the Laja River. Here, everything gives you the warmest welcoming: adobe palm and exotic woods.The touching beauty of every detail and the fusion of nature & architecture is striking. Inside the fragarant rooms, sobriety merges with the silent landscape. Light overwhelms you to the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nirvana Restaurant Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat Hotel El Santuario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing