We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Ideal Panchakarma Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
New Ideal Panchakarma Centre
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

If I had written this review when I 1st arrived at the new ideal hotel, it wouldn't have gotten any stars. I was gutted!!! So much so, in fact I didn't unpack my suitcase for 2 days! But we had travelled a long way, and I was very tired, so not in the best frame of mind. Now 2 weeks later and I don't want to leave. I have to say this is the most basic hotel I have ever stayed in, but the room is clean, the bed is comfy, the linen is clean, it has a shower, toilet and sink, and FREE wifi. And it is very, very cheap. So what more do you need. Sunu, hotel manager is very helpful, getting you the best prices for taxis, goods ect... and so laid back he is lovely. The kitchen boys are funny, always joking and smiling, and no, you don't always get what you think you ordered, but whatever I have eaten has always been delicious. And no one had any stomach problems. Nicholas keeps the pool clean and the gardens tidy. Kavita is a miracle worker for the massages. I was able to bend my bad knee after 1 session, kneel on it after 2. Kavita knew where all my pains were without me even saying. I would highly recommend the treatments here. There is even a Dr on site which surprises me, as I have only ever had that in the most expensive of hotels. This hotel is set among coconut trees, with chickens and cows roaming about outside the gate. Washing hanging among the trees and local kids waving at you as you walk by. The kids always want to practice their English (which they are very good at) and they loved the sweets, chocolate, pens and pencils that we gave them from home (U.K) It is a nice walk to the beach down quite a steep hill (and up again) but for the less able bodied you can get a tut tut for a few rupees. My husband went out with the fishermen and helped pull the nets in (you have to get up early for this) and we were invited to so many local homes we would need to stay here forever to accept all the invitations we received. All in all a beautiful part of India to visit and genuinely friendly people. I would definatley stay here again if we returned to Kerala .

Room Tip: For a little extra ask for air con, tho the ceiling fans are adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

I was at the New Ideal in early and late. There was a change of management in between, so I’ll just be reviewing the changes that were introduced within that context.

Bookings through online platforms are still much cheaper than through the hotel website. However, you can only book a room through a platform and will have to contact the hotel and ask the manager to send you an offer for a full-package, if you are interested in one. Despite this, when you check in you will likely be told that you should consult the physician before the arranged fee can be confirmed, as you might need some “special treatment” not covered by the your all-inclusive package. This is when negotiations start, and how you conduct them will largely determine how much you pay. Therefore, each person is paying a completely different fee for similar packages. And no matter how you're online booking looks like, you will get a non-AC room. Rooms are still very clean and spacious, though.

If you want to take a cab or make a trip to the backwaters, the manager will arrange it for you. The price he offers will probably seem reasonable to you, but is much higher than the one you would get if you are reasonably good at bargaining. Cheaper options such as public buses will never be presented to you, but you can ask around and try them out. They are really not that bad.

The ayurvedic treatments are still great, since the therapists are the same. The doctor changed, and I must say that I had better results with the former physician. The kitchen is still very disorganized, but slightly more efficient. The reason for this is that a new chef took over, and the downside to it is that the food now is pretty bland. The rooms are still badly isolated, since the new manager did not invest in infrastructure at all. This was especially problematic since a building is being built right next door, and construction work starts pretty early in the morning.

The staff is extremely friendly but tends to get a bit too involved. If you're traveling as a couple, you might even feel a bit judged on occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a great time relaxing at this hotel. It is a very nice and peaceful place, the rooms were clean and the Wifi worked well. The hotel manager is very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast included in the price was very good, we could choose between oriental or indian breakfast and most times had the indian breakfast, which was very good even for people who normally only eat oriental breakfast. Personal at the restaurant was also very friendly, most times the manager itself because of the low season. All other food we had there was also very tasteful. One time we went to the Lighthouse beach to eat, all other meals we had there because food was simply fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruno_auf_Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Everything was to our complete satisfaction. Rooms are very clean, food in the restaurant always delicious, treatment was professionally and the atmosphere in the hotel very pleasant. Staff was always friendly and helpful. enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dekby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowara
0.3 mi away
Travancore Heritage
Travancore Heritage
#1 of 3 in Chowara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
4.2 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#7 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.1 mi away
Ideal Ayurvedic Resort
Ideal Ayurvedic Resort
#2 of 3 in Chowara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Ideal Panchakarma Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Ideal Panchakarma Centre

Property: New Ideal Panchakarma Centre
Address: Chowara Beach, Kovalam,, Chowara 695501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Chowara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chowara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Ideal Panchakarma Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a Village called Chowara with walking distance to the beach. Hotel provides facility for Ayurvedic Panchakarma treatments, A swimming pool with cool water is another attraction. The is ideal for relaxing holidays of families, couples and singles.The property is approximately 18 kilometers from the Trivandrum International Airport, Central Railway Station and the Central Bus Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your New Ideal Panchakarma Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Ideal Panchakarma Centre Kerala, India - Chowara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing