We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub - shame about the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby
Ranked #1 of 2 Helperby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We picked the Oak Tree Inn for a one night stay at the end of our holiday and it has much to commend it. The building is very tastefully decorated with a comfortable bar area and smart restaurant and the bedrooms are nicely furnished. The bar served one of my favourite beers (Black Sheep) and has a good selection of wines. The food, both dinner and breakfast, was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed both meals. Unfortunately when we stayed it was very warm and so we kept the window open in our bedroom, which was at the front of the building facing the road. Although we were assured by the staff (who were very friendly and helpful) that the village was quiet, there was a constant stream of noisy traffic, including a number of lorries, turning at the junction opposite our room. This continued until late at night and started again very early on Sunday morning. Added to this our room was directly above the bar and the noise from here could also be heard. Finally I must add a word of warning as our room had a shower over the bath but the ceiling also had a beam running along it and there was a danger of hitting your head on this while taking a shower.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We are local people who enjoy good food and service and have now tried the Oak Tree restaurant 3 times. Our complaints range from poor availability of starters, lengthy wait between courses despite the restaurant being quiet, steaks not cooked as requested, and finally, fish in batter inedible served with frozen chips!
To be fair, we were amply compensated each time we complained, but we would have preferred the good food & service which we had been lead to expect.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lindaha148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed one night and thought this place was superb.

Staff brilliant from check in right the way through the stay. Friendly, helpful but not intrusive. Just right and great example of good customer service.

Stayed in Oak Room. Great choice, beautifully furnished and large and airy. The whole place was exceptionally well furnished and presented. Details count -flask of fresh milk in room and Yorkie bar!!

Dinner was fantastic too - not cheap but the food and service were magnificent!!! Good choice, well cooked and presented. Good wine list too!! Breakfast equally good. Fresh fruit salad and home made granola lovely and choice of cooked too.

Overall had a splendid stay and could quite easily have stayed longer!!! Can't recommend highly enough and would love to go back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ADWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We randomly picked this hotel for a couple of nights stay and certainly struck lucky. The place is quality everywhere from the breakfast, evening meals and rooms. Free tea, coffee, bottled water and chocolate everyday and a great jacuzzi bath just topped it all off. We will be back

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank georgeb5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We picked this small hotel after reading other reviews and we were definitely not disappointed.

There are only 6 bedrooms but the two we had were excellent. Beautifully furnished, comfy and with plenty of space.

We were delighted that there was a restaurant downstairs which had a varied and modern menu and the food was good and well presented.

The Manager and staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a small, quiet village 18 miles outside York. We were delighted that the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A lovely break away. Very friendly, clean and welcoming. Excellent facilities. Wonderful breakfast. Cannot fault our stay at all. A perfect getaway. This is everything you would expect from a country inn and more.

Room Tip: The Oak room is fantastic. A huge bed and wonderful jet bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed 1 night . Yorkie bars, decaf coffee and coffee pots in bedroom a treat.

Lovely clean rooms, room was on the front cross roads, road noise was not an issue. Good double glazing. Clean bathroom just a little cosy.
The bed in Willow room needs replacing it slopped to the left.

Breakfast food good but service a little erratic. Cleared fruit juice and fruit away before we were asked if we wanted any. Then started spraying tables to reset before we had finished eating.

Young man doing front of house had a strange attitude he was hard to warm to.

Dinner was very nice and would recommend the restaurant.

All in all a good stay just a bit 'remote' from the staff point of view.

X Hoteliers

Room Tip: Not Willow if 2 in the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunkyMONKEY52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helperby
2.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
18.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
9.8 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby

Address: Raskelf Road, Helperby YO61 2PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helperby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Helperby
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE OAK TREE INN, HELPERBY. "We serve drinks, we serve food and people can stay. It is a real reflection of what the British Inn was, and is, all about' - Michael Ibbotson, co-owner. The Oak Tree Inn at Helperby re-opens its doors. Provenance Inns is proud to announce the opening of its second village inn, in Helperby, North Yorkshire…Read Press Release. The Oak Tree Inn specializes in bringing its customers high quality food, drink, service and surroundings, including a superb private dining room for larger parties of 16 to 20 and six en-suite bedrooms. The classic British menus showcase the best local produce available from carefully selected suppliers as well as stocking an extensive range of wines and cask ales. The Oak Tree is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Set on the cross roads of historic Helperby and Brafferton, The Oak Tree Inn is easily accessible from Easingwold, Thirsk and Boroughbridge as well as the A1 and A19, less than 30 minutes from York City Centre or 35 minutes from Harrogate. Opening Times: Breakfast & Morning Coffee (also available to non-residents) 8am-12noon, Lunch: Monday – Saturday 12noon – 2.30pm, Sunday Brunch & Traditional Lunch: 11am-3pm. Afternoon menu 2.30pm-5.30pm, Dinner 5.30pm-9.30pm (Sundays 8.30pm). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby Hotel Helperby
The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing