We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious locally sourced food...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby
Ranked #1 of 2 Helperby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious locally sourced food...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Celebrated my birthday here and had the ox cheeks - never had them before - absolutely out of this world . Cooked to perfection.
The restaurant and staff were outstanding
I would recommend The Oak Tree for its atmosphere and exceptional food

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    39
    15
    14
    2
See reviews for
29
175
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brixworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here on our way back from Northumberland. It was a roasting hot day, but the service from the staff was really attentive & helpful. For a pub that is clearly very new, it has a good traditional feel but is finished to a very high modern standard. The room was really well decorated and furnished and all we could ask for. Beers are good, although when I said that Black Sheep is my favourite, the barman then tried to talk me out of having it which was curious!
We had a meal, which was really tasty, well served & the service was great. My only gripe is, the bedrooms did not have Air con, fair enough, but then at least have desk fans!! There is under floor heating, so I guess in the winter it would be a lovely touch, but when I went to the bar to ask for a fan as we just couldn't sleep in the stifling heat, the answer was a fairly curt, straight "No we don't". For the money I would have expected Wi Fi also.
Gripe aside, highly recommended, this is part of a chain of pubs & would love to stay in some of the others now.

Room Tip: Have the Black Sheep it was gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medz1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We picked the Oak Tree Inn for a one night stay at the end of our holiday and it has much to commend it. The building is very tastefully decorated with a comfortable bar area and smart restaurant and the bedrooms are nicely furnished. The bar served one of my favourite beers (Black Sheep) and has a good selection of wines. The food, both dinner and breakfast, was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed both meals. Unfortunately when we stayed it was very warm and so we kept the window open in our bedroom, which was at the front of the building facing the road. Although we were assured by the staff (who were very friendly and helpful) that the village was quiet, there was a constant stream of noisy traffic, including a number of lorries, turning at the junction opposite our room. This continued until late at night and started again very early on Sunday morning. Added to this our room was directly above the bar and the noise from here could also be heard. Finally I must add a word of warning as our room had a shower over the bath but the ceiling also had a beam running along it and there was a danger of hitting your head on this while taking a shower.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We are local people who enjoy good food and service and have now tried the Oak Tree restaurant 3 times. Our complaints range from poor availability of starters, lengthy wait between courses despite the restaurant being quiet, steaks not cooked as requested, and finally, fish in batter inedible served with frozen chips!
To be fair, we were amply compensated each time we complained, but we would have preferred the good food & service which we had been lead to expect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindaha148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and thought this place was superb.

Staff brilliant from check in right the way through the stay. Friendly, helpful but not intrusive. Just right and great example of good customer service.

Stayed in Oak Room. Great choice, beautifully furnished and large and airy. The whole place was exceptionally well furnished and presented. Details count -flask of fresh milk in room and Yorkie bar!!

Dinner was fantastic too - not cheap but the food and service were magnificent!!! Good choice, well cooked and presented. Good wine list too!! Breakfast equally good. Fresh fruit salad and home made granola lovely and choice of cooked too.

Overall had a splendid stay and could quite easily have stayed longer!!! Can't recommend highly enough and would love to go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ADWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull, england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We randomly picked this hotel for a couple of nights stay and certainly struck lucky. The place is quality everywhere from the breakfast, evening meals and rooms. Free tea, coffee, bottled water and chocolate everyday and a great jacuzzi bath just topped it all off. We will be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeb5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We picked this small hotel after reading other reviews and we were definitely not disappointed.

There are only 6 bedrooms but the two we had were excellent. Beautifully furnished, comfy and with plenty of space.

We were delighted that there was a restaurant downstairs which had a varied and modern menu and the food was good and well presented.

The Manager and staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a small, quiet village 18 miles outside York. We were delighted that the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helperby
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 46 in York
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby

Property: The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby
Address: Raskelf Road, Helperby YO61 2PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helperby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Helperby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE OAK TREE INN, HELPERBY. "We serve drinks, we serve food and people can stay. It is a real reflection of what the British Inn was, and is, all about' - Michael Ibbotson, co-owner. The Oak Tree Inn at Helperby re-opens its doors. Provenance Inns is proud to announce the opening of its second village inn, in Helperby, North Yorkshire…Read Press Release. The Oak Tree Inn specializes in bringing its customers high quality food, drink, service and surroundings, including a superb private dining room for larger parties of 16 to 20 and six en-suite bedrooms. The classic British menus showcase the best local produce available from carefully selected suppliers as well as stocking an extensive range of wines and cask ales. The Oak Tree is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Set on the cross roads of historic Helperby and Brafferton, The Oak Tree Inn is easily accessible from Easingwold, Thirsk and Boroughbridge as well as the A1 and A19, less than 30 minutes from York City Centre or 35 minutes from Harrogate. Opening Times: Breakfast & Morning Coffee (also available to non-residents) 8am-12noon, Lunch: Monday – Saturday 12noon – 2.30pm, Sunday Brunch & Traditional Lunch: 11am-3pm. Afternoon menu 2.30pm-5.30pm, Dinner 5.30pm-9.30pm (Sundays 8.30pm). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby Hotel Helperby
The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing