We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and inviting”
Review of Waipoua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waipoua Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and inviting”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were very impressed when we first arrived, being greeted by Ian using our christian names. That set the whole tone for our stay. Fran and Ian were very welcoming and provided recommendations of things to see and do. Fran"s cooking was delicious and beautifully presented. If you the time we would recommend spending time doing the cooking class with Fran.

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful. They have privacy very comfy beds and lovely hot showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThewanderingKwoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is very rewarding when guests feel welcome as this is very important to us with our values mission being 'creating a memorable guest experience' which obviously MUST start with your welcome. Fran is a passionate foodie, with attention to detail and guests often tell us that taking a cooking class with her (in her playroom!) is both fun and rewarding.

Thank you also for the Room Tip - you are right all the suites are private with very comfy beds and lovely hot showers - two suites (Woolshed & Stables) also have old clawfoot baths.
Kindest regards
Ian & Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
83
274
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verden (Aller), Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Waipoua Lodge and wished we had opted for a longer stay. The hospitality of Fran and Ian was simply great. The diner was worked around our Footprints Twilight Tour which as well is greatly recommended by us. We loved the food and we are looking forward to get news from Fran's cooking club. The late talk after our tour gave us more insight into the topic of Kauri forest and conservation.
Because of our short stay we could hardly make good use of our spacious accomodation. Bridget and Wolfgang, Germany

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brigitta442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your first TripAdvisor review for Waipoua Lodge and it would have been lovely to have had you stay longer to truly enjoy our historic homestead and the other wonderful things to do on the Kauri Coast. You did the Twilight Tour in the forest which is a wonderful experience and highly recommended to our guests, but does mean even less time at the lodge. If guests are considering this night tour, then as you say, a stay of more than 1 night is highly recommended.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night back in February. Fran and Ian's hospitality couldn't be faulted. Our accommodation was very comfortable and spacious with a large bathroom and bedroom, separate lounge and kitchen area. The bed was very comfortable. Fran cooked dinner for us and provided me with delicious vegetarian food. It was one of the nicest meals I had in New Zealand, which is saying a lot as I found the standard generally pretty good there. My partner loved his meal too. We were booked on an evening tour in the Waipoua Forest the same evening and Fran kindly served us our dessert course on our late return from the excursion, which was a perfect finish to the day! The next morning after breakfast we had the opportunity of feeding the two resident pigs with Fran, which was fun. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your special vegetarian meal. With a little advance notice on booking, either direct or via your travel agent, we can cater for all dietary needs to ensure that your meals are of the same high standard as our regular a la carte menu. One night is lovely, but you are right a 2 or 3 night stay really allows guests to relax, unwind and truly enjoy our historic homestead, beautiful surrounds and of course the mighty and ancient kauri trees, plus the other sights along the Kauri Coast.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The accomodation is good, and we had a huge bed in the Tack room. Fran & Ian are very friendly & welcoming hosts and on our first night there sat down and ate with us, which was very nice, a 'casual dining' night. I understand the food is more normally an a la carte choice, and as everyone says the food is good. There are also lots of little extras thrown in like chocolate and fruit in the room, and lovely toiletries as well, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review which is much appreciated. Your late arrival after a busy itinerary, and long drive north, was absolutely fine and we are delighted that you enjoyed a more casual approach of a seafood pasta and for us all to dine together. You are right, we normally offer our 3 course a la carte menu and guests can dine when they wish and are personally looked after by Ian as front of house whilst Fran is the chef. So pleased that you also enjoyed all the complimentary in-suite items that we provide.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a lovely stay at Waipoua Lodge. Took all of Fran's recommendations, including a visit to Kauri Museum on the drive up. The accommodation was spacious and a fantastic location for visiting the forest. Dinner and breakfast were sensational. I will definitely be returning and would recommend to anyone wanting great hospitality, lovely food and to see a spectacular part of the North Island.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed following all of our recommendations.

We especially like to tell our direct booking guests to travel Northland CLOCKWISE starting with the award winning Kauri Museum at Matakohe to give you a wonderful background to the early pioneers and mighty kauri. Then travelling up the west coast to the lodge there are many wonderful scenic vistas which are missed if travelled south. Arriving at the lodge we can then give you maps and all the information about where to go and what to see in the Forest and also en-route to the Bay of Islands and Cape Reinga.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and were finishing a three+ week visit to Sydney and nine day (Tauck) tour of New Zealand, that ended in Auckland . We wanted to see the Bay of Islands by way of the west coast, and out travel agent from Frontiers recommended a night at Waipoura Lodge. Our only regret is that we did not spend a second night!
It is a pretty simple drive up from Auckland. We were greeted (by name - how do they do that?) by Fran as we were getting out of the car. Our cottage has a mini kitchen, table and living room. Of all the hotels we've been to, this was the first that supplied a local facial mud mask for use. After a great shower to remove the black mud, it was off to dinner. Ian is a wonderful bartender, and offered a healthy sampling of NZ wines for us to pick from. He also doubles as the waiter to Fran's great meal. Gotta have the lemon souffle for dessert with the complementary port.
Not sure how we did it, but we managed to down a great breakfast before we headed off. Another day to unwind there would have been wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCfromEssexCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that your agent recommended you stay with us en-route to the Bay of Islands. For us, creating a memorable guest experience, starts with the welcome and to meet and greet you personally is obviously very important. We are delighted that you enjoyed the New Zealand made mud masque ... very very special we agree and much enjoyed our female guests (and a few males we might add!). One night at the lodge can be special, but you are right to truly relax and enjoy everything at the lodge and in the surround area, 2 or 3 nights are highly recommended.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The accommodations are first class and a delight to stay in. The food was also a highlight with a lovely breakfast accompanied with an evening meal that a gourmet delight. We have been to New Zealand 10 times in the past and will make sure our next itinerary includes a visit to Waipoua Lodge!

Room Tip: We had a lovely suite that included a efficiency kitchen. The design of the lodge ensures that all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SueNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your 10th visit to NZ. It is always such a pleasure to welcome seasoned NZ travellers who have already discovered so much of our fabulous country and yet are still totally amazed and appreciative of coming here and discovering for the first time the Kauri Coast and our historic homestead. To say that you will put us on your next itinerary is simply wonderful and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipoua Forest
15.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
16.7 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
23.6 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#2 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
16.5 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
6.8 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipoua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipoua Lodge

Property: Waipoua Lodge
Address: 4748 State Highway 12, Waipoua Forest 0376, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipoua Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waipoua Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true New Zealand hospitality. Waipoua Lodge - creating a memorable guest experience. Waipoua Lodge is a little piece of luxury etched in history where you can experience true New Zealand hospitality whilst travelling Northland’s Twin Coast Discovery Highway. This circular route provides two diverse coastlines which offer in just one region, so much of the natural environment which is our beautiful Aotea-roa (land of the long white cloud). Nestled on a ridge overlooking the vast Waipoua Forest – home of the ancient and iconic kauri trees, Waipoua Lodge offers relaxing, warm and authentic New Zealand hospitality and the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful and often undiscovered Kauri Coast - Pathway to Northland and Naturally New Zealand’s Ancient, Eco & Cultural Destination. With the mixture of yesteryear in the old Kauri lodge, home to artefacts from the Kauri logging era, to the four acres of garden and tranquil bush walk surrounded by pasture and forest … you will be inspired and all within an easy 3 hour drive from Auckland. Host Ian offers personalised guided tours of the local area and hands on talks and demonstrations of the history of the ancient kauri and the early pioneers and gumdiggers. If you have a love of food, cooking and entertaining, then dining at Waipoua Lodge will be an experience to remember. Spending some time with host and chef Fran at the lodge's cooking school could simply be the ‘cream on your dessert!’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Waipoua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing