We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgent!”
Review of Waipoua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waipoua Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Indulgent!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just one night with another close family and were totally blown away! Fran and Ian made us all feel incredibly welcome with so much kindness and attention especially with 5 children amongst our group. We were given the royal treatment at dinner and breakfast and we all left with bulging bellies but still felt relaxed and rejuvenated. This is a special place to be spoiled! Thank you Fran and Ian for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slcn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your first TripAdvisor review for Waipoua Lodge - it is much appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your two families at the lodge - it was a lot of fun and we are pleased that the 8 year old enjoyed his birthday celebration and special cake. We hope that you will find the time to head north again for even more Kauri Coast experiences.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
277
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were fortunate to stay for one memorable night with Fran & Ian at this wonderful lodge, and only wish we were there for longer. Their hospitality was second to none. The lodge is restful and tranquil. The food was delicious - and remember to save space for the most fantastic breakfast. Fran's cooking demonstration of the soufflé which we then devoured was such an inspiration. We hope to return as we simply cannot fault our time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Woolshed - it has the most fantastic roll top bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah5368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely words and it is rewarding to know that we created a memorable guest experience for you both and that you hope to return again one day. We look forward to receiving a photo of your first souffles!
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at this truly remarkable lodge. The accommodation was superb - quiet and relaxed yet with all the luxuries of a 5 star hotel. We learnt about the location and what to see together with the history of the lodge and surrounding area. The food has been praised in other reviews and we can only agree. It felt like we were dining as personal guests at the chef's table in a Michelin star restaurant. If you are travelling around the north of North Island, you must stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review which reflects the 5 star standards and high level of cuisine which we strive to provide in a warm and personal manner. Not always easy in a remote location and with the added constraints of an old kauri homestead, so it is always very rewarding and humbling to know that our guests have valued the experience. Thank you.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our two days spent at Waipoua Lodge over Easter were fabulous - beautiful, restful environment, wonderful accommodation, Fran cooked meals to die for (many signature dishes - can't pick my favourite), exemplary service from Ian including a visit into the forest all the while providing us with knowledgeable commentary on the area etc. Would thoroughly recommend a stay at Waipoua Lodge. Fran and Ian go out of their way to ensure that the Waipoua Lodge experience is a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deirdre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are really pleased that we 'created a memorable guest experience' for you both which is the focus of everything that we do. Thank you also for choosing to write your first TripAdvisor review for Waipoua Lodge - this means a lot to us that you have taken the time to do this.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tekapo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Fran and Ian are perfect hosts, and made us feel very special. Their food was delicious and Fran gave us a master class in making a soufflé for our dessert. Our suite was very comfortable with many extras. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your great review and so pleased that you enjoyed the souffle masterclass! After around 1500 souffles Fran is quite skilled at producing this signature dish which is so impressive, but actually incredibly easy to replicate. Happy cooking & great eating!
Kindest regards
Ian & Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed at Wipoua lodge for 2 nights with our family. It was a perfect stay. Fran and Ian were very kind and friendly.Fran and Ian were thinking about their guests so deeply that we felt we were at our Newzealand's family's home .There are too many things to say that how Fran and Ian were superb. It was beyond our expectations.Dinner and breakfast were very beautiful and delicious. Fran made a special menu for our kids so my daughters loved to eat that.We went to meet Kauri trees and it was unforgettable experience for us.My daughters loved mr mucfugry(cat),miss Bonnie(dog), 2 kunekune pigs ,chikens, goldfish and toys.If someone who is plannning to go northern part of Newzealand,I wil definitely recommend to stay at the Waipoua Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your first review on TripAdvisor for Waipoua Lodge - it is especially appreciated knowing that being Japanese, English is not your native language.

It was such a pleasure to meet you and your family and to spend time with you. We are delighted that the girls enjoyed all the animals and that we were able to give you an off-road kiwi experience!
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Waipoua Lodge is great place to stay with happy ,skilful hosts ,comfortable rooms and excellent food. The key is to leave Aucland and stop on the way to Waipoua at the Kauri Museum in Makapota which is the best in NZ and gives the whole history of the great tree then on to Waipoua stay at least two nights and take the twilight evening tour of the great trees paying homage to the Father of the Forest and the Four . Great songs pay homage to the history of the trees and the whole picture of the Museum matched to the trees 2000-4000 years old create great moments. The Waipoua Lodge is ideally sited and very good/excellent enjoy

Room Tip: the whole outfit is well run and excellent service,rooms etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warminsterpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your great review which encapsulates all the reasons why we definitely recommend that visitors travel Northland clockwise rather than anti-clockwise. It simply provides a far better guest experience of the Kauri Coast to start with the award winning Kauri Museum, staying at the lodge 2-3 nights and including the wonderful Maori cultural Twilight night tour. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything.
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipoua Forest
15.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
16.7 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
105 reviews
14.7 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
16.5 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
3.3 mi away
Birdsnest Holiday Home
Birdsnest Holiday Home
#7 of 12 in Dargaville
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipoua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipoua Lodge

Property: Waipoua Lodge
Address: 4748 State Highway 12, Waipoua Forest 0376, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipoua Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waipoua Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true New Zealand hospitality. Waipoua Lodge - creating a memorable guest experience. Waipoua Lodge is a little piece of luxury etched in history where you can experience true New Zealand hospitality whilst travelling Northland’s Twin Coast Discovery Highway. This circular route provides two diverse coastlines which offer in just one region, so much of the natural environment which is our beautiful Aotea-roa (land of the long white cloud). Nestled on a ridge overlooking the vast Waipoua Forest – home of the ancient and iconic kauri trees, Waipoua Lodge offers relaxing, warm and authentic New Zealand hospitality and the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful and often undiscovered Kauri Coast - Pathway to Northland and Naturally New Zealand’s Ancient, Eco & Cultural Destination. With the mixture of yesteryear in the old Kauri lodge, home to artefacts from the Kauri logging era, to the four acres of garden and tranquil bush walk surrounded by pasture and forest … you will be inspired and all within an easy 3 hour drive from Auckland. Host Ian offers personalised guided tours of the local area and hands on talks and demonstrations of the history of the ancient kauri and the early pioneers and gumdiggers. If you have a love of food, cooking and entertaining, then dining at Waipoua Lodge will be an experience to remember. Spending some time with host and chef Fran at the lodge's cooking school could simply be the ‘cream on your dessert!’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Waipoua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing