We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 5 star nightmere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blanca Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Travnik
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A 5 star nightmere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I wanted to get out from the smoggy city and enjoy 5 star luxory in the mountain Vlasic, pool and spa, good food as well as fresh air, just relaxing fom the past week.
By the phone we were told one price but after our arrival it was another story (it was not possible to make reservation over Booking.com or their own web-site for December 21, 2013). Of course the price was up, it was like their only available room.The room was nice up to the standards, overlooking the center of ski-happenings and wright underneath our windows there was a giant tent with some music playing and some other animating activities wich we assumed would be finished at the and of the daylight.

After the pool with spa ( very small ) we went for a cup of coffee, waiting 25 minutes to get it..Later in the restaurant we were waiting for very light meals for more than 45 min, and my husband eventualy got a wrong meal as the waiter misunderstood him.He offered to change it to the right one (and may be another 45 min.), so we refused it. They appologized and did not charge us for the dinner.

Getting beck to the room (very hot and hard to regulate it) we were faced with a very loud music from the tent below, after 11pm calling the receptionist and asking what was going on ..he sad that was an event going till late and could not do anything about it. They had some Srbian folkstars playing and singing and from hour to hour it was getting worse.. Than even after 1-2am we had a sound of the havy metal music at 1000 000 decibels that would blow your mind away. Finally, as we couldn't bere that anymore, I went downstears and after complaining met the director (who was probubly one of the organisers of the whole event!). He appologised (and even offered us another night for free), saying that music wood probubly be there till 4-5am. Again we were not charge for the room, but I wish we had never come here.

I realy coud not believe that this was all heppening to us, at 3am we had packed our things and left this hotel driving throu thick fog all the way home for more than 3 hours.

This was our worst hotel experience.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smg464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    15
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I would highly recommend Hotel Blanca. The rooms are nice, spacious and clean. Beds are very comfortable. The service is excellent. I don't remember if I have ever seen staff so kind as in this hotel. However, food was not the best ever, even though there were some very nice cakes. And the other downside is extremely small gym, but when on Vlasic you really don't need a gym since the nature is just perfect for a nice and long walk, as well as other outside activities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. The room was spacious, with modern furniture and a huge, comfortable bed, and very clean. The area around the hotel is very quiet. We enjoyed the view through huge windows. The staff is friendly and ready to help. We would have preferred if the restaurant had offered more typical local food (instead of honey from Slovenia and jam from Croatia). The crepes for breakfast are absolutely great. The spa is very small and the pool could be cleaner, and this is hardly a resort, as the name says. It has the potential, but there is a long way to five stars.
If you are planning on going hiking, prepare in advance. We couldn't get a map for hiking and information on hiking trips is very limited and the trails are not marked. It is worth going to the highest peak of Vlašić mountain - Paljenik (1943 m). There is a TV tower there, so you can' t miss ot. It takes 4-5 hours. The view is great. The area of Galica is also very nice, with a nice view on the valley beneath and the surrounding mountains. There are two mountain huts on the way, but neither was open, although it was weekend. So, you have to take all the supplies with you. We were worried because we noticed a lot of mines warning signs, although a lot of people were having a picnic in the woods and obviously did not pay a lot of attention to these signs.
All in all, it was a nice, relaxing, refreshing weekend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyerka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kano, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in the apartments of this hotel in Decembar 2012. The 5 star in this hotel is just the first 2 floors, breakfast area and the peros in charge of the lagguage. We are greateful for his help to clean the car of the snow.
The apartment we stayed has only one window in the bedroom, livingroom has a roof window that was covered by snow so it seemed we were in a basment!!!! The wood flooring in the kitchen lifted up and it was hard to walk, no heating system in the room (it blows only cold air) and with children it was an owful experience.
The worstest thing of all is the fire place, the hoock to close it was spoiled so we had to put something heavy on it not to dye on the smoke....
Mauntin Vlasic is really nice place, but try to avoid this hotel....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

As a frequent traveler I find Blanca Spa & Resort perfect fusion of wild nature and luxury. The hotel is located at Vlasic mountain few fotspets away from skiing slopes. Facility is exiting , best sleep you can get and the staff is extremely helpfull. Hotel offers numerous outdoor activities and team building programs. I strongly recomend this hidden treasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Am a repeating guest. I find the place a "secret jewel" on the Bosnian Mountain of Vlasic, in which every time I discover something new. The hotel has great installations and the staff is very attentive.

Room Tip: Get one room with views to the Olympic ski jump!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARCO J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

To begin with positives...great location in the heart of the ski resort, within walking distance from all ski facilities, cafes and restaurants. Rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and with great view..watch out for the view as not all rooms have nice view...bathroom is large with heated floor. Rhere is no shower hanger in the bathroom. Tv did not have even half of advertised channels. Heating did not work properly but they got it fixed swiftly. Spa is desent. Swimming pool small, but cousy. Four sounas never got that busy. Did not get a chance to try massage as all were pre booked. Food is avarage and definitely overpriced. The staff is trying to be nice, but far from five star service.
Overall, great potential...but still long way to go to achieve 5 stars bar

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LejlaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolina J, General Manager at Hotel Blanca Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear and Respected Mrs Lejla,
We kindly thank you for your review which helps us improve.
Regarding positives, yes, all Superior double rooms have a great ski sloop view, and we will be more than honored to provide you with a same room next time when you decide to visit us and rank whether we have improved.
In addition, I wanted to notify you that we have set up shower hangers, and now each room and apartment supports it, we were in a set up process.
We also improved our cuisine with a sequence of trainings by fabulous and well know Chefs from Split, so I honestly believe that you will enjoy it next time.
Furthermore, in Mont Blanc Restaurant now we have a lot of special offers which are highly affordable.

Thank you for your review and looking forward to your next visit.

At your service,
Nikolina Jovanovic
Skype: blancasales2
E: info@blancaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Travnik
24.6 mi away
Hotel SPA Kardial Banja Vrucica
18.2 mi away
Hotel Zenica
Hotel Zenica
#1 of 2 in Zenica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#2 of 2 in Zenica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 1 in Vitez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
11.3 mi away
No photo provided
Motel Calypso
#2 of 4 in Travnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
7.6 mi away
Motel Aba
Motel Aba
#3 of 4 in Travnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blanca Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blanca Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Blanca Resort & Spa
Address: Babanovac Bb, Travnik 72286, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Central Bosnia Canton > Travnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Travnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Blanca Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Blanca Resort & Spa***** - superb comfort in the midst of an untouched nature. An array of events awaits you in a perfectly decorated and highly comfortable setting inspired by the blending of traditional motifs in a contemporary context. The basic idea of this luxurious Resort & Spa Hotel is to provide everything you need for rest and relaxation in one place besides impressive additional offer and a competitive price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blanca Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing