We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best tours ever!”

Jungle Joe Minca Adventures
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Minca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: full day Minca tour tube rafting hiking tours birdwatching coffee tours chocolate tours
Reviewed 4 April 2016

What a nice experience! Joe and his daughter Andrea took us on a very interesting walk through the jungle. Lunch was extraordinary!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Ramona_und_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coffee plantation"
in 33 reviews
"great tour"
in 25 reviews
"bamboo house"
in 20 reviews
"day tour"
in 26 reviews
"santa marta"
in 56 reviews
"chocolate making"
in 6 reviews
"bird watching"
in 10 reviews
"tour starts"
in 5 reviews
"coffee tour"
in 10 reviews
"local coffee"
in 8 reviews
"coffee chocolate"
in 5 reviews
"cacao beans"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic morning"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 3 reviews
"nice walk"
in 5 reviews
"cocoa plant"
in 3 reviews
Filter

125 - 129 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We are a family of 5 who spent 12 hours with Jungle Joe today! We started off with the birdwatching tour and continued with the Minca day tour.
We were picked up, on time, in 2 cars, at our hotel in Santa Marta at 5 and got to Minca by 6. The return trip was equally smooth.
The birdwatching tour lasted about 3 hours and we saw at least 2 dozen different types of birds! Joe provided binoculars and had a reference bird book with him to show us pictures of what we saw.
The Minca tour lasted 8 hours and was simply spectacular! We joined another 8 people and hiked 2.5 hours through a beautiful forest (with rest stops). Note- bring LOTS of water and comfortable footwear (hiking boots or running shoes). We got to Pozo de Azul waterfall where we had plenty of time (an hour) to swim, jump in the refreshing pool and relax!
We then hiked back for an hour to Joe's house where he served us a scrumptious organic lunch that he cooked from local ingredients. (The kids thought it was better than most restaurants!)
We then learned about bamboo construction and indigenous peoples. Afterwards, Joe informed us about coffee and chocolate making in Colombia and we had delicious samples of both (mmmm!).
Joe was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about Colombia, nature and conservation. He is fluent in English and translated everything equally in both languages. We were also impressed that his efforts support the local community in many ways.
It was a phenomenal experience and highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank afroditi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We did an early morning birding tour with Joe and can say he really knows the birds around Minca. He led us on an interesting route with a stop at his home for some yard birding. His home just happens to be down a trail on the side of a hill, very interesting. With Joe's help we added some birds to our list and clarified some sightings we had earlier without him. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank kadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Jungle Joe is the man! He and his daughter were great guides and made for a perfect day in Minca. I would highly recommend it!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank PaulSadleir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

We had a great day in Minca. We started with a 3 h hike through the jungle with a refreshing bath in a natural pool at the waterfall. Joe then served a very delicious meal with fresh vegetables and salad grown in his garden.
After lunch we visited an indogenious village, and a coffee farm, where we tried freshly prepared coffee and cacao.
Everything including transportation to and from our hotel was well organized.
We had a lot of fun and would definitivly recommend Jungle Joe!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Fabian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jungle Joe Minca Adventures also viewed

Minca, Santa Marta District
Minca, Santa Marta District
 
Minca, Santa Marta District
Minca, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Jungle Joe Minca Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing