We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loire valley B&B delight”
Review of Le Verger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Verger
Ranked #1 of 1 Chambellay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Once the four of us found the gates of Le Verger Chambellay we were in our own little country chateau paradise. In the region for a wedding we found we had clearly found an absolute gem. Our other friends scattered around the area north of Anger did not come close to our lovely estate surrounded by forest and with an extraordinarily amenable host Marc Rondeau. The house is beautifully appointed with period antiques and modern and stylish bedrooms and bath. Whether a glass of Chenin Blanc on the terrace from his cellar or an expansive French breakfast Marc could not do enough to ensure our stay was enjoyable. He directed us to an excellent restaurant La Table de Meunière, and an amazing walk along the river past Chateaus and little villages with locks for the passing barges, it is an area with many secrets to share. We could have rented horses, motorbikes, bicycles or boats to take it all in but ran out of time. It is a sleepy rural area but if you are there for a wedding at the amazing Chateau Chaillain, or just a majestic weekend in the country I'm certain you can't beat Le Vergers. As long as you have a sat nav to find it!

Room Tip: 2 br suite would be fantastic for a family, and great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our family, with two young boys, had a lovely stay at Le Verger in early August. The grounds alone, spread over 8 acres, kept the boys occupied for days and they loved helping the host, Anthony Murphy, cook duck and rabbit (the boys keep asking us when will go back). The breakfasts are outstanding and, for an additional supplement, you can eat Michelin star quality suppers in absolutely beautiful surroundings. The rooms are comfortable and spacious; we never slept better. Additionally Le Verger is in a great location for day trips to tour nearby chateaux, to visit the castle in Angers, botanical gardens, vineyards etc. Anthony has fantastic recommendations for day trips from Le Verger so be sure to ask. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This place will take your breath away!! Tranquil country living at its best! Walking/biking paths, excellent views. The food was amazing, I can't say enough good things to even come close to the relaxation we experienced while staying here. We came all the way from Canada, and would make a trip back to France just to visit here again. Anthony, you have exceeded our expectations and look forward to seeing eachother again soon!!!!

Room Tip: Main floor room on the front right with balcony was unreal! Spacious and has all the luxuries of ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Le Verger is not just a place, but an experience. This restored and updated (heating, bathrooms) country home in rural France where all the rooms are tastefully appointed with period antiques. The food and tea are wonderful and served exquisitely. Anthony Murphy is a gracious and knowledgeable host who has learned to navigate, explore and appreciate France. This ex pat Irishman cooks French food with aplomb – his commercial kitchen hosts cooking classes. Le Verger is a taste of French country living luscious enough to addict anyone.

Room Tip: Each room is unique with incredible attention to detail. Prepare to live history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itonlyrainsallthetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A dear friend and I had the absolute pleasure of staying at Le Verger near Angers. The very large house is beautifully decorated and one of the most welcoming places I've ever visited--and that's just the physical house. Host Anthony Murphy is exceptionally charming and the combination of his grace and the surroundings made me feel like I was receiving a big warm hug. I'd love to go and stay for several days with a group of friends. I'll definitely work something out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed with my mother at Mr. Anthony Murphy's chateau, Le Verger. Although not an ancient chateau, the residence is beautifully appointed and the home is elegant. Anthony is probably one of the most friendly and accomodating hosts I've ever met. He welcomed us warmly and had us visit for drinks prior to a wonderful multi-course dinner (that Anthony prepared himself).
After my mother became ill in the morning, Anthony was so kind as to let us stay until late afternoon while she recovered. He even went to the pharmacy to pick up medicine for her. I was so impressed with his kindness and obvious care. I would give the highest recommendation for any traveler to stay at Le Verger. I hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Marc Jeannine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Verger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Verger

Address: 8 route de Saint Martin, 49220 Chambellay, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Chambellay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chambellay
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing