We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
1
1
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
1
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2016

For people who know this hotel about a decade ago it has undergone massive renovation that involve total overhaul of the facilities in the hotel and its premises.The best rooms to me are those that are detached from the main building as they are quitter and more private than the others within the main building.A room was booked for me here during a conference and i really enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Iguda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Like the caption, Katsina Motel is a completely changed place. The environment is well kept, very accomodating, the chalets are nicely arranged and spacious, with plants and trees around. The other rooms are very vell kept too. They serve very good food, you dont have to go out to eat. They also have a good conference hall for meetings and other social gatherings and occasions, with enough parking spaces. Also Katsina is a very peaceful and accomodating place to visit, hence the tag, home of hospitality.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mustapha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Reception has a modest look, very Nigerian, but in general people is kind and welcoming. Avoid rooms on the main building. they are kind of enclosed, dark and depressing. Showers can be very slippery as in life threatening slippery.

So i moved to one of the chalet looking rooms. They are big enough and get some natural light.You'll have a nice porch where you can read or breath (unless there's a sandy storm). Beware! always check the metal door fully seals - otherwise you'll have a wave of mosquitoes and a carnage at night.

Avoid restaurant at all cost. The first day I kinda tried some of the African cuisine there, but it was always wrong. No toasts with breakfast. actually breakfast is non existent. If you are staying in Katsina for a while, do as I did. Get an electric stove with two burners. Every time I went back home, i brought a case of tune, rice and lentils. This way I survived for about a year.

The dark side of the hotel is that the former pool is more like a lagoon filled with exotic reptiles. Do not attempt to jump in.

The bright side, is that the hotel is located in a nice area. I used to run 5km around the hotel. I felt very safe. This was 2011 and 2012. So not so sure what has happened in tranquil Katsina.

Room Tip: go to the individual chalets at all costs.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank backpacker m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Rooms are not cleaned every day, you spend 1h30 minutes to get your coffee in the morning, internet is almost not working (no signal in the rooms), the TV is not working, water is not available all times (always prepare your bottles). Looks nice outside but crappy service inside.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Visitor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I think the previous review is unfair in that it seems to presume that Katsina should offer up the same qualities that might be expected in major cities either of the West or of the more westernised areas of Nigeria. Katsina isn't a place that is visited by tourists or, to any great extent, by business.

I spent about three weeks here while getting settled into Katsina as a place to live and was happy to be there.

The motel has a generator which usually works when NEPA goes out. It has a bar which serves a full range of soft drinks which are sometimes cold and it is close enough to the Katsina Club for it to be possible to go out in the dark and seek beer!! The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful to a fault. The toilets flush almost without exception.

To my mind this all makes it a great place to stay in Katsina.

Settle in and enjoy. It costs less than half the price of The Liyafa Palace which is right out on the edge of town (but which does, sometimes, have an open pool) and is much less than half as up itself!!

If you're there, head into town and see the city: it's well worth the effort - a wonderful place to spend time with some of the finest people I have ever been lucky enough to meet. If the club is closed and you need a beer then get a machine driver to take you out to mami's market.

PS When I say I was there in June 2011 that 's a lie - it was earlier than that by a couple of years but that's not an option!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeyk419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews