We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again”
Review of Babushkin Sad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babushkin Sad
Ranked #1 of 1 Mriya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2011

To be honest Im not sure why any international visitor would want to stay here. From the moment I checked in I knew that there would be a problem. Nobody could speak English. They insisted that the whole bill would be paid up front. Nobody showed me to my room and carrying a lot of bags this was difficult. Breakfast I was greased by 80's disco music being played so loud it was impossible to concentrate or even make any business calls. I must say that there was more cleaners then people staying here and couldn't fault the cleanliness of the place. However the second night and final night would prove a problem. Nobody cam to clean the room or re stock the bathroom. Bed was comfortable , but TV was only in Russian which I found slightly strange for a international hotel. Second days breakfast was disappointment as they demanded that I pay for coffee when it was included in the price that I had paid. The wireless internet didn't work and again was greeted by load 80's disco music. Not a pleasant stay I will NOT return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeharris7591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

On our first visit to Kiev 2 years ago, our group stayed at Hotel Slavutich right in the city. The food there was excellent (a typical Ukrainian spread) and everything was just fine for us, but it didn't compare to an American standard of excellence. Not having been to Ukraine before, and juxtaposed with the poverty in the surrounding countryside, we considered that it must be very good by Ukrainian standards. However, that myth was busted when we returned to Kiev a couple of weeks ago! Our group was a team of a dozen people, in Ukraine to do a camp for at-risk Ukrainian children, and our hosts, Ukrainian social workers, made the lodging arrangements for us. Because the rates at Slavutich had increased measurably since our first stay, they booked us at Babushkin Sad ("Grandmother's Garden") in a nearby town. We were caught in the Friday afternoon traffic jam out of Kiev on our way to this new hotel, and the 15 mile trip seemed much further than 15 American miles, but this place was worth it! The price was much lower (approx. $70'ish dollars / night / room) than Slavutich and it was a memorable experience! From the friendly receptionist/administrator who greeted us at the front desk, to the sparkly clean, brand new rooms to the delicious meal in their small outdoor dining pavilion (complete with a lovely young accordian player playing both traditional Slavic music as well as some American show tunes), it was a delight! (Especially at the end of our trip after camp where we'd been using the squatty potty)! :) Do not miss this experience if you are traveling to Kiev and have the opportunity to drive outside of the city!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherylhoopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ирина О
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank nataliyasolovyova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Linpacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tetiana108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mriya
5.9 mi away
Maison Blanche Ecohouse
Maison Blanche Ecohouse
#1 of 1 in Berezivka
9 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tsargrad Hotel
Tsargrad Hotel
#1 of 1 in Myla
7 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grand Admiral Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Guest House Stockholm Studios
Show Prices

Been to Babushkin Sad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babushkin Sad

Address: Sadova st. 2, Mriya 08167, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev Oblast > Mriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mriya
Price Range: £22 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Babushkin Sad 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Babushkin Sad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing