We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Stable Cottage Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Triscombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Established over 30 years ago, Stable Cottage is situated at the foot of the Quantock Hills with stunning views over the Quantock Hills. Our speciality is Cream Teas, with home made scones, locally sourced clotted cream and jam, with a pot of tea, coffee or hot chocolate. We also offer delicious High Teas with poached or boiled home produced free-range eggs; home made fruit cake; hot buttered tea cakes or toast.
Nether Stowey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good location, uninterrupted views over he countryside, excellent cream tea and prompt friendly service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulkshay, Public Relations Manager at Stable Cottage Tea Room, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so lucky to work in such a beautiful place and look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    11
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Cream Tea Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A group of four of us went with 2 dogs (which are welcome on a lead if well behaved) and we were warmly greeted and shown to a table. We all ordered a cream tea, the scones were to die for & service was fantastic, will definitely visit again and recommend to others

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OB1BKERROBBIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulkshay, Public Relations Manager at Stable Cottage Tea Room, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
So glad you and your dogs had a good time, thanks for your lovely review and please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A new discovery”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have recently visited Stable cottage having been recommended by friends and have now been twice. The setting is stunning and the cream tea excellent. Service is also very friendly so I can see this becoming a regular stop

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulkshay, Public Relations Manager at Stable Cottage Tea Room, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visits. We look forward to your next one very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“Truly scrumptious!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was taken to Stable Cottage Tea Rooms by a friend who had been telling me for months how amazing the scones there were, so my hopes were high. And I wasn't disappointed, the experience was amazing. Being especially fond of cream tea, I have tried many, many scones and the ones at Stable Cottage were certainly amongst the best, if not the best. Even before taking the first bite my heart was won over when I saw the truly generous amount of clotted cream that accompanied the scones. Clotted cream is next to scones my favourite part of cream tea and there is nothing as annoying as a tiny portion of it, that's not even enough for one scone (which is unfortunately quite often the case). The wonderful garden and views, the absolutely delicious scones, clotted cream, jam and tea and the warm and welcoming atmosphere make Stable Cottage the perfect place to enjoy a lovely and unforgettable (I still think about the scones at least a few times every week...) afternoon tea with friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaibelNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulkshay, Public Relations Manager at Stable Cottage Tea Room, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Wow, what kind words! So glad that we lived up to expectations, and hope that you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolavington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

You can never fault the standard of cream tea and exceptional service at this unique traditional tea rooms. Family owned business; it shows in their approach to their clients, attitude and superior quality in all they serve. Thank you for this unique piece of somerset, you re few and far between. :) x

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulkshay, Public Relations Manager at Stable Cottage Tea Room, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stable Cottage Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Stable Cottage Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing