We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable Valentines Stay”
Review of Shibden Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shibden Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shibden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable Valentines Stay”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Shibden Mill made our Valentines celebration one to remember for all the right reasons. First the greeting on reception was warm and personal, then came the moment of truth - the room. We knew they had been refurbishing the accommodation and I had booked one of the best for this special day but I was not prepared for how great this one was; they had converted a barn so the ceiling was high with a fabulous centre arch but it was the furnishings and decor that made. A super bath that my lady could not resist, a bed big enough for three (with rose petals scattered on the pillows), a TV and DVD player, a lovely comfy sofa and a fabulous bathroom. All finished off with flowers and chocolates what more could we ask for - nothing we just enjoyed it until dinner time.

The dinner was a set Valentines menu (they can be not so good) but this one was excellent at every course; served with charm and responsiveness for only £45 per head for all three courses and a free glass of proseco, the wine list is good and also not expensive; all served in the excellent surroundings of the upstairs restaurant (direct access from the hotel so no need to go into the bar) which I think has also been refurbished but again it's the decor that makes it.

A good English breakfast this morning made it the best Valentines day we have had for a long time even though the weather was appalling we left uplifted and happy after a memorable time. At every juncture you got the feeling that nothing was too much trouble; especially as my lady took a fancy the 'library' look wallpaper in the corridor and they have promised to e-mail us the supplier.

Thank you Shibden Mill for a fabulous Valentines celebration - we cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for number 14 - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    72
    24
    23
    16
See reviews for
78
188
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aldwick
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at the Shibden Mill Inn for many years and it never disappoints. It is a lovely old mill in a great setting just a couple of miles out of town and the staff couldn't be more friendly and welcoming.

All of the bedrooms are very individual and well furnished, especially the superior rooms and the excellent Bower suite. The bar is a great place to spend a winters evening with roaring log fires and a great choice of beers and wines whilst choosing your food from a comprehensive menu and there is always blackboard specials as well. The quality of the food and cooking is consistently great and always well presented. Breakfast is served in the first floor restaurant and again the quality of the cooked breakfast, like everything else at the Shibden Mill, is excellent.


Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We went for a casual Saturday lunch. Great selection of beer and loads of lovely choices on the menu. Great open fire, quirky rooms....Will definitely return and try the Sunday lunch menu. Looks like a nice setting for summer drinks.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed overnight on New Year's Eve and despite the lovely room, setting and warm welcome, were really disappointed with the standard of the food and the quality of the service. Considering the previous recommendations and the price of the menu, the food was completely uninspired, tasteless and dry, with a cheese board that looked like it had been left out for days! In comparison, the breakfast was lovely and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelehspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

An oasis on the edge of Halifax, this beautiful 11 bedroom hotel and restaurant near Shelf has every box ticked. Every room is individually decorated with care and attention to detail. The restaurant offers a varied menu but tonight's meal is one of the best I have ever had, as a qualified chef I know a thing or two about cooking. Well done *****

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed overnight and were delighted with our choice of hotel. All the staff were friendly. Our room was fab, tastefully decorated with comfy big bed.all mod cons,. Breakfast was amazing. Loved the home made jam and lemon curd! The cooked breakfast was perfect.The hotel setting is lovely.What more can I say than book it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The service both in the hotel, the bar and restaurant is excellent - very welcoming, warm and extremely accommodating! Rooms excellent standard, room service food is the best I've experienced, restaurant excellent and the cooked breakfast is superb and done exactly to request. Staff superb, looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: The suite is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibden
1.6 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.9 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibden Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibden Mill Inn

Property: Shibden Mill Inn
Address: Blake Hill 1 Shibden Mill Fold, Shibden HX3 7UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Shibden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shibden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shibden Mill Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shibden Mill Inn nestles in the fold of the Shibden Valley overlooking the Red Beck, near Halifax, West Yorkshire (England). This 17th-century inn is steeped in history and has been sympathetically renovated and restored so as to retain as much of its original charm and character as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shibden Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibden Mill Hotel Shibden
Shibden Mill Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing