We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
113
15
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
15
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cool box log burner national trust extra blankets toasting marshmallows everything you could possibly need toilet shower great weekend home comforts be booking again short walk night break car park gibside estate strawberry castle low ropes kitchen block
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The third time we have stopped here , each time it has been as good as the last. A perfect rural retreat for kids ( and parents). This time we stopped in one of the 4 smaller yurts which sleeps 4, on 2 single and one double futon. The yurts are well spaced out , each with their own area of decking, fire pit, BBQ and camp stove. They are well equipped with pots, pans, plates etc. the sample log burning stove keeps the yurt toasty and warm, but do remember to bring firefighters and some kindling would help too. Logs are provided. The small toilet and wash block has plenty of hot water ( not metered or anything)' and the toilets and showers are spotless. There is a small solar battery, but we enjoyed the funk f no electricity. From the yurts it is a short walk onto the Gibside estate, which can be accesses day and night. My boys (9 and 12) spent many happy hours in the woods, building dens etc. we had one very wet day, but it really didn't matter, we donned our waterproofs and had fun in the woods in the rain, ad then back to out lovely warm, dry yurt- camping with all the bad bits taken out. We will be back. Thank you again to Alastair and his team. We managed not to singe anything this time too!

Room tip: Yurt 6 is at the top of the hill, and 1 is at the bottom, closest to the woods. The toilets etc are in between 3 and 4' but they are all all we'll spaced out
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hidden away in the beautiful Gibside estate lies x6 traditional mongolian yurts, complete with log burner, BBQ and fire pit. One of the most peaceful, cleanest, safest and enjoyable weekends away we have had.
We will definitely be going back, ideal for couples, families or parties and the cleanliness and facilities provided were excellent.

Room tip: May wish to consider asking if any large parties are booked in if you are looking for a romantic, peaceful stay.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My partner and I have just returned from our first visit to West Wood Yurts, and it certainly won't be our last. We had an amazing time and were very impressed with the facilities and the excellent standard of accomodation.
The location is idilic, and for anyone wanting to get away from it all as we did, it's ideal.
If you've never fancied camping, but feel like getting back to nature, this is the best of both. The beds, log burning stove, and toilet/shower block, make it the perfect balance to allow you to enjoy the simpler life, but not feel too removed from home comforts.
We would thoroughly recommend West Wood Yurts to everyone - families, couples, or solo vacationers. 10 out of 10.

Room tip: All the rooms seem to offer the same quality, but if you need something special, just give them a call as they seem more than happy to help with anything you need.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECHP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was a great break. It was the first time that we had taken the kids camping (11, 8, 5). The campsite is very safe and the yurts have everything that you need, all we brought were sleeping bags and food. The kids absolutely loved it and it was great to have some time where they could play outside and explore the area without the distraction of TV etc. We stayed for a 4 night mid week break and it was great value for money.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anfaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stopped here Monday to Friday in April and as I have never camped before I wasn't really looking forward to the break which was booked by my husband. We travelled from Nottinghamshire with our two young children aged 8 and 5 and was met at the site by Alistair who was very welcoming and showed us around the camp and also our yurt. I must say as soon as we had settled into the yurt there really was no need for me to feel uneasy about the break as the yurts are well equipped with everything you could possibly need, you could really just turn up with your clothes, sleeping bags and food, as all cooking utensils and crockery are provided along with a gas stove, BBQ, outdoor seating area and even a chiller unit with ice packs to store your food. Our children were able to play outside around the camp safely as no cars have access to the camp (although you are able to take the car down for loading and unloading on arrival and leaving days). As the camp is surrounded by open fields with sheep and lambs my eldest daughter was in her element as she would often visit the lambs and we were also lucky enough to go upto the cattle shed and see a calf just minutes after it was born on Tuesday afternoon and we sat for just a little under an hour to catch a glimpse of the calf taking its first steps which was just magical for the children. I can confidently say that I have been converted to glamping and would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews