We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY STAFF”
Review of The New Plough

The New Plough
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
newcastle upon tyne, england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAFF”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went for a drink and ended up eating there, meal was lovely and the staff were really pleasant, I will definitely go back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WEBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments from your visit in May. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    26
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant/pub has always been a great place to go, now it's even better under the new management! The opening night was spectacular and the atmosphere was amazing! A few weeks later when I went for a meal the atmosphere was just as good and the meal was absolutely to die for! Even though the staff were rushed off their feet, as it was busy they were still extremely helpful, polite and made my partner and I feel very welcome! Worth the visit, definitely 5 stars!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch all 6 were made welcome despite being a very busy restaurant. ”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Family all happy as we had food for the children that was not on the menu had wonderful time food outstanding fresh veg meat so tender good portions beer great will be back soon 10/10

Helpful?
2 Thank ericashmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit for Sunday lunch. We are extremely pleased that you and your family enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good rather than average - read the review”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have been meaning to visit for some time as we regularly pass this place and have noticed the new signage etc. Unfortunately we visited on a sunny Monday evening and were the only customers, except a man at the bar. One or two other couples eventually arrived but spread across the vast area of the restaurant this did nothing to create any atmosphere, nor did the lack of any background music.

The meals we chose were from the chef's recommended menu and were very tasty indeed, well cooked and nicely presented and arrived at our table very quickly. Service was warm and friendly and we felt welcome. We particularly liked the menu choices and prefer the slightly smaller range as we feel that this suggests that the food is indeed freshly cooked and not bought in and reheated. Portion sizes were spot on for us and we left feeling satisfied but not over full, even after sharing the rum and raisin cheesecake, which was delicious.

So then why the average score? This mainly reflects the lack of atmosphere and the fact that we left feeling that we had been fed rather than had an experience. I know this might just have been bad timing and the review could have been different if we had visited at a busier time. Had there been a rating of 'good' rather than 'very good' this would have described our experience better. We would go back but maybe with a group of friends rather than as a couple..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank golferDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent visit. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your meals. We will ensure that we will have background music on at all times during trading hours to help create atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This used to be our favourite place to eat but unfortunately since the change of management the old menu has gone and the portions have been dramatically reduced. We'll give it another chance at some point but with other pubs in the area getting their act together we probably won't be back as much as we used to.

Helpful?
Thank Optimusbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Sorry to hear about your recent experience at our pub/restaurant. Assuming you ate off the lunch menu, which launched yesterday (Wednesday 14th April), the dishes on this particular menu were designed to be smaller, lighter meals. After listening to feedback from our customers, we decided to create a lunch menu offering lighter bites which would run alongside the main menu during the hours of 12-4. Some of our customers, in the first few weeks of opening, felt that the main menu portions were too substantial for a lunchtime meal. Therefore, we feel that running both menus alongside each other gives customers the option to have a lighter bite or a substantial meal depending on their preference. We hope to update our facebook page regularly, and will try to include photographs of the dishes in order to show our customers what we offer in terms of food presentation and portion size etc.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, further to this we will edit our lunch time menus to state that the dishes will be 'lighter bites' to help prevent any misunderstandings.
We hope you enjoyed what you had and we very much hope to see you back very soon.
Many thanks, the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Plough also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Burnopfield, Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The New Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing