We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i may be being picky!”
Review of The New Plough

The New Plough
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“i may be being picky!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having never written a review before and always relied on others i thought i should give it ago. We last visited The Plough a couple of years ago where we had a bad meal so hadnt considered going back until we seen that it had changed hands. We decided to go for Sunday lunch and found the place busy,which is a good sign and we were not disappointed in the food. The meat(pork and beef) was melt in the mouth and the yorkshire pudding was the best ive had in a long time.............so why the average rating? I couldnt properly enjoy my meal as i was constantly chasing flies away from it and i was not the only one. I noticed there were three sets of double doors into the bar and they were all wide open,surely at least one set could have been closed to at least keep the flies to a minimum. I am aware that it was a warm day but there are other ways to keep places cool and gadgets out there to kill the flies. I know i will eat here again as the food was very good but i think i will leave it till the winter months and just go for drinks here in the summer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience back in June. Apologies for the delayed reply.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunches. We are deeply sorry that your experience was affected by the number of flies we had at that time. This summer we have seen an increased amount of flies in the area so it has been a struggle to control them.
However, having spoken to a pest control specialist, we would like to reassure you that the measures we have taken as part of their advice, we have seen a significant drop in the amount of flies we now get in the pub.
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    26
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The plough Inn getting bigger and better”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food is great always freshly made no microwave rubbish, excellent staff and the Woodpecker cider and other alcoholic drinks are the best in the area by far and the prices are reasonable. And from the 15th of june they will be having Quiz night on Tuesdays from 9 till 11pm, Curry night on Thursdays and to top it all off Band night on Fridays from 7.30 till late. The notice board with these details are on display from today outside as i seen them putting it up this afternoon. so please try 10/10 from me

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your visit in May. We are pleased that you are happy with the pub and the meals etc. we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne, england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAFF”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went for a drink and ended up eating there, meal was lovely and the staff were really pleasant, I will definitely go back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WEBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments from your visit in May. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant/pub has always been a great place to go, now it's even better under the new management! The opening night was spectacular and the atmosphere was amazing! A few weeks later when I went for a meal the atmosphere was just as good and the meal was absolutely to die for! Even though the staff were rushed off their feet, as it was busy they were still extremely helpful, polite and made my partner and I feel very welcome! Worth the visit, definitely 5 stars!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch all 6 were made welcome despite being a very busy restaurant. ”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Family all happy as we had food for the children that was not on the menu had wonderful time food outstanding fresh veg meat so tender good portions beer great will be back soon 10/10

Helpful?
2 Thank ericashmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit for Sunday lunch. We are extremely pleased that you and your family enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Plough also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Burnopfield, Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The New Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing