We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit since new management took over”
Review of The New Plough

The New Plough
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Sunday lunch is very good. Quality, quantity and reasonably priced. Food was served within ten minutes of sitting down and it's nice to have table service for drinks and food order. Nice to see the same friendly staff which are a credit to the Plough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank DurhamlassLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for The New Plough
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Went to the plough today around 2 o'clock as we entered the lady behind the counter was very cheerful leading us to our table she took our order of drinks,2 lagers which she brought to our table then after a short wait my steak and my fiancees spaghetti arrived both good size portions and really tasty.It was a hot day and I never saw one fly as mentioned in other reviews.The only reason I gave a 4 rating instead of 5 is because it wasn't busy at the time and I know from experience things can change when it is.A really welcoming place with friendly staff Definately be back to try the rest of the menu.

3  Thank RedWhiteandBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After visiting the Plough Inn on several occasions we thought we would go back for another visit after having a change of management, bad choice!

We visited on Friday evening, shown to a table quickly as they were not too busy and given a menu. We sat in the conservatory area, which was extremely hot with no opening windows.

We enjoyed our meal as always both had fish and chips but the other half did not enjoy his well earned pint he claimed it had a 'funny taste and smell', and it was flat. As it was too hot to sit around vacated our table.

As we are not in the habit of complaining we decided just to pay and leave, as we were paying at the bar the other half over heard the lady behind the bar was explaining the glass-washer wasn't working and glasses were being washed by hand. What I saw was glasses being rinsed under the tap behind the bar not being washed!! Not Good. No wonder he didn't enjoy his pint!

Although we will go back as we both enjoy the food, we may be sticking to soft drinks or coffee the the next time!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We are pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your meals however we are dissapointed that you did not enjoy your drinks as we strive for perfection and on this occassion we fell short.
As mentioned in your review, we did unfortunately encounter problems with our glass wash machine which left us with no option to hand wash the glasses. We would just like to reassure you that all of the glasses that were handwashed by our staff were 100% clean- firstly being washed in very hot water with a manual glass wash liquid and then secondly rinsed in clean water to remove any remaining residue (soap suds etc). We assume that your partner witnessed a staff memeber rinsing the residue off the glass, however we can assure you that all glasses were cleaned thoroughly before hand.
We now have a new glass wash machine so our beverages should be back up to the high standards that we have set throughout the buisness.
We fully sympathise and apologise for your recent experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again where your experience will be much more positive.
Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Not enough superlatives to describe tonights meals. My fish & chips were fantastic. Light as a feather batter and HUGE beautiful fish. My partners gammon was enormous and accompanied by segments of grilled fresh pineapple NOT a ring from a tin. We will most definitely make a return visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had lunch at the Plough on Sunday and it was excellent. We ate quite late (4pm) but we were lucky enough to get served having not booked although this is recommended. The meats were tender and fat/grissle free.The veg was cooked to perfection as was the Yorkshire and tatties and for those who reviewed recently complaining of flies I can report that the bar seemed to be fly free. I feel I must point out to those who don't know the Plough that it is a country pub so in summer months there will be the odd fly around but I have seen plenty of people eat outside so it cant be that much of a problem. Further to this, the lack of flies on our recent visit may have had something to do with measures taken by the management???

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank thebeerisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Manager at The New Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Plough also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Burnopfield, Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 

Been to The New Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing