We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Night.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Night.......”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Was taken to Guys for a birthday treat on 8th January. Had the open plan jacuzzi room and was treated to champers and flowers! The bed was huge and so so comfy and the room was spotless....
Only complaint I can think of is that the yorkshire puddings could have possibly been aunt bessies !! and there wasn't enough gravy but the young lad that served us was most helpful and quick to remedy that, with a smile, even though they were extremely busy serving a coach party. HIghly recommend Guys for a treat.....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superstarnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    215
    97
    55
    72
See reviews for
140
318
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I stayed at guys court for one night in December 2011 with my girlfriend. The place is really nice; from the outside it looks very quirky and like an old fashioned village. The Italian restaurant is a must to eat there along with the pub is a must to go in for a drink as it has a nice cosy feel about it. The room itself was really nice and clean decorated to a high standard. The bathroom was exceptionally nice with a big jacuzzi and an open shower with nice tiling throughout the bathroom. There a decent size TV with all the free-view channels available. The bed is comfy and there is a good supply of tea and coffee available in the rooms. Now onto the negatives.. There seemed to be a problem with the jacuzzi as the water didn't seem to pump powerful at all. I believe the knob for turning the power of the jacuzzi up and down was stuck, which me and the Mrs weren't best pleased about. Another issue (which you may think is a little picky) was the dimmer light switch in the bathroom didn't work which was a bit of a dissapointment as you couldn't set the mood whilst in the bathroom which was a shame. Also there is no fridge in the rooms which i feel there should be a fridge to match the quality standard of the hotel. Apart from these issues our one night stay was enjoyable and nice and relaxing. I would recommend people staying here but only for a couple of nights maximum.

Room Tip: make sure the jacuzzi works properly if u get a room with a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric2690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I am an avid fan of trip advisers reviews. We have stayed at guy's lodge many times and would highly recomend it. It has a unique atmosphere in the pub attached and makes you feel at home. Food in pub excellent - almost had everything on menu cannot fault it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

we went there for a little break last weekend,the place is lovely and would be even better in the summer,,the room was big and lovely and warm,,we had a great meal in the bar and it was very reasonable,drinks are a little expensive but that never stopped us getting a little tipsy,,we would highly recomend this place for a night or two,,go and try for yourself you will not be dissapointed,,,10/10 from us,,just remember this isnt a 5 star hotel,,if you want or expect 5 star please go elswhere,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liam1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I made an un planned stop at Guys court and decided to stay the night i paid £59.95
for the room including breakfast,I shall keep it short, having walked to my room in the pouring rain i then find myself in a room that to say the least was basic this i did not expect from a four star aa rated motel,no hair dryer,no iron so i ask reception for a dryer you can get one from the reception i was told another trudge in the rain i was not willing to do,i then asked for an ironning board the very over worked receptionist said in a tone that would have cracked a glass (i suppose i will have to bring it over then wont i).not a good start to my stay
on closer inspection of the room a noticed dust on just about everything,a paint job that to say the least my three year old could have done a better job,worn out carpet infact the whole place needs a revamp.Now to breakfast i was shown to my table served with tea which i asked for and headed for the buffet i sight to behold eggs floating in fat, bacon that i could have soled my shoes with under cooked mushrooms a make your own toast machine to put your dried out baked beans on but the biggest shock came when i walked out of the restaurant to be told i have to pay for breakfast,now this came as a shock i thought i had paid for this the in the price of the room so i made the mistake of questioning the receptionist who told mr i could not go back to my room and get my clothing until i paid the £6.20 or so
and in no uncertain terms called me a lier breakfast is never included in the room price it is an optional extra all our in room information states this,when i looked i found one bit of information about breakfast at the back of the in room compendium on a leaflet which unless you had gone through all the information in it would never have found i then take this back to the reception on my departure and show a very rude this woman attitude you should read more came here reply,make your own minds up about this scruffy hotel i will never stay there again very over priced and not at all value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Webserveruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bilsborrow hotels

West Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed for a few nights in November in a Deluxe room overlooking the Cricket Ground with Champagne and Chocs included in two night deal received as a present.
Do upgrade to those rooms- quiet and to a good standars with open plan jacuzzi bathroom!
Do book for dinner if you are there on a saturday as it is busy- fillet steak was faultless.
Don't expect to dance the night away as the club is closed!
And if you are unlucky enough to have noisy, or in our case scary, neighbours- do complain! we were moved and they were removed!
All in all a good break!

Room Tip: Try the rooms overlooking the Cricket Pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephandMikeplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Owd Nells' along the canal side, it is a great place to sit and enjoy a beer after a long or short walk. The range of beers is admiral, Owd Nells smooth is worth a specific mention. Yesterday we decided to treat ourselves and have a bite to eat, although there was nothing wrong with the food it was over priced, fish and chips is 9.95, most main courses were around this price. Restaurant prices for below average pub fare, mine was luke warm when it arrived nothing inspirational and it felt mass produced.
All in all enjoy the beer and surroundings but avoid the food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hideh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilsborrow
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
1.4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
637 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
212 reviews
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
981 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy's Thatched Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy's Thatched Hamlet

Property: Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Address: Canalside St. Michaels Road | Near Garstang, Bilsborrow PR3 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bilsborrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy's Thatched Hamlet 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a canal-side hamlet of thatched roofed buildings and you're thinking Guy's Thatched Hamlet, just off the A6 at Bilsborrow near the market town of Garstang. You will find Guy's Eating Establishment and pizzeria nestling next to the atmospheric Owd Nell's Tavern, Guy's Lodge and School House Square. Guy's Restaurant & Pizzeria with its eyebrow window that is the largest in Europe always offers great hospitality with excellent local and international cuisine cooked in our kitchens and open pizzeria.Owd Nell's Tavern serves such traditional delights as home-made beef steak and kidney pudding, local game in season, chargrilled Aberdeen Angus Scottish steaks and fresh fish from Fleetwood. These are just a few meals from the extensive mouth-watering menu.Relax on our canalside patios were you can eat and drink whilst watching the canal barges and ducks, or on the tavern deck, our roof terrace drinking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Guy's Thatched Hamlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy`s Thatched Hamlet Hotel Bilsborrow
Guys Thatched Hamlet Preston
Guys Thatched Hamlet Hotel
Guy's Thatched Hamlet Bilsborrow, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing