We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Was Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food Was Terrible”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've not been to Guy's Hamlet since about 2003. Back then it was a quirky place and in summer somewhere nice to go for a pint and a walk down the canal. It is now extremely dated and run down (recent reviews confirm this is a pretty horrific place to stay). That said we were just looking for some lunch and to go for a walk. We both opted for a steak sandwich and chips which I was really looking forward to.

In my mind:

Tender strips of juicy steak, with plenty of caramelised onions, served up on a warm ciabatta bread with fresh rocket and a thin spread of mustard accompanied by some chunky home made chips mmmmmmm.

What we actually got:
A bit of shoe leather admittedly on ciabatta (but a very soggie part bake type). The salad was a little bit of raw onion, a couple of slices of tomato and lots and lots and lots of the cheapest iceberg lettuce. The chips where just bargain ones that were deep fired. I was underwhelmed to say the least.

At £10 each they should have been of a decent sandwich. This place managed to cut every possible corner and deliver something which whilst edible but had no flavour. I'm writing this review so that other hard working people who fancy going out for a nice lunch as a treat don't waste their money on this rubbish and get ripped off with such poor quality food.

My recommendation is to go a mile further down the road to Barton Grange which has both a lovely cafe for coffee/cake and lighter snacky lunches such as jackets and sandwiches as well as a really nice restaurant with a great seasonal menu. Yes perhaps a quid or two dearer but at least you get the quality you are paying for.

You've been warned.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    199
    95
    53
    66
See reviews for
124
306
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked in splashed out on a spa bath (no pun intended) and loved it - the first room was way down the back at an outcrop and nicer inside than it looked from the facade, unfortunately (or fortunately) as it turned out the wifi didnt reach so had to move so I could do some work ... moved to number 10 in the main block - much nice room, views of the canal, same fabulous massive spa bath (perfect for 2) and spacious.
Ordered from the main menu and got great trad eng pub fare for a reasonable price - the breakfast was a bargin at about £4 for a full english, continental and espresso ...
Staff were helpful and friendly.
Quirky and a bit ramshackle from the outside but don't let it fool you - well worth looking behind this .. warm clean and good value for money.

Room Tip: ask for one in the main block and go for a spa bath x especially if there are 2 of you - BYO bubble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roaminrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed over night after meeting friends for a meal.
They lay out and signs are a little confussing when you first arrive but you soon find your barings.
Rooms are large and clean. Beds were comfy and we both had a good nights sleep.
Could do with woodwork touching up here and there but for what we paid we where more than happy.

Would recommend the eaterie. There where 13 of us and the food was served quickly and everyone had a clean plate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanleyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just had 1 night at guys hamlet there were 3 couples we had rooms 38 39 and 40 the mattresses were so uncomfortable all 6 of us could hardly walk this morning when we met up which we thought quite amusing if not painful please please get some new mattresses.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I love this place, I love the rooms, the restaurants, the pub. The staff are great. I will want to go again. Being by the canal was a bonus. The perfect place to visit local attractions, we went to Lancaster castle, which until recently (3 years ago) was a prison! Near to Blackpool, Lytham, Southport etc

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank goink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here on Monday evening. we upgraded to the best room as we wanted a larger bathroom. Bathroom was great and worth £79. Bedroom was clean however a couple of niggly things I would change. Dehumidifier in room did make me worry ! also table tops very badly marked. And room very dark ! we dined in the Italian which was great. Staff all fantastic and for a short last minute night away Guys in great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived a little bit early but the lady on reception was lovely and was able to assign us a room before the normal check in time. Thank you :-)
The room was lovely and warm upon entry and the bed was very comfortable. It was also very clean and welcoming. We had a fantastic nights sleep. My only suggestion would be to put the TV on an arm so that it can be brought out towards the bed a little because the text is quite small when trying to read the TV guide.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilsborrow
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
1.4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy's Thatched Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy's Thatched Hamlet

Property: Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Address: Canalside St. Michaels Road | Near Garstang, Bilsborrow PR3 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bilsborrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy's Thatched Hamlet 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a canal-side hamlet of thatched roofed buildings and you're thinking Guy's Thatched Hamlet, just off the A6 at Bilsborrow near the market town of Garstang. You will find Guy's Eating Establishment and pizzeria nestling next to the atmospheric Owd Nell's Tavern, Guy's Lodge and School House Square. Guy's Restaurant & Pizzeria with its eyebrow window that is the largest in Europe always offers great hospitality with excellent local and international cuisine cooked in our kitchens and open pizzeria.Owd Nell's Tavern serves such traditional delights as home-made beef steak and kidney pudding, local game in season, chargrilled Aberdeen Angus Scottish steaks and fresh fish from Fleetwood. These are just a few meals from the extensive mouth-watering menu.Relax on our canalside patios were you can eat and drink whilst watching the canal barges and ducks, or on the tavern deck, our roof terrace drinking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Guy's Thatched Hamlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy`s Thatched Hamlet Hotel Bilsborrow
Guys Thatched Hamlet Preston
Guys Thatched Hamlet Hotel
Guy's Thatched Hamlet Bilsborrow, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing