We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveller rating
269
236
110
65
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
269
236
110
65
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathexecutive roomsunday saverlancaster canalowd nellscanal sidemain restaurantbirthday treatvisited guyswalk in showergreat nightguys restaurantthatched hamletbar areafood was lovelyevening mealcar park
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 774 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We as a family of 3 stayed here Sunday 31st May. Although we only live 30mins away we wanted a break and we couldn't have been more pleased. We arrived at 12.30 knowing we couldn't check in till 2.30 but also knowing that the food is fantastic in Owd Nells the canal side bar and part of the complex. We had a great lunch [really tasty prawns]. We checked into our room later and we were very pleased with all aspects. We pre booked into the restaurant and found the Italian Menu choice extensive and we were very pleased with our choices of main course. There was an all night entertainment performed by Italian Musicians which provided a great atmosphere. We slept well and our double bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was help yourself to whatever and as much as you want from an extensive choice of cereals,fruit yoghurts, toast, and a full choice of all the usual cooked breakfast items. My wife fancied scrambled egg which the waitress was more than willing to arrange. Only complaint is nothing to complain about. Mike Carole and Lee

Room Tip: We had a standard Shower en-suite family room which more than met our needs. You can upgrade if you want.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeCarol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

A recommendation from a friend & it didn't start well. On arrival there was an event going on in the field to the rear of the property. Hundreds of cars everywhere and no designated residents parking area. Having eventually found a parking space the check in was friendly, quick and efficient. The room was spacious, with a bed so big you could have caught a bus to get to the other side it was that wide. (and comfortable). Shower was superb, very powerful and invigorating. We booked a meal in the Italian Restaurant. Just as well because of the event on, the demand was great. The food though was excellent, with an extensive menu to choose from. Breakfast was served in the same restaurant and was also top notch. A help yourself buffet style with a range of fruit and cereals to start and full English or any of its component parts thereafter. All very well cooked and presented. A very nice stay, I would stay again.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the canal; it was quiet at night.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed over this weekend and just wanted to say it was very average. The bar staff were very good however the food was a real let down considering how the place looks it was very poor in the pub and Italian restaurant and is better at my local takeaway. Considering it was the Italian weekend it was overwhelmed by the bubble and bounce kids entertainment and nothing specially Italian was going on just a band playing all day which was very noisy and directly outside the accommodation till 11pm. I had really looked forward to this weekend after a day trip last year but this was really disappointing.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Street1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Took the kids to bubble and bounce over half term as a treat. It was overcrowded however well with a fiver and the boys loved it.

Afterwards we decided to give the italian a whirl for lunch. The food was good and the service was ok. We had to remind staff of drinks orders and a desert was forgotten however it was extremely busy. The restaurant itself could do with a bit of an upgrade and is looking a bit tired.
My gripe however was with the bill we had ordered off the lunch menu 2/3 courses for £7.95/£9.95 so you can imagine our surprise when the bill came for £84 for 2 adults and 2 children whom ordered from the children's menu. Obviously we queried it and fully understand mistakes are made. However, the lady who delt with our bill was rude and unapologetic. She practically threw it at us to check again In total our bill was £35 more than it should have been and needed to be amended twice. No apology, not even a smile and have a nice day. It was a shame as all the other staff were so nice. Her atitude really left a bad taste in our mouth!!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank gemmygemgem82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Just a note to say that we took Emily to Bubble and Bounce at Guys. We were in the first cohort at 11am and it seemed there was not limit on the amount of kids and parents being allowed in. In our opinion it was chaos and truly overcrowded.

Emily went on the biggest bouncy castle slide and we were immediately concerned that the numbers being allowed on the slide were far in excess of the safe working capacity (not a geek but the number is printed on all commercial bouncy castles which also includes the unique serial number and annual inspection date and certification).

5, 6, 7 kids of all sizes were literally throwing themselves off the top at the same time. Emily jumped to go down but the recoil from so many others threw her up, she came down face first and her legs came backwards over her head the sight made me and Sharon feel physically sick and it looked as if she could be seriously injured. She bounced out of control to the bottom and we ran to help. She was 'OK' but was crying, couldn't speak and petrified. She was to leave immediately. She has hardly spoken all day. Needless to say nothing was said by the ride supervisor and kids kept on doing what they where doing.

Just a word of caution ALL bouncy structures have a safe working capacity. Slides are designed to be used as slides and not bouncy castles on a steep incline - the superignorer should have been controlling this. It is legal requirement to adhere to this number and the event controller has a legal duty to ensure employees are trained and competent to supervise in accordance with this legal duty. In my mind either the supervisor was trained but acted incompetently or wasn't adequately trained and was not competent. Either way is could have almost certainly led to a RIDDOR.

On the way home an ambulance with lights and sirens was heading in the direction of Guys. I hope and pray it wasn't a child. Sorry if this sounds like a rant but there are laws designed to protect everyone from reckless abuse for price. Take care with your kids if you're visiting.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
9  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews