We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guys thatched love it love it love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy's Thatched Hamlet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Went here for one night last week with my fella recommended by a friend check was easy Champaign on ice ready for us as we arrived In are room Jacuzzi in are bathroom was lovely with lcd TV on the wall in the bathroom so could watch my soaps as we sat relaxing in the Jacuzzi room was overall perfect for a romantic night away Italian near reception was perfect lovely friendly staff we had a issue with are TV in are room when we first arrived but mentioned it to the front desk and they had the manager round within five mins he was so nice offering us a change off room and free breakfast next day which wasn't neccery as it was only the battery's that had gone in are remote would defo visit again soon I hope love it 100% thank you stayed in the duluxe room perfect in every way also dog friendly pub next to the canal what more could you want

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank evangeline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2015

I have stayed in all of the different types of room but definitely think it's work paying extra for the deluxe executive room with en suite bathroom, large spa bath and TV, bed was very comfy and room nice and clean, really enjoyed our dinner and evening meals in both owed nells tavern and the restaurant but been disappointed with the breakfast each time, buffet style served on a small dresser, not topped up regularly, nearly broke a tooth on the black pudding we now go to Barton grange for a lovely breakfast if we stay here

Room Tip: Worth getting the deluxe executive room but think there is only seven of them so best to book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank stacey27rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Went with our friends and our dog for drinks and food all I can say is fantastic food. We have been a few times for just drinks and it's always been lovely there is a great atmosphere and always seems to be busy. The food seems to be freshly prepared and didn't take that long to arrive either will be going back again very soon.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed on the Sunday saver for my daughters 30th birthday, fantastic value, we booked 3 rooms which were so spacious, clean and comfortable with lovely views of the canal side marina, we ate in the restaurant and the food, service and ambience were second to none, and very reasonably priced (especially with the £20 per room voucher off the bill) breakfast was included in the Sunday saver price also and that was delicious and great choice of hot or cold buffet, we all said we will visit again very soon. The Murray and Sheridan families Wigan

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank 070258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Did i miss the point here? Me, the hubby & two pre-teens took my fun-lovin' mum who came to nights out here years ago & loved it. Her face was a picture! we've roughed it plenty but this place was quite awful, the once quaint fake frontage of the alleys displayed weeds poking through facades, holes in the thatch, broken windows, rotting timbers & fading signage. It can't be due to shortage of money, as we strolled past the smoking shed, the heater was on full blast in the middle of a lovely sunny day. Once inside Owd Nell's we were stared at in bewilderment for asking about morning coffee & the possibility of a table while we drank it. Every table had 8-10 reserved signs on in case you missed the first 7. Coffees served-actually very good- 3 staff chatting behind the bar who could all have easily found cleaning or replenishing to do but instead carried on chatting while they all chipped in to serve me. 2 of our group played pool, 1 played the hoop game-lots of fun- the last 2 hovvered. The place was starting to fill up for Sunday lunches by the time we used the loos-ladies old fashioned cute & reasonably clean but apparantly the same can't be said for the gent's. What could have been a delightful stroll along the canal was ruined by thoughtless dog owners who don't clean up & as the path is narrow you need to step off it to let prams etc pass... at your peril. All i can say is the food must be good as people were flocking here as we left, all dressed up too like it was a special occasion...bizarre. The menu stated too many "Guys famous... what-evers" for my taste. Famous where exactly?

Room Tip: if you still want to go, book a table, loads of others do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lollybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

We visited last year and had to come back, the staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and tidy, the bed oh my gosh are so comfortable. What can I say about the food, Beautiful very tasty. And sticky toffee pudding is to die for.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank joannekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We as a family of 3 stayed here Sunday 31st May. Although we only live 30mins away we wanted a break and we couldn't have been more pleased. We arrived at 12.30 knowing we couldn't check in till 2.30 but also knowing that the food is fantastic in Owd Nells the canal side bar and part of the complex. We had a great lunch [really tasty prawns]. We checked into our room later and we were very pleased with all aspects. We pre booked into the restaurant and found the Italian Menu choice extensive and we were very pleased with our choices of main course. There was an all night entertainment performed by Italian Musicians which provided a great atmosphere. We slept well and our double bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was help yourself to whatever and as much as you want from an extensive choice of cereals,fruit yoghurts, toast, and a full choice of all the usual cooked breakfast items. My wife fancied scrambled egg which the waitress was more than willing to arrange. Only complaint is nothing to complain about. Mike Carole and Lee

Room Tip: We had a standard Shower en-suite family room which more than met our needs. You can upgrade if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeCarol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilsborrow
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
1.4 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
654 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
215 reviews
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
6.0 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy's Thatched Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy's Thatched Hamlet

Address: Canalside St. Michaels Road | Near Garstang, Bilsborrow PR3 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bilsborrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilsborrow
Price Range: £54 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy's Thatched Hamlet 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a canal-side hamlet of thatched roofed buildings and you're thinking Guy's Thatched Hamlet, just off the A6 at Bilsborrow near the market town of Garstang. You will find Guy's Eating Establishment and pizzeria nestling next to the atmospheric Owd Nell's Tavern, Guy's Lodge and School House Square. Guy's Restaurant & Pizzeria with its eyebrow window that is the largest in Europe always offers great hospitality with excellent local and international cuisine cooked in our kitchens and open pizzeria.Owd Nell's Tavern serves such traditional delights as home-made beef steak and kidney pudding, local game in season, chargrilled Aberdeen Angus Scottish steaks and fresh fish from Fleetwood. These are just a few meals from the extensive mouth-watering menu.Relax on our canalside patios were you can eat and drink whilst watching the canal barges and ducks, or on the tavern deck, our roof terrace drinking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Guy's Thatched Hamlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy`s Thatched Hamlet Hotel Bilsborrow
Guys Thatched Hamlet Preston
Guys Thatched Hamlet Hotel
Guy's Thatched Hamlet Bilsborrow, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing