We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wiremill Lakeside Pub & Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wiremill Lakeside Pub & Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Lingfield B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great views and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This 1561 mill has all the history of the past and is set on a tranquil lake where the wildlife is only disturbed by the water skiers. Nothing can beat sitting out on the terrace on a Sunday afternoon and partaking in a lovely roast whilst watching the water skiers provide the entertainment. Well worth a visit/stay over.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agachi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    50
    19
    19
    11
See reviews for
13
99
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for just one night and it was fine. My husband is 6ft 2" so some of the low beams were a challenge but overall very cosy and staff lovely. We were quite late in arriving so didn't fancy a full dinner but cheese and biscuits were good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Overall the experience we had here was excellent. The food was probably some of the nicest food we had eaten in a long time, the service was fantastic and really couldn't fault our stay in any way. Would definitely recommend this as somewhere to go and just eat or stay over as the room was spacious and clean.

Honestly cannot recommend the food and service enough........ FANTASTIC!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rai31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rustington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Have stayed a few times now and every time the food & service has been excellent the character of the place and the view at the back across the lake is wonderful. The menu is vast with great cooking and never had to complain yet The rooms are not the biggest but well done out and very comfortable just mind your head on the low beams I didnt lol The staff are really good and helpful. The breakfast is really good with a great choice from full english to smoked salmon and scrabbled egg on toast

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marktiger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We booked into the Wiremill for a weekend stay and had the Aluminaja room. A wide angle lens has made the most of the space available and we did find the room a bit cramped, though it was comfortable enough once the heating had been sorted out for us.

Food in the restaurant was good and plentiful - and we found the service friendly and attentive. In fact, we found all the staff helpful and genuinely interested in making our stay comfortable. Some people might find the relaxed atmosphere a bit too familiar, but I don't have a problem with that. Breakfast was good on both days and the kitchen is clearly well run.

Which takes me back to the room, which sits immediately under the pantry, so early morning snoozing is difficult as you get quite a lot of noise through the ceiling.

The location is good if you want to be a bit off the beaten track - but watch out for the speed humps on the road to the mill if you arrive after dark - hitting them at anything more than a walking pace will have your fillings rattling.

I liked the wet room shower thingy, but after both of us had been in there (one at a time, please, missus...) it was a bit like Mumbai in the monsoon and took a while to dry out.

One small gripe - to fill and operate the (tiny) kettle we had to move the cabinet to get to the plug, and move it back again to give us a bit of space to move - this could perhaps be rejigged to make it more user friendly and a bit safer. Oh, and my technophile girlfriend found the Wifi a bit hit and miss.

A bit of a mixed bag, then, for me - I would stay there again, but maybe try a different room away from the kitchen.

Room Tip: Rooms under the kitchen in the new extension may be noisy first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i_am_not_frightened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Its our 4th stay at the Wiremill sleep boutique and must say it is carrying on its excellent standards.
Having stayed in the Bron and Tunstun (x2) before, this time we stayed in the Alumiaja room which was very nice indeed, Egyptian cotton sheets on the king-sized bed very comfy, Lovely shower-room too.
The staff are very efficient & friendly, nothing was a problem or too much trouble.
We had a fantastic evening meal, food was excellent and very well presented as was the breakfast in the morning.
One of our favourite places to escape when wanting to get away for a romantic night after a hard working week.
Highly recommend The Wiremill Boutique, great value, and will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed for one night at the Wiremill, fantastic stay.
Only comments:
Our room was under the kitchen so some noise pollution!
The room reflected the photo on the web site, flower power shower great, but did tend to flood the bathroom and no extra drainage for any excess water.
Staff very friendly and accomodating.
Food yummy and all reasonably priced.
We will definately return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lingfield
2.0 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.5 mi away
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
3.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
3.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wiremill Lakeside Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wiremill Lakeside Pub & Inn

Property: The Wiremill Lakeside Pub & Inn
Address: Wiremill Lane | East Grinstead, Lingfield RH7 6HJ, England (Formerly The Wiremill Sleep Boutique)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Lingfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lingfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You don’t need to get on a flight to get away from the Big Smoke. We’re less than an hour’s journey from London Victoria. Haven. Oasis. Retreat. Sanctuary. Hideaway. Pick a word - they’re all fit to describe The Wiremill, our lakeside pub. A home away from home, it’s the people who make this place. Of course, the delicious cooking & incredible views don’t hurt. Our boutique hotel is located underneath the pub. We have six cosy rooms where you can relax and cuddle up in a fluffy bed. Go for a wander around the lake, have a romantic dinner upstairs with your loved one or just sleep all day long... Check in is at 3pm but we can arrange for an earlier time if we are told in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Wiremill Lakeside Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Boutique@The Wiremill Hotel Surrey
The Wiremill Lakeside Pub & Inn Lingfield, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing