We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an eye-opener!”
Review of Hare and Hounds - CLOSED

Hare and Hounds
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Southborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quite an eye-opener!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The outside of this hostelry has a distinctly shabby look to it, and we did wonder if it was a good choice when we first arrived.

However, the chef deserves one, if not more, Michelin stars if he/she hasn't any already! By the time the rest of our party arrived it was actually past their serving time of 2.30, but they took our orders without complaint and the food was WONDERFUL. Beautifully cooked and imaginatively presented, I would not hesitate to eat here again. In spite of my permanent diet, I couldn't resist the dessert, and mine was a "Faberge egg" of meringue with a gorgeous, creamy filling and a cherry sauce around it - scrumptious!

The downside was that the loos were VERY shabby (although clean) and these, together with the entrance door, would be very much improved by a quick make-over. I also think maybe it should be made clearer which is actually the entrance, as there are confusingly two possible doors, but one is blocked by a chair.

Do go and give this pub/restaurant a try; you will not regret it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniebelle_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    16
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christening Lunch”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

On Sunday we celebrated our daughters christening with a large group of friends, family and their children at the Hare and Hounds. The food was delicious and the wide range of homemade quiche, sandwiches and cakes meant everyone enjoyed the food. The staff were brilliant. They were helpful and friendly, working seamlessly to ensure everyone had the food and drinks they needed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AS201411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“never judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

May not have stopped here as looks run down on the outside.
unusual well presented food fantastic friendly staff. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley
Level Contributor
187 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

A very hood meal different menu but the food very good service excellant house wine great value will revisit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nigelbrignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

A real find for the foodies! Chef and Owner Eric creates an extraordinary menu alongside some classic favourites. Good wine list and plenty of parking, along with a beautiful garden for the summer months. Five stars.

Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Lingfield, Surrey
Lingfield, Surrey
 
Lingfield, Surrey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing