We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for wildlife lovers.....”

British Wildlife Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Lingfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect for wildlife lovers.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you like British wildlife, this is a place for you. However, one must bear in mind that being wildlife, they may well be asleep when you visit but if you follow the keeper talks you will notice how they manage to 'wake up' at the prospect of food! To fully enjoy it is probably worth visiting at least twice to cover everything and hear all the talks with the 'star' turn being the wonderfully friendly Red Squirrels. A visit is worth it just to engage with them especially when the keeper gives his short talk as they love mixing with the visitors and they are a photographers dream. Not cheap but the money is going to a good cause.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    83
    20
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Preston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice day out with my partner and mother”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My mum being disabled and a wildlife lover this looked like the perfect place to take her for a day out. We did have a lovely day and spotted lots of wildlife, but as my girlfriend observed it is hard to push a wheelchair over broken concrete. The wetland boardwalk was under repair and had missing broken planks which we had to lift the wheelchair over. Maybe this should have been closed while it was repaired? All in all a good day and all the key facilities I.e. Toilets were clean and nicely decorated. It's just those few little bits that let the centre down (hence 4 stars!)

Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great to See Nature Up Close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Our family (including 2 boys aged 7 and 3) visited on Saturday 3 May. We arrived at 11.30 and stayed until 3. Parking was plentiful and easy, just a 30 second walk to the entrance.
Fee to get in was £35 for a family ticket which is very expensive and we were surprised to see that annual membership for the family is £130!! (Compare that to annual membership for Historic Royal Palaces (£88) and English Heritage (£86) and you have to question its value for money.) However, as it supports the conservation of animals we were happy to pay as a one off.
The setting is beautiful and peaceful (bar the occasional plane from Gatwick!) and the environments built for the animals are well thought out, if a bit on the small side. The signs and notices about the animals are really informative and interesting and we learned a lot.
We saw: foxes, badgers, red squirrels, wild cats, hedgehogs, deer, snakes, various members of the weasel family, dormice, honey bees, owls, otters and more. It was brilliant to see these beautiful creatures close up and they all seemed very happy, healthy and content.
The well-informed staff give talks every 30 minutes which are really interesting and provide added value to the visit. We were sorry to leave before the owl presentation at 4 but our boys were exhausted!
There is a little cafe on site serving sandwiches, soup and jacket potatoes but it was a little on the expensive side so we were glad we had taken a picnic which we ate at one of the picnic tables.
A lovely place to visit on a sunny day; only not 5 stars because of the high entrance fee which puts it out of the price range of many families. We only decided to go (having looked up the price on their website) because our son had missed visiting with his school because he had chicken pox and we didn't want him to miss out.
Still, fantastic to see the hard work being done to help our beautiful wildlife.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited The British Wildlife Center in February with my family. Even though it was a cold and wet day it did not take from the enjoyment. The animals of course are awesome and so cute but the keepers are excellent and well informed. We saw lots of different animals from Wildcats, to pine martins even a indoor fox ( who was brill). The highlight was the owl display at the end of the day.
An excellent day out for everyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HMOR97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fab day out with the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were looking for somewhere to go over the Easter bank holiday. Their website description ticked all the right boxes and we were so pleased we made the effort to go. The talks by the keepers were interesting and informative and they got the balance right to keep a 6 year old a 13 year old and 2 adults entertained. The owl display was brilliant and the kids loved watching the parrots too. We loved the overhead animal runs and because I took my camera along we had great fun taking some up close shots of the animals too. A great day out which I would highly recommend. Staff were really friendly too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Wildlife Centre also viewed

 
Leatherhead, Surrey
 

Been to British Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing