We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs Mac”
Review of Tarana Lingfield

Tarana Lingfield
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Lingfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Had another lovely meal at the tarana on Friday evening food,
drink & service first class as uaual.
Will be returning very soon.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank K550UBsusanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARANALINGFIELD, Guest Relations Manager at Tarana Lingfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Thank you for your kind comments. Much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2016

To celebrate our 52nd wedding anniversary, we decided to return to Tarana in Lingfield to sample more of their scrumptious fayre!

We last visited there well over a year ago when returning home from a firework display at Lingfield Park Racecourse. The setting and standard of food then was excellent. Nothing has changed in that time. In fact our guests with us thought it had actually improved even more.

The surroundings within are simply stunning. When sitting in the restaurant, you could be in London or any other big city. The fittings , layout and design are simply exquisite.

We booked a table beforehand and as we approached the main entrance, there was someone there opening the door and giving us a warm welcome.

With all its subtle lighting and good use of mirrors and glass it
gives the interior a feeling of spaciousness.We had the choice of where we wanted to sit.

There was ample staff about and very quickly and seamlessly we had ordered pre dinner drinks.

Choosing from the menu caused a slight problem, because there were so many wonderful dishes to chose from!

We opted for a mixed starter and a vegetarian starter called Phak Tord. Both were excellent choices!

We then chose a selection of meat dishes for our main course together with two different types of rice( Khao Suay and Khao Gratis).Most delicate flavours. The size of the dishes as such that everyone had more than enough to satisfy their appetite. The plates used for the main meal were hot!

On this occasion we chose a red wine produced in Cambodia/Thailand (can't remember which now!) called Monsoon Red. It was very light, smooth and complimented the meal. We enjoyed it so much we went back for a couple of individual glasses to finish up the meal!

The place itself is spotless as were the toilets. The staff were very attentive and extremely friendly and appeared like magic whenever we needed something.

Value for money? Certainly.

It was good to see that the standards were still extremely high and we will be back for another visit.

.

Thank Cotehele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARANALINGFIELD, Manager at Tarana Lingfield, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

Dear customer,
On behalf of Tarana Lingfield management and team I would like to thank you for your feedback. Our chef and other staff members are very delighted. Your feedback will inspire us and definitely will help us to improve our services and quality. We really appreciate it and eagerly waiting to serve you again.
Kind Regards
Tarana Lingfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We visited Tarana Lingfield (friends recommended) last week and received very warm welcome. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Nice décor and lovely romantic atmosphere. We seated in a booth which was more romantic than other table. Overall services was great. My girlfriend specially likes the magic trick and after meal fruits orange. We heard they provide grapes as well but we got only orange. Definitely will visit again and many thanks for your services and special look after.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARANALINGFIELD, Manager at Tarana Lingfield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear customer,
On behalf of Tarana Lingfield management and team I would like to thank you for your feedback. Your feedback will inspire us and definitely will help to improve our service and quality. We really appreciate it and eagerly waiting to serve you again.
Kind Regards
Shamim
On Behalf of Tarana Lingfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We are very regular patrons of Tarana Lingfield and it's a shame to see its losing its way a bit. I agree with the reviewer about the staff seeming disinterested (not all but some) while others watch you eat so they can whip your dishes away asap! Despite spending a lot of money in this place, there doesn't seem to be much loyalty shown to regular patrons and we tend to use this place only for a drink now whilst eating at the sister restaurant next door. I should mention that on the whole the food is still superb but the service and 'experience' is not what it once was.

Thank Objobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARANALINGFIELD, Manager at Tarana Lingfield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear customer,
On behalf of Tarana Lingfield management and team I would like to thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that we could not meet the standard normally you expect from us. We promise we will recover our position and looking forward to see you in our restaurant soon. Your feedback will inspire us and definitely will help to improve our service and quality. We really appreciate it and eagerly waiting to serve you again.
Kind Regards
Tarana Lingfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

it's worth to be in Tarana for meal. I have been in Tarana last week with my family and we all enjoyed our time. Staff attitude restaurants look everything superb.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Masud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARANALINGFIELD, Manager at Tarana Lingfield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016


Dear customer,
On behalf of Tarana Lingfield management and team I would like to thank you for your feedback. Your feedback will inspire us and definitely will help to improve our service and quality. We really appreciate it and eagerly waiting to serve you again.
Kind Regards
Tarana Lingfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tarana Lingfield also viewed

 
Turners Hill, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Tarana Lingfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing