We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the outside street view”
Review of Lingfield Tandoori

Lingfield Tandoori
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Lingfield
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Let down by the outside street view”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This used to be a cute little Indian, in a cute little village. The food is pretty good, I don't think you'll be disappointed there. The outside appearance is shocking though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pmarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    17
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything you need from a Tandoori”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Always excellent service, a great team at the restaurant, and the food is consistently perfect. A genuine local Tandoori with great quality. Thanks all. Philip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank I15minutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesley, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

the poorer looking indian restaurant in lingfield but excellent service, very helpful and friendly. not as professional looking as the other restaurant but these guys went out of their way to help the illiterate indian food eaters

everything was fresh, tasty and hot

free liquers for all!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank drillerkc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Cuisine in a little town”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Service was outstanding. Special requests were efficiently handled. Food was very tasty, with many choices. Highly recommended

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BenskiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not the nearest, but definitely the best”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I've been going to the Lingfield Tandoori for years - I've been on my own, with friends, family, and even had birthday meals there with parties in excess of 15 - the service is always good, the food excellent, and the price competitive.

Most weeks, if I'm not dining in I will phone through an order to takeaway - they even know my name when I call these days! There is another indian restaurant at the top of my road, but usually prefer to make the 10 minute drive to Lingfield as the value for money is better.

The only thing that prevents me giving a 5/5 rating is that, despite my many visits over the years (and I dread to think how many thousands of pounds spent!), they don't do enough to reward loyal customers. I am usually (but not always) offered a complimentary drink at the end of the meal when eating in. They also don't offer coffee refills (though in fairness, the cups used are bigger than in other restaurants). When picking up takeaways, they don't even throw in a free poppadom or two.

Given the competition locally (there are 2 other indian/thai restaurants in Lingfield alone) this kind of small gesture could make a world of difference.

I do however like the fact they provide proper hand towels at the end of the meal (not the disposable wipes) as well as chilled orange segments which are very refreshing, and a mint with the coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TakeawayBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lingfield Tandoori also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Lingfield Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing