We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Staff at a beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raja Ampat Dive Lodge
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I was the other guest with Myrna B at the Dive Lodge and can back up her experience . Her recount is completely accurate. It is such a shame that when left to themselves, without any management at all at the resort, the dive staff took it upon themselves to sexually harrass us. We were the only guests there and felt uncomfortable the whole time. The staff used all the resort facilities, sleeping and lounging around. The television next to the office was blaring every night with their programs while staff surfed the internet and generally enjoyed a vacation themselves at our expense. WE tried to ignore the sleezy come ons by the dive staff, then we asked them to stop, that we were not interested but that just seemed to egg them on. Non stop they continued even when we were at dinner. Constantly telling us they wanted sex with us for fun! Touching and grabbing us, it was disgusting. No management to complain to and stuck on the island for a week. We asked several times for the name and contact info for management and were told they were in Bali. This beautiful place was ruined for us by the staff. We had travelled from Mexico for 3 days to come and dive here , a very expensive trip, to be treated this way was just unbelievable! How unfortunate in this beautiful place, some of the best diving in the world, this was how guests were treated. The facilities are very nice and when management is onsite these problems are probably not an issue but I CANNOT in good faith recommend this resort, especially to women travelling alone. We are very experienced divers from the Mexican Caribbean and are involved with the tourist industry and have never experienced anythng like this before. When we complained to our travel agency, they were very good at informimg the management for us and we did receive a visit and a fruit basket from the Dive Lodge on our last day in Bali before returning to Mexico. So a $3000 US week of harrassment for beautiful diving. Now I need a vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

we are 2 female divers who went for one week to this remote dive lodge to dive twice a day and relax. there was no manager or any other guests. the resort was left to the staff to run. the dive guides were local and spoke bad English. they were not capable of giving good briefings for the dives. they did not have enough dive equipment or sizes for wetsuits. they only had 5 mm wetsuits in 30 degree water! the staff used the installations so we did not feel free to use the beach chairs or tables. the two dive guides were always with us even when we dined. they would insinuate sexual things all the time and would always be touching us. they were very persisitent until the last day. we could not get off the island as only once a week they went to main land. we put in our complaints direct with the owner, WHO ONLY APOLOGIZED, DID NOT FIRE THE LOCAL GUIDES, AND WISHED WE WOULD RETURN! HAHAHA. I hope our travel agent, SAFARI TOURS, MANADO, does not send anymore people there. if anyone wants more details on what happened, there is a long list of sexual insinuations left with the travel agent and the lodge. we felt they behaved unprofessionally and inappropriate. the diving was SUPERB! VERY UNFORTUNATE THAT PARADISE CAN BE RUINED BY ITS OWN PEOPLE! And they never picked up trash wherever we went. we did it for them. I strongly recommend to do liveabords in this area of the world, as opposed to dive resorts. you see alot more and liveaboards are very professionally run. we did one in the Komodo area of Indonesia and it was outstanding!

Room Tip: liveaboards are the best option for dive travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank myrna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Raja Ampat Dive Lodge on Mansuar Island in Raja Ampat very much. We got to know the Indonesian staff personally as it was low season and only 6 guests were there. The diving/snorkeling staff was so helpful with taking us out snorkeling and pointing out the fish and corals that make this area famous. Our room was large, air-conditioned, and equipped with comfortable beds, mosquito nets and a wonderful bathroom great for rinsing off the saltwater. We had a cabana that looked out to the oceanfront. And the food! We are vegetarians and each day the chef made us wonderful dishes with tofu and pasta all served with local veggies and fruits. Absolutely delicious.
Going in August meant a little more rain but also low tourist season. During our visit we were two of 6 people here. Had it all to ourselves including the very helpful staff.
We snorkeled over very healthy corals and on every day had the choice to go to neighboring Kri Island sites of with countless fish to snorkel and picnic. Once our snorkel trip included a stop at a local village whose reef we were exploring. It was a friendly and interesting encounter. The entire visit exceeded our expectations and we heartily recommend Raja Ampat Dive Lodge.

Room Tip: two beds no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveling_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Located on Mansuar island, on the south side of Dampier strait (the center of dive spots of Raja Ampat). Many excellent dive spots within 15 min. boat trip, highlights Manta Sandy, Cross Over, Blue Magic (must try, you will know why its called magic when you dive there) and Mike's Point. I didnt get to try Sardine Reef. Our guides were Jemmy and Rico, well-experienced and v friendly, highly recommended and two thumbs up. They go beyond their duties to make sure we enjoyed our trips.

Resort itself is right on the beach with a long jetty (excellent pic spot for sunsets). Facilities are complete, you have A/C and ceiling fans in the rooms, multiple sockets for charging devices and hot shower. My only complaint is about the mattress and pillows, it would be nice if they provide higher quality , more comfy ones.

Service is excellent, everyone is so friendly and helpful...food is delicious and plentiful, they even go out of their way to prepare separate dishes if required.

My family is looking forward to go there again on our next vacation.

Room Tip: Choose for cottages numbered 5 and above i.e. 501, 502, 601, 602 .... 101, 102. It is further away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barryjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Raja Ampat Dive Lodge is very nice, located in the middle of center diving Raja Ampat, we greeted with Fresh welcome drink and flower on our ear. the long jetty (the bridge) to the resort is very impressive, it's also surounded by the forest. the staff are friendly and really helpful. when i was stayed here, i couldn't reach by mobile network, so we had to go to jetty to got a mobile network. the menu on breakfast are fresh and delicious. at night, under the jetty we could see squids. very romantic at night or when the sun go down at jetty. at that time, i saw the sun went down and rising moon at once, the sky very very beautiful the reddish sky. the rooms also nice, the resort are designed for diver. the sorounding in the morning is peaceful and relaxed, the sounds of birds really wonderfull to hear. we could go to the closeest village through the forest full with coconut trees on foot around 30 minutes. it's really unforgetable place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Syennig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Nice hotel in the middle of the jungle.The surroundings is fantastic like paradise.The rooms are good and new,also the food is very good.
The staff is very helpful and gentle.The dives are very good but there
are very few sharks and we find one day in Gam island some fisher mans
with 3 killed sharks and many shark fins.Last but important is the thing
that the dives are only with air-no nitrox.
In total is a place that you want to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mat-Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have just come back from a week in Raja Ampat Dive Lodge. We had a great time here.

The rooms are nice with air conditioning and fans. There are plenty of power sockets for charging electrical devices. There are hot water showers with ok pressure. The rooms all have balconies overlloking the ocean. The food was all tasty. It is served either in buffet style or in individual courses, depending on the number of guests. All the staff were very friendly. There is free wifi in the restaurant. Some people had a mobile signal but not my phone so I guess it depends on your network. There is no TV or any entertainment apart from diving so bring something to keep yourself entertained when you aren't diving, eating or sleeping.

The dive guides are all very professional and looked after us really well. I was struggling a bit at times with the very strong current but they made sure I was comfortable and waited for me when I struggled to keep up with the rest of the group. They are all incredibly good at finding the tiniest critters underwater. We saw pygmy seahorses of various types on almost every dive (plus a variety of nudibranchs, crabs and shrimps). I was really blown away by the fish life. There were large schools of jacks, barracudas, sweetlips and many others plus thousands of different colourful reef fish. We also had some great manta dives where they came really close. The mantas were about 5 metres across and were totally unafraid of the divers. We also saw some turtles and reef sharks. Our favourite dive sites were Cape Kri and Blue Magic (we chose to return to both these dive sites). They sent our group of 5 divers out with 2 or 3 dive guides which was great as it meant we could split up a bit. They also tried to avoid the liveaboards so on most dives we were the only ones in the water which was nice. The boat crew were really helpful with getting the divers kitted up and lifting gear out of the water at the end of a dive. I really enjoyed the diving here (even though I'm not usually a fan of strong currents). The night dives usually take place off the resort jetty and are really good. We saw toadfish, blue ringed octopus, an assortment of crabs, shrimps, pipefish, scorpionfish, lionsfish plus mandarinfish.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WildlifeFan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansuar Island
590.5 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#2 of 6 in Raja Ampat
67 reviews
596.4 mi away
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
#11 of 51 in Raja Ampat
108 reviews
592.5 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#14 of 51 in Raja Ampat
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
593.3 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#10 of 51 in Raja Ampat
44 reviews
591.2 mi away
Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat
0.0 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
#6 of 6 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Ampat Dive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Ampat Dive Lodge

Address: Mansuar Island, Mansuar Island, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Papua > Mansuar Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mansuar Island
Price Range: £198 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raja Ampat Dive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raja Ampat Dive Lodge Indonesia/Mansuar Island, Papua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing