We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a great stay at Wildman in June 2014 for 4 nights. We stayed in one of the tents and loved it. They were well appointed, clean and the showers had lots of hot water as the mornings when we were there were quite cool. A special mention to Peta, Sarah, Alice and Tiffany for making our stay so much more enjoyable with meal time conversations. To Deb and Richard who took us on the Mary River Cruise and the Kakadu Day Tour your knowledge of the area made for very interesting tours. Meals at the lodge were delicious. Hats off to the chef and the kitchen staff for delivering great breakfasts and dinners. We had a very enjoyable stay, thanks to you all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthology-Team, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi robyn1954,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the team and I are very happy to hear your comments. Our goal is to provide great service and it is good to know when team members have made a great impact.

Thanks for your kind review and for coming to stay at Wildman Wilderness Lodge

Kind regards,

Mel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    76
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
70
160
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I did enjoy my stay at Wildman Wilderness Lodge but it would have been a lot more satisfactory if not for the double standards and communication breakdown.

Receptionists throughout the entire trip were just bad. I actually wrote them out in details but there were other departments and staff that salvaged the situation.

Melissa the GM was great. She offered an alternative to swap the fishing tour with the AIRBOAT. We had to give up on the fishing tour because it was only suitable for 3 pax at a time and we're a family of 4. This should have been reflected at the website or conveyed to us upon booking. However, the airboat was a great alternative, by far the best experience we had.

We started the next morning with the Mary River Cruise with Leroy, one of the most humorous and friendliest guy we've met at that place. (Our favourite so far.) Great tour of the Mary River followed by joining us on the airboat. Scott was operating the boat and we had a eye-opening tour of the Billabong. I would say it's a nat-geo worthy trip. Crocodiles, birds and other wildlife in close proximity.

We also took a short walk along the Billabong in the evening and were rewarded with parrots and wallabies. Nice sunset to end the day as well.

The food on all days were great. Breakfast had a nice spread but check-out were dreadful. We were settling the payment and AGAIN the receptionist were not well-informed on the arrangements. Her tone was terrible and did not offer any form of apology even after clarifying (4-5hours later).

Overall, the stay was great. We enjoyed the beautiful view and sunset. Occasional wallabies jumping past our habitat and birds flying around.

I would also like to commend on the following people who have made our trip fantastic. Mainly: Leroy, Scott, Melissa, Tiffany and Sarah. You guys were the reason I had to put Very Good. Find the right people, they can make or break the trip. :)

Room Tip: Find the right people. They can make or break the trip. If you're staying during this period, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthology-Team, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Wa15,
We are so glad that we could make your experience a positive one. Combining a fantastic nature location with nice accommodation and great service is what Wildman Wilderness Lodge is all about.
I will pass on your comments to our team who will be very happy to hear your feedback.

Thanks,

Mel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Brilliant place before Kakadu. You'll have a special experience here. The meals were wonderful and take some time to just enjoy the pool too. You must do the hovercraft experience - it was such a wonderful excursion into places you can't imagine exist.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthology-Team, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi RM47,
Thanks for your great response. We are definitely in an amazing location here in the Mary River, and the Airboats are a perfect way to get right into the middle of the wetlands and experience their true beauty.

Kind regards,

Mel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,255 reviews
387 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,869 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Not sure what happened to MPolo61 below but he obviously got off to a bad start. We had a wonderful time for a quick stopover. Had a tent , not a cabin but loved the feel of it. Very spacious and comfortable - only real problem was the lack of lighting but soon got used to it.
We had the same welcome of tea plus waiver etc. but we weren't doing tours so that wasn't an issue.
Loved the pool and was sitting / swimming when I saw the most amazing sunset I have enjoyed in years - a beautiful huge red sunset - absolutely wonderful.
A highlight was the effervescence and friendliness of the staff - they were so positive and helpful - they have been trained incredibly well.
We didn't pay the same rates as mentioned below so obviously it is worth planning and booking ahead direct as there are specials available.
I just thoroughly loved chilling out here but if you came for any birding experience, you wouldn't find it on site, need to travel some distance to say Fogg Dam to have a better bird experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthology-Team, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi RonWamberal,
Thanks for your generous review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your experience. The sunsets in the region are some of the best in the world because of the layout of the land and the view. We are very luck to experience this often.
I will pass on your comments to the staff and they will be very happy to hear your comments.

Thanks again,

Mel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We thought that this would be a luxury resort - after all, it was $745 a night (dinners & breakfasts and one tour included). I have to say, I've stayed where it was 5 times as luxurious and only twice the price.

Good point 1. - we were sat down in the bar and given iced tea while we received a brief on the 'resort'. Pity the iced tea was too syrupy-sweet to drink.

Bad point 1: We were required to sign an incredibly strong waiver - saying that we would never sue the resort for any reason whatsoever. I've seen waivers before, but not as bad as this. No signature on waiver, no tours. As travel to the resort is time consuming, it is incredibly rude to not inform guests when they book that this is a mandatory requirement. We only signed because we couldn't be bothered driving back to Darwin.

Bad point 2: We asked whether we could get a packed lunch if we were going away for a day. The hostess was very doubtful, and eventually said that this could probably be arranged. We later found the offer of picnic lunches in the room brochure - clearly the hostess was not taught much about where she worked if she hadn't even read the guest brochures!

Bad point 3: We were then nicely shown to our room and left there. The room was about 100m from reception. AT NO TIME (ARRIVAL OR DEPARTURE) DID ANYONE OFFER TO HELP WITH THE LUGGAGE. Clearly NOT a luxury resort.

Good point 2. The room looked nice - glass windows fronting onto an airstrip with bush beyond - lots of termite mounds, and a number of wallabies seen during the stay. Also glass window giving view from toilet through shower to airstrip.

Bad Point 4. The deal breaker. NO DOOR TO THE BATHROOM - toilet is simply hidden around the corner. Trust me it is NOT romantic to hear your partner moving their bowels 3 metres away. 100m walk to the reception building to use the loos there, or one partner leaves the room for a while. Who would even think of this design??

Bad point 5. Poor cleanliness. Dead insects in the saucer under the upturned cup. Dead insects around the poorly wiped wash basin. Amazing numbers of dead insects falling out of the throw rug on the bed. I can understand having an insect invasion (lights left on at night, etc.) and having to kill them all with spray. What I can't understand is not cleaning them up before the guests arrive.

Bad point 6. No privacy. We were told that guests were requested to not walk along the front of the rooms, to preserve each-other's privacy. Clearly they didn't listen. Guests and a resort staff member walked along the air-strip road - openly looking into each room as they passed. If Wildman really wanted to protect our privacy, perhaps they could have started with their own staff, and also added reminders for the guests (i.e. no 'guest access past this point' signs. The upshot was that lazing on the bed was uncomfortable - and the bathroom blind remained down throughout the stay.

Good point 3. Nice pool - very pleasant to laze around - although it would have been nice to see no running and no jumping signs ...

Bad point 7. Pool was fairly small and only three pairs of lazing chairs (2 deckchairs & 4 sunbeds available). Just as well that most people (apart from the family of running & splashing kids) were off for the day.

Good point 4. Lunch and dinners were VERY good. Serving size appeared small but was actually perfect - sated but not over full.
Bad point 8. No choices for dinner. Three specified courses - with no alternatives offered. Maybe this is justified with only a few guests - but they were full and could easily have managed to offer choices as a restaurant would. What they offered suited out taste - but it did seem very presumptuous.

Bad point 9. Staff training is poor. One waitress acted like our best friend. One sounded like a kindergarten teacher coaxing her class. One was fine.


In summary, the senior staff at Wildman clearly don't understand what a luxury resort is. Has it changed hands since it was built? What they must do is either cut their prices to reflect the lack of a luxury feel ($400 a night - way overpriced for what they are, but maybe justified by their remote location - including breakfast) or learn what a luxury resort is actually like.

My recommendation - all management staff at Wildman rotate through stays of three nights at Saffire Frecynet (Tasmania) and then THINK about how to treat their guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MPolo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthology-Team, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi MPolo61,
You have addressed some concerns that have been taken very seriously and we have actively attempted to address all of them. Without going into individual detail about each point, some of the actions that we have taken have been; sourcing options for doors to the bathrooms, we have purchased additional pool furniture, and picnic lunches are being introduced.

While we are a higher end lodge, we do not classify ourselves as luxury (like Saffire Frecynet), and are far from the same price range from such a luxurious resort. With Wildman Wilderness Lodge it is the combination of an amazing nature location, good service and nice accommodation that makes the experience unique.

We apologise the other issues that you had during your stay and hopefully with some of the measures that we are putting in place, they can be addressed and/or avoided in the future.

Thank you for airing your concerns and hopefully you can visit us again in the future and experience the improvements that we have made.

Kind regards,

Mel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary over the Queen's birthday long weekend. We loved every minute of it, except the mozzies of course so make sure you apply repellent regularly!

The check-in process was fantastic. We were warmly welcomed and taken into the air-conditioned bar for a drink and then shown around the lodge and to our room. The habitats are well-appointed and offer a beautiful view of the landscape.

Our only disappointment with the habitat was that the smoke alarm seems to be very sensitive to hot steam - we set it off when having a shower more than once, even with the exhaust fan on - keep this in mind, especially on those cold mornings!

The food was fantastic both days and the chef was very accommodating to a request for a different entree.

We went on the Home Billabong Cruise on our first morning there which was beautiful. Got to see a few crocodiles and some bird life. The guide was great in explaining what we were seeing.

I definitely recommend this place, especially for a special occasion with a loved one.

Room Tip: If it's hot, and you're travelling with one person (or by yourself), stay in a habitat as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skishlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthology-Team, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you skishlee,
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your experience at Wildman Wilderness Lodge. Our smoke alarms are a bit sensitive and it would be remiss of us to have them any other way for our guest safety. In the colder months we will attempt to highlight this to our guests to ensure that they are aware. Again thanks for the great review.

Kind regards,

Mel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A drive along Arnhem Highway into what feel like the middle of Australia followed by a left turn that end with the Wildman Wilderness Lodge.

A smooth and typically top end greeting/check in along with an escort to accommodation. There are two types, Habitats or fixed Tents...Our fixed Tent was excellent. All the trappings of five star accommodation - comfortable bed, lovely shower, very spacious and a view of a breathtaking sunset.

Meals were from a set menu with room to customise. Absolutely delicious and very swift in serving. Lovely wine accompanied to cap off the experience.

WiFi and a TV with FoxTel are in the bar. Lots of cold refreshments and seating to enjoy the outside view without the effect of insects.

An infinity pool provided the best way to cool off following exploring walking tracks and nearby billabongs (with crocodiles).

In all, a totally amazing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HindleyHunter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthology-Team, General Manager at Wildman Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi HindleyHunter11
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and your Northern Territory holiday.

Kind Regards

Mel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mary River National Park
26.3 mi away
Bamurru Plains
Bamurru Plains
#2 of 2 in Mary River National Park
86 reviews
16.3 mi away
Corroboree Park Tavern
Corroboree Park Tavern
#1 of 1 in Marrakai
41 reviews
69.1 mi away
Litchfield Sunset
Litchfield Sunset
#2 of 2 in Litchfield National Park
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildman Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildman Wilderness Lodge

Property: Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Address: Point Stuart Road | Point Stuart, Mary River National Park, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Mary River National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mary River National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wildman Wilderness Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the lush wilderness of Australia’s breathtaking Top End, Wildman Wilderness Lodge is a new nature-based travel experience, situated in the Mary River Wetlands area half way between Darwin and Kakadu National Park. Recently opened in April 2011, Wildman is a small-scale, high quality safari lodge featuring a variety of boutique and environmentally sensitive touring options, including tours of Kakadu National Park and cruising on the Mary River. An unforgettable journey to an incredible destination, Wildman Wilderness Lodge is poised to become one of Australia’s must-visit locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildman Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing