We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not sure if the travel to get here was worth the effort.”
Review of Bamurru Plains

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamurru Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We wanted a taste of the outback and to be near Kakadu National Park. The lodge was okay but not a "blown" away experience. The food was better than average and the accommodations were in the same category. Some things were needed such as a minor thing as a mirror over the sink in the bathroom to oiling the doors that squeaked in our cabin.

To be fair we traveled greatly in Australia and this leg of the trip was tiring.

The wildlife was not all that outstanding but the birdlife was stunning. The morning trip on a air boat was beautiful. The number and types of birds was vast. I would think this place would be a must for birders. The afternoon hike in the forest was interesting but the mosquitoes were annoying.

We took a flight from here to the Kakadu and we had a wonderful guide and learned a great deal about the "old ways".

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank usmc63m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2009

Went April '08 and only just got round to this.

After a somewhat terrifying flight in a small plane - I swear, our pilot had the manual on his lap before take-off, opened to the page "How to start the plane" - we landed on a dirt strip (once the cattle had moved out of the way).

The brochure calls it bush luxury, and that's about right. Rooms are simple but elegant, food is great, and there's a small pool to cool down from the insane humidity. The best thing is the place itself. Remote, gorgeous, with funny, knowledgeable staff to show you around - Dan especially, who would suddenly leap out of the jeep, scramble up a tree and bring us ants to eat.

One small quibble - they charge you (a lot) extra to have the air-conditioning on. And with the humidity being what it is, air-con is highly desirable. The woman who informed us of this said it was 'to protect the environment', and made us feel bad for even asking. Which is a bit crazy, given that to get here in the first place, most people have to charter a plane.

But that's a really minor complaint. Everything else about this place - the daily safaris, the meals prepared with local ingredients (crocodile risotto anyone?) - is fantastic. Assuming you're willing to re-mortgage your house, you got to go.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I've just returned from a long relaxing weekend at the beautiful Bamurru Plains in Australia's Northern Territory. What an amazing experience, I feel totally relaxed and inspired by the wonders of what Australia has to offer. Bamurru offers itself as "wild bush luxury" which exactly right - the "tents" (they have a screen door, are elevated and have an en suite, so there is nothing actually tent-like about them) allow you to feel like you are part of the outdoor environment whilst still enjoying all the creature comforts of luxury travel. But what really sets it apart is the service and the tour experiences - the airboat tour was so much fun, skimming across the floodplain looking at crocodiles, magpie geese (and goslings), sea eagles and kites - as well as beautiful lily ponds and melaleuca forests. I imagine that this is what people expect from Cooinda and Jabiru (which are inside Kakadu National Park but aren't nearly as exciting destinations). Each evening, we drove out to view sunset and watch the wildlife (land based this time - water buffalo, wallabies and brumbies) - in open topped vehicles - just breath-taking! The camp hosts and tour guides certainly make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The food is superb, and the open bar (just help yourself) always a treat.
I can't say enough about this place, I returned home totally revived.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We absolutely loved Bamurru Plains. It is very special and so relaxing. We were a little nervous about going at the end of the wet - but we need not have been concerned. It was raining when we landed and apart from a brief shower one afternoon (and a downpour at 3am) we had no further issues with the weather. The whole set up is fantastic. The tents are luxurious (in a barefoot luxury way) and allow you to lie in bed and watch the wildlife - wallabies, wild horses, buffalo, geese, herons, egrets when we were there. The bathroom/dressing room is very well appointed. The food is plentiful and delicious (up to the standard of hatted restaurants in the major cities). The pool with day beds is a great place to relax as is the central clubhouse. The excursion were fascinating - lots of birds and animals, well informed guides - on both land and water - and we visited come really magicall places (e.g. the area of the flood plain filled with lillies and lotus flowers). We can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We arrived not really knowing what to expect from our stay at Bamurru. After a 35 minute flight in a light aircraft from Darwin we landed at the dusty airstrip where we were met by really friendly staff who drove us to the camp nearly 20 minutes away.

The central lodge was lovely. It overlooked the flood plains where buffalo and wallabies were roaming and grazing. There was a stunning horizon swimming pool and two pavillions where you could just relax and watch the spectacular sunsets. This was also a very breezy spot so if it was a bit warm you could rest here.

We had a sit down breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday. All the meals were communal which was great as you got to know other people and share experiences from your safaris. The meals were exquisite. Very thoughftully prepared. I had some dietary requirements that were taken care of without any fuss. Every meal was a pleasure including the delightful canapes that were prepared for us to enjoy on safari.

We stayed in one of the new cabins right at the far eastern end of the camp. The accommodation made you feel that you were outside with the wildlife but still living in luxury. Each cabin has a insect proof mesh that allows you to see everything outside but nothing can see in. This was an amazing experience as we felt as though we were outside in the bush and at one with nature!

The bed was really comfortable and they offer 3 types of pillows from soft to hard. Bathroom and shower was spectacular! The design really fit with the environment and once again you felt like you were outdoors in the bush but you were in a secluded very private and stunning bathroom!

The safaris were informative and interesting. We were woken daily at 5.30am which was an early rise but well worth it as you saw the most beautiful sunrise and its when most of the animals are out and about. We returned from safari at about 10.30am and then usually enjoyed a swim before lunch and then an afternoon nap followed by another safari from 4pm to 7pm. You are on the go alot but its so magical experiencing the Australian bush and wetlands that its well worth it.

The staff are professional, knowledgeable and very friendly and make the stay very enjoyable.

Overall this will be a holiday that we will remember for a very long time. We loved it so much that we're going to go back during the wet season where everything will look completely different. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heto01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank たびたび旅
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildBush, Owner at Bamurru Plains, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Markus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bamurru Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamurru Plains

Address: West of Kakadu National Park | Mary River, Mary River National Park, Northern Territory, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Mary River National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mary River National Park
Price Range: £727 - £1,247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bamurru Plains 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the savannah bush on the edge of the Mary River floodplains, Australia’s answer to the Okavango delta, Bamurru Plains’ is the setting for a wilderness experience like no other. With just nine safari suites, each blending seamlessly with the surrounding bush and with a focus on the key luxury comforts, a supremely comfortable bed, innovative Australian cuisine and premium wines (no TVs, minibars or telephones to distract from the wildlife outside), Bamurru deliberately tries not to be a typical luxury hotel room in the bush. The floodplains and savannah woodland offer one of Australia’s richest wildlife experiences: tens of thousands of Magpie Geese mingle with Whistling Kites, egrets, herons and buffalo on the floodplain, while Blue-winged Kookaburras, parrots, cockatoos and Agile Wallabies inhabit the fringing woodlands. Bamurru’s team of passionate field guides offer a variety of activities, including exhilarating airboat trips on the floodplains, cruises on the Sampan River to spot crocodiles, four-wheel drive safaris, scenic flights over the floodplains and coastline. We can also arrange tours to the rock art galleries of Arnhem Land or guided fishing trips. In the evening, sit back with a sundowner drink and canapés and enjoy the soft ‘Wild Bush Luxury’ touches that are the Bamurru trademark. There is also an open bar, a small swimming pool and nature reference library. Bamurru Plains, its facilities and 300 km² of country are exclusively for the use of its guests, so you can be assured of a quiet, privileged outback experience. Bamurru Plains is a member of the Luxury Lodges of Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bamurru Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing