We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sevenseas Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kantang
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Don't forget your toothbrush because there will be no shop there at the island and if you want to buy one from the resort, it will cost you 600 THB. The only great thing here is the location, peace, beautiful, real nature with wild animal like snake. The price of the hotel doesn't worth paying for. No fresh seafood. YEP!! There will be river fish for you there when you are expecting for some other fish from the ocean. Thai food also doesn't taste anything like one..both for the taste and the color. :/ So better fill your stomach with breakfast cos that is probably the nicest meal of the day. The sink is smelly. I kinda expect more for this price, the staff are not very organized. Me and my mom swear to NEVER go there again..EVER. There are other island that give the same sensation of the view, location..with better resort services, food. etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sangnark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    96
    49
    24
    18
See reviews for
39
168
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Me and my family enjoyed a four-night-stay in beautiful Villa Siam which I suggest to anyone!
The hotel is 40minutes by speedboat away from mainland, the transfers are VERY expensive, but there is acutally not much choice. The hotel structure is for sure the most luxurious on the island but it is not extreme luxury, just perfect. Everything was almost perfect and the staff was outstanding! Always smiling and ready to help! Massage were also amazing and relaxing. The only real problem of this hotel (and big problem as you do not have the choice of where going to eat) was the restaurant, I suppose they do not have a real kitchen but just a microwave and the food didn't respect at all the quality of the hotel and of thai food which is just delicious. At a certain point of our holiday all these things were missing: brownie, whipped cream, cheese, bananas, coconut, and any sort of icecream. I understand we are on an island but it is absolutely unacceptable, we tried to talk with the manager but he didn't really care.. and just smiled at us like he didn't understand one word of what we sayed. This was not the level of what we paid for. The food quality is not the same as on mainland, it had no flavour and as a vegetarian there was not much choice..I also found some PRAWN in my special VEG meal.. and this for me was really not acceptable. I suggest the manager to hire some good thai chef and leave the waiter in the service instead of making them cook...

Room Tip: Villa Siam
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I went first in 2011 and decided to return for a few nights in late January. Reserved one of the villas (2nd row from beach) but still had clear view to the sea. As I remembered from last visit it had huge and comfy bed and simple elegant furnishings and I love the covered outdoor bathrooms. Only thing that seemed odd was didn't have a closet (did I miss something?). Wasn't a big deal for me as knowing how relaxed the resort and island are I only packet shorts and polo shirts anyway but I imagine if you had a jacket or long dress you'd want a closet. I'm sure if I'd asked the staff would have helped sort it out as I again found them to be very amenable and helpful. I still think the resort wins for location, food, staff, relaxation and atmosphere. Don't go however if you want to party and don't go with the expectation that you are staying in a 5* hotel in London or Singapore. Instead think of it as a place for getting away from it all in a relaxed low-key luxury resort. Will go again next year.

Room Tip: I'd try and avoid the two villas that are closest to reception simply as that is where the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Beautiful here, so much ! my girlfriend she want now to buy bungalow here haha ! our villa so nice, the name Villa Santi, we book with travel agence Andaman Sky, have great holidays with them all over area. You sleep and hear the waves on the beach you wake up the sun on your bed. The sea here have the most fish we see in Thailand. And the Thai people in this one so friendly to us. This you must see, we coming back sure. Bye bye Seven Seas

Room Tip: book as part of island tripping tour with andaman sky
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffjinsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The resort is in Koh Kradan that is 45 min by boat (private transfer) and 45 minute by van from Trang.
It is quite new and very nice although a bit expensive for Thailand and the place. I had spent 4 nights, including nye.
NYE dinner was really too expensive for the place, but the other dinners had been good priced and of good quality.
The island is still wild, just few small resorts. With good weather it seems like a swimming pool with small fishes swimming around you!
Rooms are nice, better to ask for first floor but mine was good as well. You only have to close all curtains not to be seen from outside.
The open air bathroom is quite original unless for mosquitos that can enter the room (and personell put the AC on 17°)
I would suggest the excursion at Koh Mokh (island in front of it) and snorkel at the Emerald cave.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BebeMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I just returned from Sevenseas Resort, my third visit in 8 years. I love it as much as ever before and it was good to see that the reef, damaged by el Ninio's higher water temperature a few years ago is full of life once more. This last but not least through the care of the owners who planted coral which is thriving in several places along the reef. The variaty of fish one sees makes one believe one swims in an aquarium.

The food is excellent and authentic Thai cuisine. Freshly caught fish and crabs every day.

I took the trouble of reading the many reports on Trip Advisor and find those that are negative not fair. Who does not like Sevenseas has gone to a place he should not have chosen. Sevenseas is a resort on an island to which everything has to be brought by boat from the mainland, be it drinking water, fuel for the gensets, washed bedsheets and towels, all food but fish. Who expects shops, a promenade or kinky massage places and cheap food and drink should not go there, he will be disappointed. Those, however, who really wanto to get away and can afford it will not be disappointed and understand what it means to operate at high standard on a remote island.

Sevenseas will see me again and I am always sad to leave from there.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter Devon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We are touring around Thailand in Feb and March, our 8th family holiday to this wonderful country. In november 2013 I booked a room at the Sevenseas through booking.com for our planned stay in march 2014. Booking.com policy was free cancellation, with the hotel reserving the right to charge a deposit 14 days prior to arrival - which was when the free cancellation was valid until, so no problem with that.
However, when I received my credit card statement in November I was shocked to find a charge of over £400 had been taken without my consent, which had incurred further costs of £25 for foreign exchange fees and currency conversions.
I immediately called booking.com, was assured this was not correct, I should not have been charged and that an immediate refund would be made.
Despite the numerous phone calls I have made to booking.com over the last 6 weeks, with never a single one of their promised return calls materialising, I am still waiting on the refund.
The Sevenseas are simply dodging the issue and using delaying tactics such as asking for my personal bank account details in order to refund the money. Clearly with the way they have used my credit card details the last thing I would want them to have are my bank details!
Thankfully Virgin credit cards have been fantastic, holding the full amount with no interest, or I would have really struggled. As a result the refund must go to the same card that was charged, and this would be common and good practice in any case.
Do not trust them. No half decent hotel would behave like this, and as an agent booking.com have shown a total lack of care for their customer.
It may be the most wonderful resort on the island, but we would not be able to stay there in these circumstances. We will still be spending 3 weeks tripping around Kradan, Muk, Ngai and Bulon, but this resort is definitely off the list.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciarasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kantang
5.2 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
7.5 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Ko Ngai
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 2 in Ko Kradan
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
11.7 mi away
Anantara Si Kao Resort
8.1 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sevenseas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sevenseas Resort

Property: The Sevenseas Resort
Address: 221 Moo 2 Koh Kradan Island | Koh Libong subdistrict, 92110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trang Province > Kantang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kantang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sevenseas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sevenseas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sevenseas Hotel Kantang
The Sevenseas Resort Thailand/Trang Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing