We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a gem-lush and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Tree's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Ai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Tree's House
Ranked #1 of 5 Mae Ai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodinville, Wa.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite a gem-lush and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

What a wonderful place! Paulo and Nid have made a beautiful spot and are the most welcoming and friendly hosts. When we mentioned that we wanted to do some hiking, Paulo hooked us up with a local guide named Renato. He was a wealth of information and a really fun guide. Ask for him- he was fantastic!! The food was great there and Thaton is a wonderful little town. Definitely worth making a detour to stay at Old Tree's House.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    12
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
77
121
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

All I can say is WOW!!!! During my 2 week trip to Thailand, Thaton and Old Tree's House were by far my favorite experiences.

Thaton is a small village about 3 hours north of Chiang Mai on the border of Burma (Myanmar). It looks to be a one road town with a handful of roadside cafes and B&Bs. We found Old Trees House on Tripadisor and after reading the reviews, we had to check it out. The reviews are spot on.

We stayed in a poolside bungalow. By far it was the most sophisticated asthetic I found in Thailand. Very clean and simple with a FANTASTIC bathroom. It was such a nice break from dribbling showers and holes to poop in. All of the bungalows have a mini fridge stocked with water, pepsi and beer (FOR FREE) and a tv with a dvd player. We didn't use the tv. The scenery was way too pretty to be bothered. If I were there a week though, I'm sure I would've taken advantage of Paulo's and Nid's dvd collection.
Our bungalow had a porch with comfy chairs and a separate covered spot to lay with a headrest. Oh, did I mention that there is an amazing pool (though too cold to swim while we were there).

The owner, Paulo, was incredibly friendly, as were the fellow guests. 7 other French visitors were the only other guests. Paulo took us all to dinner at a local Korean bbq where many of the locals frequent. We had a fun night with laughs and an interesting dining experience. Evidently, Paulo's wife, Nid, usually cooks but she was out of town for the night. There is a staff on hand to fill in during her time off. They prepared us a bite to eat when we arrived and a full breakfast the next morning.

The other guests went on day trips and tours with Paulo. He is supposed to be a well versed guide in the area.

Due to our limited stay we were unable to participate in any tours, but the staff took us to the top of a hill with the most breathtaking wat that I saw while on vacation. This place really blew my mind. But even better (hard to believe) is the view of the village and bordering Burma. I could've stayed there for hours.

Paulo and his staff were beyond accomodating. And I didn't feel like I was being pumped for money. Paulo and his wife are generous people that have created a wonderful place to stay -- a truly peaceful spot to enjoy.

Unfortanely, I was only able to stay one night here. I would actually come back to Thailand, in most part, just to come back to this spot. Pure heaven... Do yourself a favor and stay at Old Tree's House.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemadridalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, Northland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

We chose to stay at Old Trees House, having travelled to Thailand many times before, as we wanted to see this area for the 1st time, and show our kids a relatively unspoilt part of the country.
We flew to Chiang Rai and next morning were picked up by Paulo's driver who drove us the 1.5 hours to Thaton.
Thaton is a small border town, but has several little places to eat (some with English menus), shops, ATM and small market. It also has a fascinating and unusual temple, and the surrounding countryside and hill tribe areas on the Myanmar border were fascinating.
The accommodation at Old Trees House is in a beautiful garden setting, with a lovely swimming pool, and simple but extremely well equipped bungalows. (very spacious, nice bathroom, TV, DVD, Stereo, WIFI, etc). Breakfast each morning was great and there was also a nice lounge area with DVDs, info etc.
You can take an interesting 5-10 minute walk down through the local village, school & temple into the main part of Thaton.
Paulo looked after us fantastically well throughout our stay, taking us on a tour through the hill tribe villages and to the school he has set up in a nearby village, and an amazing lunch on bamboo rafts - his time and friendliness were all the more amazing as his wife is currently in hospital in Chiang Mai - our thoughts are with you Paulo.
We loved Old Trees House, and the Thaton area, Paulo looked after us so well, and we would love to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDYCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

This Guest House is strongly recommended to travellers who like to have kindly and genuine contacts with people.
First of all, everyone is nice and helpful in the house, Nid and Paulo, the owners, but also all the staff. You can speak French with Paulo, English with Paulo, Nid and a part of the staff, ThaÏ (!) with the rest of them anyway everyone will be helpful.

Rooms are very nice, all equiped with TV, DVD Player and Satellite, the swimming pool is small but very pleasant.
Nid and Paulo will do the best to explain you Thailand, the life in the North, their on-going project of school. Don't miss one (or more) trip with Paulo, he will take time to explain some details that nobody else would tell you.
If you have children, don't miss a one day trip with Renato, a Karen friend of Paulo, unforgetable for them ...
In short, Old Tree's house is the best base camp to visit the North of Thaïland. Think to book in advance, Nid and Paulo are not interested to build more bungalows to keep a friendly atmosphere, so the Guest House is often full.
Don't repeat it, but Paulo will be very pleased to share the bottle of wine you will bring from your country !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_and_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

I was eagerly looking forward to my stay at Old Trees House based on the reviews that I had read on Tripadvisor but left with very mixed views!

On the positive side, Old Trees House is situated in a very picturesque location approx 20 minutes walk into Thaton itself (the distance is not that far but the steep hill and heat do sap the energy out of you). The 5 individual bungalows are set in a picturesque garden and our bungalow in particular had a fantastic view out over the Mae Kok Valley. The bungalows are spacious and comfortable and the free mini bar (equates to one can of beer, one pepsi and one bottle of water per guest per day) and laundry are a nice touch. Breakfast was rather limited (but entirely satisfactory) and consisted of bacon and eggs, pancakes, toast and/or fruit. Old Trees House was also a good base from which to explore the Golden Triangle and we particularly enjoyed our day out on the river to see the elephant camp outside Chiang Rai.

The swimming pool was also refreshing but quite small, ideal for the children but not big enough or deep enough to swim in.

On the negative side, I never felt particulalry welcome at the Old Tree's House. I'm not sure whether this was a cultural thing or not but I expected the owner to introduce himself to us, welcome us to the resort, enquire as to what we wanted to see and do etc but he paid us very little interest. This might be fine and even desirable in other locations/hotels but I chose Old Trees House in part because I thought the owner would be a friendly, genial sort of chap who would enjoy introducing us to the delights of Northern Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mounthutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Paulo and Nid were great hosts! Their garden is amazing! We were part way through a motorcycle trip through northern Thailand and this was a GREAT place to take a few days off and relax. We were only planning on staying one night but when we arrived we immediately changed our minds. The bungalow was wonderful- the bathroom was really well done and the hot water was FANTASTIC. Top all of that off with Nid's AMAZING dinners and... we were sad to leave. The price is definitely higher than other options in the area but it was more than worth it. Add to that the nearby school that Paulo and Nid are helping to fund and you leave feeling down right happy to have parted with your cash. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nolaeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KORAT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

simply outstanding. Laid back and wonderful. Perhaps a tad more than nthe other places we visited but at 1200b worth every baht. The rooms ,the views and above all the hospitality. Ask and you shall find. Paulo and Nid thanks a bunch. The best stay of out time with our friends up North. See you again for sure.

Gordy and Da.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KoratGordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Ai
9.7 mi away
Maekok River Village Resort
1.2 mi away
Thaton Hill Resort
Thaton Hill Resort
#2 of 2 in Mae Ai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saranya River House
Saranya River House
#1 of 2 in Thaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Areeya Phuree Resort
Areeya Phuree Resort
#4 of 5 in Mae Ai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
23.9 mi away
Angkhang Nature Resort
Angkhang Nature Resort
#1 of 3 in Fang City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nok Resort & Hotel
Nok Resort & Hotel
#5 of 17 in San Sai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Tree's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Tree's House

Property: Old Tree's House
Address: 323 Moo 14, Ban Rumthai | Thaton, Mae Ai 50280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Ai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Ai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just out of Thaton, on a hill with a great view over the Mae Kok river, the mountains and the rice fields.Includes breakfast, internet acces + WIFI, Laundry, swimming pool ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Tree`s House Hotel Mae Ai
Old Tree's House Thailand/Chiang Mai Province - Mae Ai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing